We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Ranked #153 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I am on the fence about this hotel. I think had we not stayed on the 2nd floor (1st floor of rooms) I may have liked it better. And if the heater had worked better in our room I may have been more excited about this place. It just happened to be our heater that was weak, and they were at full occupancy while we were there so we did not change rooms.
The location is extremely convenient. A very short walk to the Rossio metro. Several bus and trolley stops all within a very short walk. Lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance.
I found the staff to be nice and helpful.
There is not an elevator for the 1st 2 floors. If you travel with a lot and/or heavy luggage you will need to carry up 2 flights of steps.
Breakfast was included, basic but quite a few choices of breads, cereals, cheeses, meats, yogurt, coffee and tea.
The rooms are very minimal. Good size room and bathrooms. The beds are old and worn, same with the bath towels and the pillows.
Some of the rooms do have some pretty views depending on what floor you are on.
We stayed on the 2nd floor (1st floor of rooms), and it was very loud.
At different times of the day the sewer smell in our room was quite strong.
The breakfast room is on the same floor and in the mornings the dishes clanking and the guests walking/talking up and down the hall is very loud.

The rooms are the hotel itself were very clean. There is a little bar/coffee area near the desk checkin. The wifi worked in our room but did not work in different parts of the hotel. There is a computer with internet for use near the check in desk.

With all that said, the hotel is in such a convenient spot, and the staff friendly.
The location may outweigh all the other nit picky points.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank heather p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Location is great, room is basic, everything you need is there and it's very clean. Breakfast is ok, more extended than we expected in a Mediteranian country and there's also more than enough. Two subway stations very close by, major sights are within walkingdistance. And yes, you have to climb three stairs with your suitecase and the elevator is small, but it gives charme to this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Curiositeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This pension has spacious and comfortable rooms, but do be aware that there are stairs to carry luggage up. The lift is on the first floor and is very small. It was accommodation as part of a tour that I was travelling on so I am not sure about value for money. However, it was close to the major sights in Lisboa and to the Metro.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Good location, walking distance to almost every place. Good enough breakfast (Coffee and white bread). Room was nice and big, We could see Castel Sao Jorge from our window, very nice especially late in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJohannaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

On a month long holiday, this was the only hotel that I found questionable during my eight-month journey. Located in a "transitional" area, this hotel was centrally located but a bit dodgy after dark. The staff was mostly unhelpful and watched me struggle with my bag up the stairs - not an ideal start. The room was perfectly fine but as a woman traveling alone, I did not always feel secure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Hotel has a good location, walking distance to the two metro stations. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Simple and basic room, great to satisfy your needs. No hair conditioner so if you need, bring your own.
Breakfast is poor.
If you need room with the view better to ask for it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molodaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Good location and a good hotel. Close to transportation and other amenities . To enter the hotel you must carry your luggage up about 20 stairs. The elevator is then up another 25 stairs.
That may be difficult for some people.
Staff is friendly and helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kycliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Tejo
Lisboa Tejo
#139 of 255 in Lisbon
639 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#66 of 255 in Lisbon
526 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#149 of 255 in Lisbon
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#198 of 255 in Lisbon
219 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#97 of 255 in Lisbon
1,241 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#46 of 255 in Lisbon
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia

Address: Poco do Borratem 15, Lisbon 1100-408, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £38 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia Hotel Lisbon
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing