We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residencial Joao XXI
Ranked #112 of 416 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay for the price”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hotel is a bit far out from the centre, but 5 minutes walk to a metro or bus stations all around (we found it easy to get to downtown using the bus rather than having to make multiple changes on the metro). Not a lot of restaurants around, but pastry shop right next door. Bed was very uncomfortable - roll together, springs digging in, and needs a new mattress. Room was a good size, there was a desk and chair. I would only stay here again if I could get a really cheap rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    115
    89
    26
    20
See reviews for
44
109
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. It was a well managed one though a bit old. Hot showers were available at any time and it even has a bath tube, Location was OK. 5 minute walk from the metro. Surroundings were quiet at night. The room was big but the bed was small with dilapidated sheets. Heating was available with the air-con. Very good for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Hoon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I like the hostel because has a great location (15 min walking to the center), also it is surrounding by a supermarket, chinese shops and restaurants. I like my single ensuite room, it was simple but comfortable and cheap. It has a tv. Check in is at 2 pm, but they can store your bags in a secure place, also when you leave after the check out time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was there just for one night. Everything's was fine. It's very cheap, really near to the centre of the city. At evenings it's so not so good to walk around alone, cause it feels not so safe, but during the day it's just perfect as a place to start your visit of Lisbon. I had a really big room just for me, including the bathroom. All was really clean, and the staff is really kind. Just next to the hotel there's a nice and cheap cafè, for the breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli86_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a perfect place to sleep. You can get pretty fast in the center of the city. If you like to walk it's about 30 min. close to Restauradores metro station. It's not a very touristic area so you can find cheap food and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ancabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Great value and handy location, no problems with room, helpful and friendly staff (on desk 24/7), free & fast wifi. Would stay here again ! I was worried only to be pleasantly surprised. Should have higher ratings on this site.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
Residencia Mar dos Acores
Residencia Mar dos Acores
#219 of 247 in Lisbon
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residencial O Paradouro
Residencial O Paradouro
#145 of 247 in Lisbon
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residencial Roxi
Residencial Roxi
#177 of 247 in Lisbon
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Portugal Ways Culture Guest House
0.4 mi away
Tagus Royal Residence
Tagus Royal Residence
#68 of 231 in Lisbon
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estrela dos Anjos Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Joao XXI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Joao XXI

Property: Residencial Joao XXI
Address: Rua Gomes Freire 179 1, Lisbon 1150-177, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 416 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Joao XXI 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residencial Joao XXI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Joao Xxi Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing