We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location ... charming Apartments and owner”
Review of B&B Zuzabed

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Zuzabed
Ranked #18 of 274 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This was to be our second time in Lisbon.
Reading the other reviews here made me wonder how real it is. Well it is.
We got the apartment just off "Largo de Camoes" two minutes walk from the Baixa-Chiado metro station and few minutes walk from Bairro Alto center of Lisbon night life, but sill very quiet. The apartment was very pleasant clean, with equipped kitchen including all the "small" things you might need to cook at home (oil, salt, etc.). Luis had the refrigerator filled with fruit, juice, ingredients for breakfast and even a bottle of wine. And even gave us a local mobile phone to call him if we might need anything get directions advice etc.

The apartment is being cleaned every two days which really frees your time to relax and enjoy the city.

It's really amazing how a well thought service and personal touch can make such a difference.

We know who we're gonna call next time we plan a trip to Lisbon (and we plan on doing it)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2011

It has been a few months since my wife and I stayed at Zuzabed for 6 nights in February but looking back on it it feels like yesterday. Yes, Zuzabed is in a wonderful location (chihado / Bario Alto). Yes, the breakfasts are delicious and filling. Yes, there are wonderful restaurants and bars within walking distance. Yes, it is very reasonably priced. All those things you have read about it are true.

But to me, the "best" of Zuzabed begins and ends with Luis. His guests have a wonderful time because their host has made a life out of doing what he loves, meeting people and sharing the best parts of his city. Luis is pleasant and never overbearing. He is always available when you need him, recommends the best places, and couldn't be a better guide for the city of Lisbon.

The setup at Zuzabed is great also, we met wonderful travelers. The highlight of our trip was a wonderful fado bar recommended by luis, but it was made all the more special by the hour and a half we got to spend with him prior to going out, talking and sipping Madeira.

Go to Zuzabed, you will not be disappointed..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Experiment626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

It was great to spend our first two nights in Lisbon with Zuzabed ! Its location in the middle of the city, its host Louis who gives you a lot of tips & tricks, the great breakfast with fresh orange juice & cakes, the nice and clean rooms ...
We definitely recommend this address !!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed at Zuzabed for 3 nights at the end of March in the garden room (green) and had a brilliant time. We can honestly say this is the best B&B we have ever stayed in and certainly Luis is the best host!

Our room was clean and light with contemporary decoration. The room has a shared terrace with views over Lisbon. The room also has a TV and free films you can watch while relaxing.

Breakfast was in the common area with fresh fruit, portuguese produce and wonderful home made cakes (one of which was even still warm from baking!) as well as different sorts of breads, spreads and meats.

Luis recommended 3 restaurants (Signal Vermella, Buenos Aires and Terra - vegetarian). Signal Vermella was really good, we were able to taste typical Portuguese food. Buenos Aires (very close to Zuza) had a great atmosphere and food was delicious! And Terra, the vegetarian option, was not for us but other guests really enjoyed it.

Luis gave us really good advice in terms of how to visit Lisbon and how to get to different places (such as Belem and Sintra) as well as offered to book tables for us which he confirmed to the mobile phone provided during our stay.

All in all an excellent place to stay in Lisbon that we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I was greeted by Luis upon arrival and wow I couldn't believe the warm welcome. I have never been to Portugal and do not speak the language(only English) I was sort of nervous. All my fears were relieved after a few minutes with Luis, He answered all my questions, and spoke perfect English. He even gave me a local cell phone for my stay and called during the day to check to see everything was ok. The rooms were very nice, fresh flowers, luxury bedding, snacks provided, water and wine daily in the room. Breath taking views from my large balcony, furnished with chairs and even a telescope. Bathroom had fantastic water pressure and included a blow dryer, heated towel rack. There was also an area for complimentary espresso, tea and water 24 hours a day. Free wi-fi through out, so can use your computer in your room, or he has a computer with a printer you can use free of change in the liviing room area. Breakfast had everything you can imagine, you name it, it was there including fresh squeezed orange juice. Luis was around at breakfast to talk to everyone and offer any advice you might need on locations, things to do etc. There is not one thing I can say negative about Zuzabed. I guarantee you will not be disappointed in your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancysteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

If you've been traveling awhile or simply appreciate the luxury of home-away-from home, then if at at all possible, inquire about Luis' apartments. We had the pleasure of staying in two, and found them to be elegant, thoughtfully appointed, perfectly located, and ideally equipped for our stay. We generally do not prefer to be overly familiar with our hosts when traveling, but Luis has raised the bar to incomparable heights. If you are new to Lisbon, then you will see it from the best possible location, with an introduction from the most affable local. If you have been to Lisbon and not stayed with Luis, then it is possible you have yet to have found its soul.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilichatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

The charm of Zuzabed can be summed up in two words: central and Luis.

First, this B&B is in the very center of Lisbon. It is located at the stair just behind the Rossio station, meaning most of the places you should visit are within 45 second to 20 minute walking distance: Chiado, Baixa, Bairro Alto and Alfama. You can even walk to the western parts of the city to visit places like Basilica da Estrela. It will be a nice walk on a sunny day.

And you have Luis, the owner. He is kind, helpful, generous, as well as smart. Your chat with him at breakfast table often can be a small, fun lecture about Lisbon and Portugal. If you wish, you can of course leave early and explore this beautiful city—with a legendary mobile phone that Luis will lend you during your stay. You will be advised to call him anytime when you need information and advice.

We visited Lisbon in December, when heavy snow hit most of Europe. The airports were in turmoil and one of our suitcases was lost. What did Luis do for us? He called our airline company three times a day to find out information on the baggage. Just an incredible man.

Trust all those favourable reviews about Zuzabed. You won’t regret.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hongkongpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
Príncipe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 274 in Lisbon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Tesouro da Baixa by Shiadu
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 274 in Lisbon
866 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#3 of 274 in Lisbon
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Zuzabed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Zuzabed

Address: Calcada do Duque 29 20, Lisbon 1200-155, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £54 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a genuine and welcoming Portuguese way of living don't look any furhter. At ZUZA we proudly love to show our city and to help make you feel at home is indeed our goal. Anyway, this is not an hotel, ok! :) This is a B&B for relaxed people that consider comfort and prime location together with a local home service and company the most important thing to have when on holidays. While here you'll find the rest of the small luxuries we have for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuzabed & Breakfast Bed And Breakfast, Suites And Apartments
Zuzabed & Breakfast b&b, Suites And Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing