We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, big rooms, some drawbacks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Ranked #3 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great service, big rooms, some drawbacks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip to Spain & Portugal.

The staff were wonderful. They helped with dinner recommendations, directions to trains, stored our luggage when we arrived at 10am and the rooms weren't ready, etc. They also ensured we had connecting rooms.

The rooms were quite large. They are sparingly furnished. There is no dresser, just shelves around the closet. This was a bit limiting in terms of organization. The bathrooms were about as spacious as you can expect in Europe. The tub was nicely sized and the shower had sufficient water pressure and hot water.

I found the bed to be a bit hard, although my husband thought it was fine.

The workout room was not worth talking about. It has one treadmill, for which the tread was misadjusted and slipped, and a recumbent bicycle. There is an exercise ball, and some little 2 or 3 pound dumbbells. There were a couple of small mats (not full yoga mats). The workout room would benefit greatly from a bench and proper set of dumbbells. The pool was a long, narrow lap-type pool, although not really long enough for laps. But of course you are probably not here to use the workout room.

The breakfast was fine. I would have like to see a larger set of options for fruit. I liked that there were always apples at the reception desk.

The internet was fast, free, and reliable.

The lobby has a lot of seating, and is used for breakfast. They also have a full bar, and it looks like they have a tea setup - not with food, as far as I could tell, but with a good selection of teas.

Across the Avenida, there is a convenience store, at which you can buy snack food and water. There also are a few tobacco/sundry shops that sell bottled water.

The location is excellent for sightseeing - very close to trains, Metro, and all the neighborhoods.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoKnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    266
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
160
956
42
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

I can't fault this place. The location is excellent; probably no more than 5 minutes' walk from Rossio station, metro and Elevador da Gloria: the funicular up the Bairro Alto. Very kind and welcoming staff who are helpful without being officious or overattentive. Lovely room with a huge, comfortable bed and large, light bathroom. Maybe the room cleaning could be more thorough, if I had a niggle. Breakfast is expensive but less if you pay in advance, and it is very good quality and range.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shula13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

The hotel is small-ish but staff was great! Good location, easily accessible to centre and surrounding attractions. Breakfast was good, room clean. Very helpful staff, totally professional yet friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hkyong98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting Lisboa for 9 days in early September and we couldn't have been more satisfied with our selection of two Heritage Hoteis properties - the Heritage Av Liberdade for 7 nights and As Janelas Verdes for 2 nights (reviewed separately).

Highlights -
- All the staff are very professional, friendly and extremely well trained. Each and everyone of them go out of their way to ensure that guests feel welcome and are comfortable.
- The hotel is stunning - a brilliant balance between the heritage structure and a beautiful interior design with modern touches.
- The rooms are beautiful and spacious. Our room in particular was perfect, since it was in a corner of the building and thus offered an additional floor-to-ceiling window/door in the bathroom that provided additional sunlight and views. Each room is equipped with a LCD TV and free WI-FI.
- The gym and pool are very small, but certainly a very nice touch. We particularly enjoyed taking a quick dip in the pool after long days of sightseeing.
- The breakfast was included in our rate and of great quality. A nice combination of cereals, cold cuts, pastries, cheeses and coffee/tea.
- Location, location, location. This hotel is perfectly located, and within walking distance to the main central areas (Chiado, Rossio, Bairro Alto). The central train station for trips to Sintra is within a 5 minute walk, and the metro station is 2 minutes away.

Av Liberdade has certainly become our home in Lisboa and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We learned about this hotel on Trip Advistor and I must say it was perfect for a weekend in Lisbon. Great location centrally located and within walking distance of all key sights, nightlife and restaurants. The hotel is small and personal, modern and well appointed, including a spa-quality exercise area and jet pool in the basement. The service in the hotel was BEYOND fantastic - Diogo could not have made our stay more pleasant with great restaurant recommendations and proactively seeking out ways to assist us. Rooms are a bit small but clean, comfortable, and well appointed. We will definitely recommend this place & return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Rooms are spacious and weel furnished. The hotel is just walking distance from many attractions. Good service and a lot of infos available at the lobby. Children are welcome. Overall a comfortable and nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicsiBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We loved this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful, the position was great and the breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Portugal
Hotel Portugal
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Property: Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Avenida Liberdade is a small boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. Subject to careful rehabilitation the hotel has come back to life by dint of a project of a unique nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing