We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bairro Alto Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
memmo Alfama Hotel(Lisbon)
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$65
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$350
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveller rating
1,011
321
60
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
321
60
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barbairro altocamoes squareleading hotels of the worldboutique hotelbusy squareoverlooking the squareperfect locationhotel guestssuperior roomoutstanding hotelrooms are smallbars and restaurantstagus rivertop floora wonderful staybreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
647 - 652 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a good hotel primarily for its very good location at the intersection of the barrio alto and chiado areas and its panoramic rooftop bar. But I don't believe it is a five star hotel...more like 4 stars. It is getting a little dated and could use some freshening up I think. We were there five nights and were unable to get into the rooftop bar 3 of those nights. They let non hotel guests into the rooftop bar , which is not fair---in my opinion---for guests. The "prestige" rooms are good size for European standards and comfortable but we were on the first floor so it was a little dark. Upper level rooms are brighter. Also, they seem to have addressed the poor WiFi concern mentioned in older reviews. But again, can't beat the location and I'm not sure there are a lot of better upper end options in that area.

Room Tip: Prestige rooms facing Flores Street are quiet and good size.....only the fourth floor seems to have functional balconies and those are still for standing.....higher level rooms are brighter
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaTraveler1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank for your review.
We are sad to acknowledge we did not fulfill your expectations. Please accept our most sincere apologies.
For a five night stay I wish you could have called for the hotel management. I'm sure we could have done (or at least try) far more better.

Regarding our two bars (including the rooftop bar) and the restaurant, like the majority of the hotels, its outlets are open to non-residentes. it is "mandatory" to have the business finantialy healthy - and we do not inform the opposite, though we understand your point of view.
Wifi, nowadays is indeed working perfectly.

Thank you bfor your contribution and we wish you all the best during your travels.

Kind regards,
Jorge Cosme - General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed in one of the larger rooms so was happy with the size. Terrace bar has an amazing view of the river and is well worth a visit. The G&Ts were especially nice. Breakfast was well done and we also had dinner at the restaurant one night. (Loved the Bitoque steak so much that I got the recipe off the chef)
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Lisbon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Absolut_foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I just spent a couple of days at this hotel with my wife (for a 20 year anniversary week-end) and we were a bit disappointed - we were expecting more given the price and most other reviews here.
We were given an attic room (501). It was comfortable but really quite small (you are bound to hit your head given the small space where you can stand up fully), and it had only a very very small window (with a "view" on the wall of the nearby building). The bathroom had slightly larger windows opening onto the "sea", but it does not really compensate... Room felt a bit tired, door was consistently left opened (you need to lock with the key) by the staff which is a bit annoying. You are also just under the roof terrace and they managed to drag seats (probably for cleaning?) at 8am on the Sunday morning. Breakfast was included and good, although the restaurant room is indeed a bit cramped. We were asked if we wanted a newspaper which we did not get. All in all, it's a great location and staff is friendly, but it felt not very professional and nothing special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyrille T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for having contributed to tripadvisor. we do value all reviews and we are sorry for having failled towards your fair expecations.

Nevertheless, we would also like to inform other travellers that the room given was indeed the room you have booked. we can analise again if the bedroom description is accurate, but given what we have loaded in our website we feel it depicts what it is and we do not mention "view" and the photos are the corresponding ones. bedroom description below (with its measures):

»»»»»»»»»»
Mansard room
These 7 rooms are located on the hotel 5th floor, in the unique attic space, each boasting its own individual interior design.
All rooms are papered with Ralph Lauren wallpaper and feature Virginia Mota watercolors and Nuno Cera photographs.
These mansard rooms, with their slanted ceilings and wooden beams, are very cozy and perfect for a romantic getaway.

Mansard room details:
Room size: 20 sqm / 215 sqf
Queen - 180x200cm (78.7 x70,9 inches)
»»»»»»»»»»»»

Regarding our technical failures: we admit it and we are very sorry for this...and there is no excuse, besides we will be closer to the issues you reported (noise from the terrace furniture, newspapper not being handled, etc.). Thank you for informing us.

We hope we can have the chance to welcome you on your next visit to Lisbon. Please inform and I'll drive all the team to deliver a great level of service.

Kind regards.
Jorge Cosme - General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great, possibly the best, location in central Lisbon, at the bottom of the Bairro Alto district, as name indicates... Very cosy rooms, superb bathroom and plush beds, with an antique feel, but not overcharged at all. Very good gin tonics on the panoramic rooftop terrace. The entire personnel provides a top-notch service, with special mentions to Carla at the Reservations department, who greeted me with a personal welcome, and Paulo, who provided great concierge tips.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotel_Les_Mouettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel is in the Luis de Camoes square. Leave the hotel and walk the city. Good designer stores around Bairro Alto. Hotel staff are kind and very helpful. Breakfast buffet is rich. Rooms are decorated very well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews