We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish boutique hotel”
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bairro Alto Hotel
Ranked #18 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Zuerich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylish boutique hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful boutique-style hotel at the heart of the city with a very nice old charme. Great breakfast buffet. The hotel staff is young and dynamic and makes every effort to be of assistance. Very suitable accommodation for first time visitors to Lissabon.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tobiasg450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback.
We hope to have your preference on your next visit to Lisbon, as the hotel will also be suitable for someone returning to explore this marvellous city for the second time.

Kind regards,
Jorge Cosme - General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    275
    51
    13
    9
See reviews for
159
678
81
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We splurged on this 5 star hotel and Lisbon to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary, and I'm so glad we did. It's in a great location in lovely neighborhood in Lisbon. Close to everything. Staff all spoke English. Beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms. Great service, very attentive, but low key, not stuffy at all. Wonderful breakfast buffet with yummy food. Great view from the top terrace. I would love to go back here!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_and_E_Martinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

I'll share your comments with all the staff, so we all know we continue on the right path to deliver a great level of servisse.

"Muito Obrigado".
Kind regards,

Jorge Cosme - General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here in late June on the front leg of our 10th anniversary trip based on the recommendation of a Portuguese friend, and we couldn't have been happier. We splurged on one of the four suites and it ended up being nicer then the pictures online, so upgrade if you can. Everything about this place is top notch, from the quality of the staff to the view from the rooftop bar stretching down over the red brick rooftops to the river and across to Cristo Rei. The location is in the heartbeat of the most fun area of the city, with some of the best restaurants and nightlife within blocks of the hotel. The staff helped us with everything from dinner reservations, to renting a car one-way to the Algarve (which is apparently not easy!), and we were sad to leave. It would be hard to imagine staying somewhere else when we return to Lisbon, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoboDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
Also, please send our very best regards to your portuguese friend who recommended the destination.

We love the photo on your tripadvisor profile!
Hope to welcome once again. perhaps on your 15th year wedding anniversary?

Kind regards,

Jorge Cosme - General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This quaint hotel has the best location anyone could ask for. It is within walking distance of a million small shops and store chains, eateries, bars and so many things to do all within 15 minutes walk of the hotel. Very nice and spacious rooms and bathrooms. Well kept and maintained for an older building in this landmark type area of the city. Although the hotel has a fine restaurant, the best place to eat is just about any of the small cafe's that have outdoor seating surrounding the entire area. Very romantic and quite a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Lisboa!
Thank you for your lovely comments.

Indeed, we are sure our location can't be beat! we do are on the heart the city.
We also do your very best to deliver a great level of service and to keep the hotel on the best possible shape.

Kind regards,

Jorge Cosme - General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Bairro Alto is an excellent boutique-sized hotel in Lisbon that I would highly recommend and to which I would look forward to returning for a second visit.

For me, the highlights were the extremely friendly, professional but also low-key/casual staff and the rooftop patio bar, which overlooks the water and is an amazing, low key place for late-afternoon drinks and light snacks. The view is fantastic, the outdoor space gets heated or cooled (with misters) as conditions require, and it’s a small, intimate space. (This also means it can sometimes take a few minutes to wait for a table).

The rooms are clean, have high ceilings, big windows and are very well appointed. For accommodations other than suites, it’s probably important to know that the bathrooms are extremely small and have tub-showers. This is probably a reflection of the natural constraints of the building which was refurbished. The suites have large bathrooms with both tubs and walk-in shower. Also, be aware that your card key needs to be left in a slot for the room electricity to come on. Therefore, if you go out, unless you get an extra card key (which is easily done), you cannot charge your laptop, mobile phone, etc. Because the hotel is in the middle of the Bairro Alto neighborhood, there is lots of late nighttime activity — the rooms are very sound insulated, and this was never a problem.

There is a small fitness center on the 5th floor: 1 stationary bike, 1 recumbent bike, 1 elliptical machine, a combination weight machine and a small selection of free weights. Adequate for a short stay, but you need to stay on the easygoing / light side of working out.

All in all, a great stay and a place to come back to.

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you want a big bathroom and/or a walk-in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TransConFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution with a detailed review. We totally agree with it.
We would love to welcome you again in a near future.

Just one thing that might be revised: there are some plugs in each bedroom which you can have your electronic devices charging even without the card key placed.

"Os melhores cumprimentos. Obrigado" / Kind regards. Thank you.

Jorge Cosme - General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here with my partner in 2012 for a short 4 day break. We had what we thought was a small suite which turned out to be a wonderful 4 room suite with bedroom, lounge, changing room and bathroom. It was perfect, stylish and everything was fresh and new.

Service was immaculate from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The hotel is well situated in the Bairro Alta area of Lisbon so it was easy to find lively restaurants and bars. It is also on the tram line that takes you to the old part of town where you can touch the walls from the old fashioned tram cars.

If you are looking for a hotel that is peaceful in a lively setting this is the one.

Room Tip: A corner room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWilsonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wow. Having frequented the Tripadvisor website and read many reviews that helped me steer our vacation decisions in the past, I very rarely (if ever) post about a place. The Bairro Alto Hotel is an exception. This was an exceptional experience, every step of the way. First of all... Lisbon is a fantastic destination. Very beautiful in every way a European city should be - without the sense of being overrun by tourists, this city has charm and a great "vibe" of its own. There are great day trips, great restaurants, great walking, etc. The hotel is located in a picturesque square that has a young, cool vibe in the evening and is just beautiful to see out your window. Our room was on the 4th floor and had the perfect amount of space for us. Air Conditioning worked great. The Queen bed had fine linens that really smelled good. Everything was intuitive. There was a wardrobe which housed the safe, closet/drawers, minibar, and hair dryer. The hotel provided an adaptor for American appliances, which we used to charge our iPads. There was a nice vanity, a small table with two reading chairs, a nice long banquette for suitcases, and a Juliet balcony to prop open for fresh air or to see/hear the square below us. There were double French doors (again, intuitive) that blocked out ALL noise. Open the window in the evening and listen to the urban, hip goings on below - but the second you want to sleep, it's silent. The weather in Lisbon was to die for, so it was nice to open the windows. The shower - perfection! Handheld sprayer for washing your hair in the wonderful bathtub, plus a rainfall shower-head with great water pressure. We didn't spray one drop of water on the floor - a first for a European hotel. In fact, this hotel seemed far superior to most European hotels we've ever stayed in. That said, it is a small, boutique hotel where you feel known by the staff.
The staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and fluent in English - all without getting in your way or being solicitous. They just all seemed genuinely helpful and happy to be there. When we called for a bucket of ice or an iron/ironing board, they came right up. Turndown service was nice to have, but easy to turn away if we were getting dressed for a night out. The breakfast (included with room rate) offered great choices - breads, smoked salmon, fruits, cereals, yogurts, eggs, sausage, and a menu of items. The rooftop terrace/lounge was exquisite. Great views over Lisbon's tile rooftops and out to the water. Breathtaking. We loved that almost everyone there was from Europe - we may have been the only Americans, which was refreshing. There are only 55 rooms in this hotel, all accessed by a rather small elevator. If you're in vacation mode, this is no problem. If you're in a rush, you may have to do the stairs - oh well. This is no big deal. We didn't really hang out in the first floor bar. We wanted to watch World Cup games, and gravitated toward town squares with a large video screen, or wandered down side streets to cute bars, or had a cocktail in the square outside. The square outside - lovely! There were street performers and shops and cafes, and tram stops right outside. Every attraction was easily reached from the Bairro Alto Hotel, and both train stations for day trips plus the large open air market down by the waterfront. The front desk staff did a great job with restaurant recommendations and reservations.
All in all, I can't recommend this hotel strongly enough. We loved everything about it - the intimacy, the efficiency, the charm, the location, the public and private spaces, the access to activities, the tranquility. We would definitely return there. We were there for 4 nights, but would have happily stayed 4 more.

Room Tip: We upgraded for a "Superior" room, which didn't add much to our 4 night stay. We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodyIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest.
Greeting from Lisboa.

We are really happy and thrilled with this contribution.

In our opinion you did a great job capturing the soul of the city and what we feel a boutique hotel should be. Thank you so much for a extremely detailed reviw for the Tripadvisor community.

we have shared your critic with all our staff. it is placed in "our wall of fame".

Kind regards to Indianapolis,

Jorge Cosme - General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Property: Bairro Alto Hotel
Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#54 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing