We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place in a great city”
Review of B&B Zuzabed

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Zuzabed
Ranked #13 of 246 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Top place in a great city”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This was our first time in Lisbon, and it is a great city to explore. And whilst some of the hills may be a bit steep, the views more than make up for the effort.
Zuzabed itself is a wonderfully sited B&B, half-way up (or down!) the Calcada do Duque stairs where the Chiado district meets the Barrio Alto. The rooms are not large, but are clean and more than adequate, and a room with a (shared) terrace affords fantastic views over Lisbon towards the castle. Breakfast (ample and tasty, especially with Luis's home-made cakes) is a communal affair in the sitting room, which also has free internet and printer and as many maps and guide books as you could ever want. But the main attraction is Luis himself, who greets you on arrival with a pre-paid mobile phone and firm instructions to call him should you need ANYTHING. He is a friendly host who will provide you with whatever advice on Lisbon you may need, but without being in any way intrusive. If you can get a room, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    80
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
91
462
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzeliya
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Zuza Bed and Breakfast, is a small paradise refuge in the midst of old Lisbon. For 3 days we received all the delights Lisbon can offer you by Zuza. What were the treasures that we found at Zuza B&B?
1. The Vintage room. Small, but Beautiful, clean one. Very comfortable Twin bed and… the window and what you can see trough it.
2. Excellent breakfast and the morning team.
3. Zuza himself. Guide, Cakes baker, friend, Companion, Partner, and the best listener (priest for all religions, including atheists).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amirabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Does it get any better?! Zuzabed was in a great location - within walking distance to many of the main must-sees. Luis provided a delicious breakfast to get the day started. We staying in a room with a terrace - a great spot for late afternoon wine and listening to fado below. Luis's recommendations for lunch and dinner were right-on... most within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkd-travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Zuzabed is a treasure of a place. It's conveniently located in central Lisbon, straddling the 2 most vibrant areas with loads of great restaurants and basr at hand. Luis who runs the show is a wonderful host - he's amazing friendly and at ease and he'll do anything to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. The rooms are quite small and the bathrooms can be a bit of a challenge to negotiate in the small space. The entrance to Zuzabed can also seem daunting - narrow stairways so don't bring huge heavy luggage. That all said, we found that Luis's attention to detail (he gives you a mobile phone to call him on if you get lost or need help!) and his warmth and great spirit greatly make up for any small discomfort the physical state of the building gave us. Thanks Luis.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed for a few nights in the Zuzabed Pop Studio. We were greeted and welcomed like friends by Luis (the owner) and everything was absolutely perfect, much more than we had expected from the already great reviews and website! The studio was clean and homey, Luis was friendly and really helpful with everything (train and bus fares and locations, how to move and where to go in Lisbon...), the location was absolutely perfect and central and we also found food for breakfast, a coffee machine, lots of information on the city and much more in our room!
We are very grateful for the wonderful experience and we hope to be back sometime in the future!
Best B&B and welcoming that we have ever found!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sere_EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Incredibly helpful, all about the service and attention, a fabulous experience, great value - the room itself was very small and there are many stairs to climb - be warned!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bragghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

beautifully designed and furnished, the city break suites are the perfect base in lisbon. located in a quiet residential area yet just a few minutes walk to the city centre. the apartments are luxurious and well-appointed. the owner luis is charming, warm and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. breakfast is excellent too. i would definitely return, not least because lisbon is such a beautiful city

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
820 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#12 of 246 in Lisbon
610 reviews
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 246 in Lisbon
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Zuzabed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Zuzabed

Property: B&B Zuzabed
Address: Calcada do Duque 29-20, Lisbon 1200-155, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a genuine and welcoming Portuguese way of living don't look any furhter. At ZUZA we proudly love to show our city and to help make you feel at home is indeed our goal. Anyway, this is not an hotel, ok! :) This is a B&B for relaxed people that consider comfort and prime location together with a local home service and company the most important thing to have when on holidays. While here you'll find the rest of the small luxuries we have for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuzabed & Breakfast b&b, Suites And Apartments Hotel Lisbon
Zuzabed & Breakfast Bed And Breakfast, Suites And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing