We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant value - would come back again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residencial Joao XXI
Ranked #119 of 434 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant value - would come back again!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Great value and handy location, no problems with room, helpful and friendly staff (on desk 24/7), free & fast wifi. Would stay here again ! I was worried only to be pleasantly surprised. Should have higher ratings on this site.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    116
    91
    26
    20
See reviews for
45
109
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I guess the price was fine for the location, although I hadn't done enough research before we left for Lisbon. The neighbourhood is OK; practically all small businesses in the street shut down in the evening. We often walked from the Picoas Metro station at around 10 pm and it seemed safe and empty except for the car traffic. There's a police station in Rua Gomes Freire not far from the place. You can walk to Marquês de Pombal from the hotel, and from there to Rossio Square and Praça do Comércio - if you visit for sightseeing, it's fair enough. The Pastelaria next door offers meals, coffee etc. at a fair price and friendly staff. There's a small grocery store at the corner of Rua Gomes Freire and Rua Conde Redondo (Google Maps shows some other business there). For better value shopping, walk down Conde Redondo, turn right into Rue Santa Marta, walk past Hospital de Santa Marta then turn right into Rua Barata Salgueiro and you'll find a Minipreço supermarket there. Wi-Fi worked fine on the 3rd floor.
BEWARE OF ADDITIONAL CHARGES! They will charge you 1€ for printing a regular A4 page on their slow printer, 2€ for using the PC in reception and 0,80€ for making a call to get a cab. The night guy in reception did his best to convince me against using a regular cab to get to the airport and told me the guy they partner with offers a better deal. When I insisted on getting a regular cab, he told me, sounding quite miffed, I could walk to the nearest taxi stand and arrange it myself. On previous visits, a taxi to and from the airport cost me not more than 10€ regardless of how many of us travelled plus 1.60€ or so for luggage - the Lisbo Transfer guy they sell charges 5€ per person. On my last day, I needed to print something off and use the PC downstairs, and then get a cab to the airport. The stay would've been OK but for the series little rip-offs on the last day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed for five nights at the Residencial Joao XXI in June 2013, paying 30 Euros per night, which I thought represented pretty good value for money. Breakfast is no longer on offer, though there is a decent cafe right next door, as well as a mini-market just round the corner. There are also a few restaurants in the same street, offering standard Portuguese fare.

There were lots of positives about my stay. The room was a good size, with a double bed, small writing desk, a bedside table, a chest of drawers and a wardrobe. There was also satellite TV, with a wide range of English language channels. The air-conditioner was efficient and there was also an excellent and fast Internet wi-fi connection in the room. I found the bed comfortable and slept well. The en suite bathroom was also a reasonable size, though I thought it was a bit dingy. Better lighting would have helped. There was always plenty of hot water and the shower worked properly, with good water pressure.

On checking in, I was told that the rooms are cleaned only every three days, which surprised me somewhat, as I have stayed in similarly-priced hotels where cleaning of the rooms and changing of towels (if required) takes place on a daily basis. Fortunately, I am not a messy person, but I would have preferred the room to be cleaned at least every second day.

There were two things I didn't like about the room. Firstly, the only window looked onto a small inner courtyard, which meant that there was little natural light. It also made the room quite airless. Secondly, it was the room closest to the reception desk and the sound-proofing was not good: I could hear every word spoken. With hindsight, I really should have asked if it was possible to transfer to another room, a quieter and airier one.

I must compliment the staff on their friendly, cheerful and helpful attitudes. All those I encountered were competent English speakers. There is always someone on the reception desk, even thoughout the night - as I discovered early on in my stay!

The location of the hotel is good and safe. The nearest Metro station, Picoas, is a ten minute stroll from the hotel. Better, however, is the 760 'bus, which stops right outside. It takes only ten minutes to reach Baixa, the downtown area. The 'bus continues to Cais do Sodre, from where you can catch a train along the coast to Belem, Estoril and Cascais. It also goes to the Museu de Arte Antiga, one of Lisbon's best museums, and to Ajuda Palace, the main residence of the Portuguese royal family during the 19th century.

Would I stay at the Residencial Joao XXI again? Yes, but not in the same room. I would recommend that people considering staying there ask for a room with a window overlooking the street and not anywhere near the reception desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window overlooking the street, not an inner well - and not close to the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Good room with toilet, airconditioning and shower for that price. Nice place. A noicy street with busses. They are upgrading the stairs. Nice people with good service, but no breakfast (available in the restaurant in the next building).


  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dirk-jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The receptionist was very nice and helpfull, althoug it wa a shame we couldn't pay with visa, since we had saved the last coins for the taxi ride home.

Anyway, nice service, but the hostel was a bit on the creapy side. Light blinking occasionaly. And don't be claustrophobic! Weird spots on our bed covers, ahem. The heater wasn't working so it was really cold, and our tv wasn't working either.
And the most annoying thing was that we could here everything going on in the other rooms. It was really noisy.

It took us around 20 minutes to walk to the center.

I give it full 5 stars for the service, but 1-2 stars for the hostel.



  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Moni87dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

If all you need is decent accomodation for a weekend to discover the beautiful town of Lisbon then this is a fair place to start.Basic but clean rooms,very helpful and friendly staff,all in all,you get what you pay for.
Tip-coffee and croissants right next door to the hotel at the coffeeshop.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marrymeflyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

For 25€ with breakfast and private bathroom it's perfect ...
This is obviously not a 5 * hotel and the breakfast is simple but there is nothing negative to find for this price: the breakfast is ok, the room with television is perfectly clean and the staff is friendly. For this price the quality is much better that han some hostel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11release
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
Residencia Mar dos Acores
Residencia Mar dos Acores
#225 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residencial O Paradouro
Residencial O Paradouro
#150 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residencial Roxi
Residencial Roxi
#176 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Portugal Ways Culture Guest House
0.4 mi away
Tagus Royal Residence
Tagus Royal Residence
#73 of 234 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estrela dos Anjos Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Joao XXI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Joao XXI

Property: Residencial Joao XXI
Address: Rua Gomes Freire 179 1, Lisbon 1150-177, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 434 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Joao XXI 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residencial Joao XXI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Joao Xxi Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing