We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to major sights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Ranked #147 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This pension has spacious and comfortable rooms, but do be aware that there are stairs to carry luggage up. The lift is on the first floor and is very small. It was accommodation as part of a tour that I was travelling on so I am not sure about value for money. However, it was close to the major sights in Lisboa and to the Metro.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Good location, walking distance to almost every place. Good enough breakfast (Coffee and white bread). Room was nice and big, We could see Castel Sao Jorge from our window, very nice especially late in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJohannaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

On a month long holiday, this was the only hotel that I found questionable during my eight-month journey. Located in a "transitional" area, this hotel was centrally located but a bit dodgy after dark. The staff was mostly unhelpful and watched me struggle with my bag up the stairs - not an ideal start. The room was perfectly fine but as a woman traveling alone, I did not always feel secure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Hotel has a good location, walking distance to the two metro stations. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Simple and basic room, great to satisfy your needs. No hair conditioner so if you need, bring your own.
Breakfast is poor.
If you need room with the view better to ask for it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molodaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Good location and a good hotel. Close to transportation and other amenities . To enter the hotel you must carry your luggage up about 20 stairs. The elevator is then up another 25 stairs.
That may be difficult for some people.
Staff is friendly and helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kycliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Very close to the Rossio square and public transportation. Yes, there are quite a few stairs to climb and it's an old and somewhat outdated place. But everything worked fine, great airco. For the price this is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kees80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We went for a quick walk at 10am the day of checkout. I left my iPod in the room to charge. When we came back at 11:30am (checkout was at 12pm), housekeeping had already stripped off our bed sheets and moved our luggage around the room. This was the first time a hotel had already begun cleaning before guests checked out. I noticed that 1) my ipod and its charger that were connected to the wall and 2) my phone charger that was left on a bed were all missing. I talked to reception but the woman asserted that I hadn't left them before leaving. I then asked if I could speak to the maid who I assumed had just moved them to another location. Upon talking to her, she waved her hands fervently and denied seeing or taking the iPod (Interesting because I hadn't accused her of anything). She led me to the laundry room where I rummaged through dirty bed sheets. Since my ipod was connected to the wall, it would have been physically impossible for it to be pulled out of the socket and taken up into a bedsheet. Anyways, I still rummaged and looked and 30 minutes later of talking to reception and the maid, they told me that they had "found" the ipod and both chargers in one of the sheets in the room. This was suspicious to say the least because 1) I had already looked through these sheets earlier and found nothing and 2) my phone charger and iPod/charger were left on opposite sides of the room and would have never been "found" in the same bed sheet. Neither housekeeping nor reception once explained why our room was cleaned before checkout time and could not provide any reasonable explanation for the "lost" iPod and chargers. Service was poor, housekeeping dishonest. They ran out of shampoo on one of the nights. A few ants in the bathroom. Needless to say, worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I could not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Medstudentbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Tejo
Lisboa Tejo
#134 of 253 in Lisbon
627 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#69 of 253 in Lisbon
517 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#197 of 253 in Lisbon
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#96 of 253 in Lisbon
1,233 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#150 of 253 in Lisbon
547 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#50 of 253 in Lisbon
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia

Address: Poco do Borratem 15, Lisbon 1100-408, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £35 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia Hotel Lisbon
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing