We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for a city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked the hotel on the basis of other reviews, for the final destination of a working trip to Portugal and a more romantic weekend. Arrived about 12.00, friendly welcome but room was not ready (we did not expect it to be) so left our luggage and went for a walk and some lunch. Our room was ready on our return - such a lovely room with two balconies to bedroom and one in bathroom. All windows have shutters so there is no problem with too much light and it is so lovely to open them in the morning and see the sunshine. Great room, just loved it, and a good bathroom with double sink, bidet, bath shower and Molton Brown toiletries - and lots of sunshine. Everything you need in room is supplied (mini bar, safe, wifi, umbrella, bathrobes - and so lovely to have a decent hairdryer!). Bed was 6ft wide and was very comfortable - such a great sleep.
You pay extra for breakfast. It was good but basic however eggs are nice and fresh and coffee was good. There is also a Nespresso machine. Some people may not like eating in low lounge chairs. It was challenging not to drop food in your lap but relaxing nevertheless. At the weekend there were many tables which had not been cleared (this aspect was a bit slow) so it was not always easy to find a table that was clean and laid. The coffee area is also a bit small so had to wait as some guests really do take their time.

Reception did not tell us that there are complementary drinks all day and port at night. We eventually worked it out but the sign for this was very small. It was such a nice treat and the coffee and teas are very good quality; port in the evening was nice.

Pool downstairs is very small but ok to refresh. Lighting in corridors is a bit dark but loved the pictures on the walls of the lift.

Staff are nice and we had a good check-in but beyond that not very pro-active. This changed on the Monday when we checked out so it may be that at weekends some are a bit more nervous of being welcoming to guests. One receptionist on two separate occasions gave us incorrect information (which train station/ cost of taxi to airport) so it might be a case of confusion in English..

Overall a lovely experience largely influenced by such a great room.

Room Tip: we had room 45 and loved it (three balconies) and on side away from main road.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,594)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a great experience here, the hotel is in a central location (Lisbon's 5th Avenue) with metro and tram stops near by as well as great restaurants and walking distance to commerce square as well as other squares to visit. There are more than enough designer shops and bakeries only 5 minutes walk away. The hotel itself was wonderful, we upgraded our room which had high ceilings a lovely bathroom and a free wi-fi. The only thing that I could pick at was there was only one plug socket in the entire room, but we took an adaptor and extension lead which was lucky. Other than that I truly recommend staying here. The service was very good and I felt at ease there. I would stay there again indeed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen051987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

There are many large 5 star hotels in Lisbon, some near to the Heritage, with all the facilities you'd expect from such hotels in major European cities, but for us the Heritage was perfect. Perfectly situated on the Avenue da Liberdade near both the old funiculars, and within a couple of hundred yards from the metro stations which take you with one change to the airport. Don't miss the small pavilion cafes under the plane trees on the Avenue. Very atmospheric and providing live music and dancing on a couple of the nights we were there.The hotel is small - 46 rooms but perfectly and stylishly decorated. Our room was large with a well appointed bathroom.
the staff were extremely helpful, recommending restaurants and helping with local travel information etc during our stay. Breakfast buffet was excellent and served in main lobby area with comfortable armchairs and a relaxed atmosphere. The main avenue can be a little noisy with traffic but our room overlooked the adjacent Largo da Anunciada and was very peaceful. Happy to recommend this hotel to any first time visitors to Lisbon

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the Largo da Anunciada are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here after reviewing on Trip Advisor.
Arrived midnight, staff welcoming and took cases immediately to room.
This is an excellent hotel, traditionally decorated rooms, spacious bathroom.
Cannot fault hotel or staff, always helpful and courteous.
The hotel has a buffet breakfast setup; we didn't try this as were on a mission to try as many local pasteliria/ cafés as we could in four days...!
very good location for exploring Lisbon, would return without question.
Score 10/10


Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Walt6075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great hotel, just full of character and extremely welcoming. Comfortable lobby serves as breakfast area - relax in large armchairs whilst enjoying the wonderful breakast - press your own juice, fresh coffee and good selecton including Portugese tarts. There is Port and Sherry numerous teas and home made biscuits in the lounge for guest throughout which is a lovely touch. The room was large and well appointed and bathroom nearly as large. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel which is in an ideal location for access to all the city has to offer. Although the room was not ready when we arrived at 11am - we were offered breakfast, somewhere to charge and our bags looked after - cannot fault service at all.

Room Tip: We occuplied a room on first floor above the lobby but there was no noise - the room had bright doub...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BusybeeSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Located almost across the road (100m back towards the trees) from the Airport Bus stop (?3.50 from Airport & highly recommended for service & value if not comfort - no rip-off taxis for us). The blue exterior makes hotel easy to find.
Wonderful first impression from reception staff. Loved the room - cosy but big enough. Very quiet room, even more so with the shutters closed. Spacious bathroom which is unusual for most Euro hotels. We left the bathroom shutters open, but even then you could barely hear any traffic noise from the bathroom (you had to be looking out the window to really notice there was traffic). In our room there were high windows between the bathroom & bedroom which allowed some filtered street lighting into the bedroom (we don't like a totally dark bedroom, which we could have had if we closed the bathroom shutters).
First night, wide awake at 4am even after the 30 hour flight from Sydney (1pm Sydney time). Whilst my wife slept on, I went to reception lounge to configure the smartphones, tablet and notebook for the wifi (free, as it should be). Pedro, the night reception even made me a coffee.
My wife said the breakfast buffet was as good as any we had had anywhere - no, not quite as extensive in quantity as a 5 star hotel, but interesting, varied and tasty choices. Everything topped up regularly. Perfect scrambled eggs - my son claims you can tell the overall quality of an Indian restaurant by their butter chicken - I think the same rule applies to scrambled eggs in a breakfast buffet - attention to detail and delivering quality. All staff were superb. Everyone. The plunge pool was very relaxing before and after a day of sightseeing. A note - you must try Quermesse restaurant, a block from the hotel - excellent food, great value & staff (read my review). We would absolutely recommend Heritage Av Liberdade hotel, and would definitely stay here, or any of the Heritage Group hotels in Lisbon next time.

2  Thank wazik-the-brave
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I travel to Lisbon a lot and have stayed in many hotels. This is the first I have found that ticks every box for me. A lovely building, tastefully restored, in an excellent central location. The staff could not have been nicer or more attentive. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable with charming windows over interesting street views. I was concerned that being so close to the main road it would be noisy, but the newly fitted windows and shutters keep both noise and light out very well. I traveled with a group and the staff managed our check in and check out very well. Breakfast was nice, but the touch i liked the best was complimentary drinks on arrival! Highly recommended, we shall go again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#5 of 253 in Lisbon
2,358 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 253 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 253 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 253 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 253 in Lisbon
2,773 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 253 in Lisbon
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel

Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £128 - £1,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bridge between modernity and the past the Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel is a space that is truly urban, Lisbon and Portuguese, that enriches the city's heritage. The Restoration maintains all elements of the 18th-century facade on a project of the internationally famous architect Miguel Câncio Martins. The location makes it incredibly convenient for the old city, on the corner of the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade and the ancient Largo da Anunciada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing