We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our host welcomed us like old friends.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B ZUZABED

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B ZUZABED
Ranked #11 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our host welcomed us like old friends.”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Zuzabed has to be the best B&B in Lisbon. The location, atmosphere, and accommodations are perfect. Luis, the host, makes everyone feel especially welcome. Breakfast was huge and we loved the "family style" table where we visited with other guests. Guests are treated very well here. Luis helped us get our lost luggage, recommended a fantastic restaurant, Sinai, and even loaned us a cell phone during our wonderful 3 day stay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that overlooks the lively wide sidewalks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overmyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    78
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
85
449
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southeast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Most things have been covered already. Luis is a great host who really takes the time with you to make your trip as easy and enjoyable as possible. Breakfast is everything you could hope for. We found the beds to be very comfortable. We stayed in the B&B for 3 nights and the Zuza Pop Studio for 2 nights. It was great to get the two different locations and both the B&B experience and then the privacy of our own studio apartment. If I was being picky the only things I would fault would be that in the description of the apartment it mentioned a LCD screen TV however there was only an small TV when we arrived....but really do you really go to Lisbon to watch the TV? the great coffee machine made up for it! Luis told us straight away about the zapping facility on public transport which was very economical. Dont try to do too much as the best part about Lisbon is people watching and lazing on the beach at Cascais which is only half an hour away on the tram and costs only 1 euro 15 cent each way. Highly recommend the accommodation! steep hills and steps everywhere in Lisbon but makes amazing views....enjoy!

Room Tip: When it says balcony dont expect to sit out but the view is good once you stand out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed in zuza's city suites for 2 nights. The service is without doubt the best part of this place. We felt like Luis gave us a real VIP treatment, but I'm sure this is how he treats all his guests...simply unique!
The room was excellent. Self catering, but with all the comforts of a hotel.
We would recommend it to all, but especially young couples. The hill is very steep though, so becareful with the parking outside...you might need a local to get you out, like we did!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinnyan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Zuzabed is your most perfect spot to explore Lisbon. It is hidden in the middle of Chiado, the quarter with the most ambiance&style in central Lisbon. You’ll easily walk through this area as well as Barrio Alto and Baixa.

Frankly, rooms of Zuzabed are small, bathrooms super small and beds hard. But it’s all decorated with good taste and cared for with a lot of attention. Our Terrace Garden room included a terrace with a stunning view towards the castle, which is perfect for watching stars in the night or doing your yoga exercises with the sunrise.

Breakfast is plentiful, you get to order eggs the way you like them and it’s served for you in the cosy living room area.

Luis who owns the place gives you the best tips from restaurants to buying antiques and is the best host you’ll ever have. We won’t go telling all his ways of surprising you, but he will surely exceed your expectations.

Do dine at Buenos Aires Cafe downstairs of Zuzabed on the outside staircase (beware of the pushy waiters of the competition). Buenos Aires Cafe has unbelievably delicious salads + steaks and the rest for very reasonable prices and a magical view to two directions.

We love.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yozsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My friend and I stayed for a few days and the B&B made the hols ideal! Luis is a fantastic host, very welcoming and helpful. The decor is lovely and in a great location, and good value. Top breakfasts too. In fact, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a small room, it was small but was really a base to explore the area so we got what we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hell021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

What can I add to the compliments already on this site? I booked Zuzabed on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed.

Location was fabulous. Next to Rossio station and easy walk (if you are ok with Lisbon's hills/steps) to most city attractions. Zuzabed has many, steep stairs so not for those who cant handle this...although Lisbon itself would be challenging as well. Luis is on hand to help with luggage.

My room was small but very clean and comfortable. It had a great view of the Castle. There were many thoughtful touches not usually found in a B & B - eg hair dryer, safe,wireless internet and a mobile phone to use during your stay. Breakfast was really outstanding - everything fresh and beautiful (cereals, bread, meat, cheese, fruit, eggs cooked to order and Luis's home baking which was yum!)

As other reviewers have mentioned, Luis is simply a star! Intelligent, articulate, warm and fun. All B & B owners should go and stay at Zuzabed to see how it should be done. He clearly loves his business and his guests. Just so helpful. A lovely, lovely man. I also know why he gives you a mobile phone - so he can text all his guests for drinks -- let you know that is Sangria, chorizo and cheese on the restaurant terrace outside Zuzabed. Thanks again Luis!

I'll definitely be back to a Zuzabed property when I return to Lisbon!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I have been in the pop-studio just close to praca luis dos camoes in baixa-chiado. The position is simply perfect, close to the barrio alto and chiado, 50 meters from the metro in a nice enough studio.
Being a studio it is not a B&B, the solution is independent, the owner is kind enough to provide with some food and drinks and with a mobile phone to call him for any request.
The apartment is small, without the door between the sleeping room and the main room and with the toilet just close to the kitchen, it is ok for a 3-members family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarpietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
2,548 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
516 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 231 in Lisbon
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 231 in Lisbon
391 reviews
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 231 in Lisbon
757 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Teatro Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 231 in Lisbon
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B ZUZABED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B ZUZABED

Property: B&B ZUZABED
Address: Calcada do Duque 29 20, Lisbon 1200-155, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a genuine and welcoming Portuguese way of living don't look any furhter. At ZUZA we proudly love to show our city and to help make you feel at home is indeed our goal. Anyway, this is not an hotel, ok! :) This is a B&B for relaxed people that consider comfort and prime location together with a local home service and company the most important thing to have when on holidays. While here you'll find the rest of the small luxuries we have for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuzabed & Breakfast Bed And Breakfast, Suites And Apartments
Zuzabed & Breakfast b&b, Suites And Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing