We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern hotel for a good price but there are issues ...”
Review of Zenit Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zenit Lisboa
Ranked #112 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Fairfield, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Nice, modern hotel for a good price but there are issues ...”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed here for one evening during a business trip to Lisbon. From the outside, it looks more of a historic hotel than a modern one, but that changes when you enter the main lobby.

NOTE -- there are stairs leading down to the main lobby (about 6) and there is a small lift to the left of the entry way. However, there are no bellmen to assist you with your luggage (at least the evening I arrived and the morning I departed). Having just come off of foot surgery, the stairs were a little challenging. The front desk clerk assisted me when I was checking in, but when I departed the next morning, no such luck since the clerks were busy with other guests.

I guess for 4-star hotel, I was expecting bellmen.

Check in was smooth and quick. My room was on the 7th floor near the elevator. Like many European hotels, the lights are motion-activated to conserve energy, although it can be a little disconcerting to step off the elevator into near darkness.

The room itself was a standard-sized room for a European hotel. The bed was comfortable and, what I really liked was that each nightstand had an outlet. For a business traveler with lots of peripherals to plug in and recharge, this was especially nice. The desk area was small but functional, and there was an outlet close to it.

The bedding was comfortable although I could have used a few more pillows. The bathroom was clean and well lit. The amenities nice as well -- including a toothbrush kit. There was also an additional outlet in the bathroom besides the one for an electric shaver. I didn't notice any mold or cracks in the vanity or tub.

There were no washcloths or bidet towels, and the holder for the toilet paper was loose. I didn't call down for washcloths or bidet towels because I was only there for one night, but it was a disappointing oversight from housekeeping.

My biggest issue came in the morning, while I was trying to get ready. Apparently, if you are inactive for a while and your key is still in the "power" switch, the electricity shuts off in the room. I woke up once to find the AC off, which made the room stuffy. Yet in the morning, when I went to turn things on, the circuit breaker flipped. At least the room had the breakers in an easily accessible part. It took about 10 minutes before I got things working again. When I mentioned it while checking out, I was dismissed as an American who didn't know how the European hotels worked.

As noted by other reviewers, the wireless internet access is spotty. I wasn't given the codes when I checked in, so I had to go downstairs for them (my hearing is poor so calling for them over the phones would have been too frustrating). I was able to get on to some sites, but not on others. It frequently timed out. As a business traveler, this was frustrating since I was trying to do emails, etc. I was surprised that the codes were not offered when I checked in.

There is a "business center" in the lobby, which are two computers.

I had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant, mostly because I was too tired from my flights to venture elsewhere. The three-course dinner was very reasonably priced at 20 euros excluding wine. The meal was very good and the service was good as well. Then again, I was the only person in the restaurant. However, I was there at 8 PM, which is an early dining time in the city.

Breakfast was kind of disappointing in the selections that were offered. There was a decent selection of fresh fruit, but the potato gratin was served cold and the scrambled eggs looked very wet. The staff was constantly refreshing the breads and pastries since those were the most popular. The orange juice I had was, while fresh, watery as if they had diluted the freshly squeezed juice. The breakfast was included in my room rate but listed as 17 euros. I would take your 17 euros elsewhere.

Overall, it was a nice stay for just a single night. A few minor things, but overall pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belasaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    424
    90
    15
    18
See reviews for
114
363
53
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Neat and tidy. Rooms very comfortable. Bathrooms very clean. Close to Rossio Square. You can either take a cab or a bus.

From the airport you can take the Aerobus which drops you veat the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at this clean and modern hotel one night during our vacation in Portugal. The rooms are not very large but large enough to be very comfortable. The furnishings are contemporary and pleasing to the eye. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and offer great amenities. The air-conditioning worked great and the rooms were quiet. Parking was easy to find on the streets surrounding the hotel although the hotel also offers garage parking. The location of this hotel is quite convenient and the area appears to be safe. Service was very good and the staff was helpful and friendly. This hotel is definitely one that we recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mianne109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I chose the Zenit Lisboa because of the location and the free wifi they provide and it turned out to be an excellent choice. The hotel is located just outside of the city center, in a quiet avenida, and the city center and main sites are on walking distance. The Saldanha and Sao Sebastiao stations - both convenient metro line crossings - are around the corner.
The first night they had a problem with my room, so they moved me to the Vila Rica hotel 2 kms further out of the city on the same avenida. This hotel did not match my expectations. But on my request, the Zenit's kind staff compensated this inconvenience adequately with a free diner and a 50% discount on my first night's rate.
The room was quite small, but comfortable and of good value. I did not use breakfast in the hotel (12 euros is too expensive for generally cheap Lisbon) but for diner, I really would like to recommend the hotel's restaurant. It's located in the basement and therefore not very atmospheric, but the food was of good quality and prepared very carefully.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stijnv71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

What one has to say about a hotel that will not honour a reservation? On July 16th I made a reservation for a double room in the Zenit for August 13th (number 1689018). I paid € 17.52 IN ADVANCE "as a deposit" through their website which redirected me to CentralR.com. Nonetheless, when I arrived there, the hotel clerk (named Carlos) said that "unfortunately" a family couldn't leave because of a medical emergency and that I would have to move to another hotel. He offered to pay a taxi to the VIP Grand / Villa Rica where he had "everything arranged" and asked me to spend the night there and GO BACK to the Zenit the next day. I explained that this was EXTREMELY INCONVENIENT, but he insisted, stressing that it was not the Zenit's fault (well, maybe it was mine for choosing them). All the while he tried to convince me that the hotel had no
responsibility at all for the payment made to CentralR.com, although I was redirected there THROUGH Zenit's website. After a while I gave up and went
to the VIP Grand, where first they didn't have any information about Zenit's reservation and then asked me to PAY for the room there! I had to call Carlos and threaten to go back to the Zenit before he agreed to arrange things properly this time.

When we finally checked in the new hotel it was 8:30 pm. My wife was leaving a day before me early next day so we had to RUSH to at least have a dinner together in Lisbon. Well, the Vip Grand at least had the dignity to accept me for two days,
but Carlos nor anyone from the Zenit NEVER called me again to apologize or give instructions. However, they did remember to charge the full fare for the two days on my credit card, simply ignoring the time lost and the stress I went through because of THEIR fault.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bebadosamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is a business hotel in the business district, about a 15-20min walk to the Old Town. The rooms are nice and modern, and it is good value. We were first put in a smoking room, and the staff were happy to move us. There are a number of little cafe's nearby for breakfast, but not so many options for dinner. The metro is nearby. I probably would have preferred something a bit closer to the centre but you can't fault the value for money. A nice experience.

Room Tip: Request non-smoking with your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spring_Chick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We spent one night in the Zenit Lisboa Hotel before returning home to the United States. The location is halfway between the International Airport and downtown Lisbon, in an upscale neighborhood with excellent shopping facilities including the modern mall El Corte Ingles. Also close to the famous Gulbenkian Museum. The staff were very friendly and the room was very clean. As is the custom in Europe, the room was very small but it is fine for a short stay. The hotel is relatively new and shows no signs of wear and tear. It is also only a few blocks from the Metro which gives rapid and inexpensive access to the tourist attractions in downtown Lisbon. We felt safe walking around the vicinity of the hotel even in the evening. Recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a fairly busy road but we were on the top floor and we had no problems with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#98 of 251 in Lisbon
928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#72 of 251 in Lisbon
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
#77 of 251 in Lisbon
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#74 of 251 in Lisbon
1,943 reviews
0.1 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#34 of 251 in Lisbon
674 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skyna Hotel Lisboa
Skyna Hotel Lisboa
#114 of 251 in Lisbon
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zenit Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zenit Lisboa

Property: Zenit Lisboa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro 11, Lisbon 1050-047, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#87 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#89 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zenit Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zenit Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenit Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Zenit Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing