We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
B&B Zuzabed
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveller rating
667
83
23
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
83
23
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslisbon suitesother gueststerrace roombairro altobed and breakfastyogurteach morningzuza guest houseeach guesteggs cooked to orderhome away from homehamflights of stairsrossio squarerestaurant recommendationsold lisbonbeautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 782 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Yes real estate is all about "location" and zuzabed could not be better located in Lisbon. A few stairs (down) to the main railway station and centre of town and a few stairs (up) to the restaurant and nightlife end of town. Fortunately it is all downhill after a good night out.
The accommodation is cute in an old building above a restaurant. The stairs are narrow and steep but in keeping with the authentic nature of the establishment. Once inside the decorations are modern and effective. The breakfast is huge and varied....we had omelette, fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, yogurt and cake - and there was more.
The bedroom had an ensuite which was little small but adequate. The shower needed some work with some missing tiles and I gather will be addressed in the planned new works (new communal balcony). The bed was good and we had a balcony overlooking the restaurant and the street. The view was magnificent especially of the castle at night. We were overall very happy with the fabric and function of the establishment.

Now on to Luis. Luis is the special ingredient of Zuzabed which truly sets it apart from other B & Bs. He waited up for our very late arrival and was there again early the next morning to give us a full briefing. He also gave us use of a local mobile phone which had his numbers programed in incase we needed help. At the end of the first day he rang us to invite us down to the restaurant for Sangria and Portuguese delights. Luis was a real host who insisted on each morning going through our plans to ensure we didn't miss anything. He even rang us in Porto to say a final goodbye.

Negatives, the noise can be a problem with the street very active up to 3 in the morning and alive with commuters from 6. The solution is to close the double glazed doors which provides quiet and run the aircon. For us, we chose to keep them open and enjoy the charms of Lisbons nightlife. As mentioned above, the shower needed some work. Others....could have stayed a couple more days to see the other side of the river, Belem, the Lost Inn and a second day in Sintra.

So in summary.....excellent and would stay again.

Note, Luis also has some other establishments near by including a self contained apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and another couple travelled to Lisbon on Sept 2nd-4th. We stayed at Zuzabed B&B and cannot say enough positive things about our stay.
Rooms
- We had a fantastic room with a shared terrace with our friends overlooking the entire city.
Location
- Zuzabed is within walking distance of all Lisbon highlights, surrounded by restaurants and cafes
Breakfast
- Best breakfast I was offered during my 2 week stay in Protugal and Spain. Fresh fruit, eggs, bread, yogurt, pastries, meat and cheese and fantastic coffee
The Host
- Luis is a fantastic host. He sat with us at breakfast, gave us great recommendations for dinner and sightseeing. He went over and above by supplying us with a phone in case of emergency and called us daily to ensure we were getting around ok. It doesn't get better than Luis.
Thank you Zuzabed and Lisbon for such a wonderful start to our vacation. We'll be back.
Jessica from Toronto, Canada

Room Tip: Garden and Castle Room have a shared terrace
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jessmetzger1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

A review for:
Dear Readers,
It is with great pleasure that I write this letter /review to all who dream about visiting the enchanting and magical city of Lisbon. Similarly, I write as well for those who already have had the opportunity to experience the old world splendor yet are searching for a new place, offering something unforgetable. Enter the charming, chic world of Zuzabed B&B, Suites and Apts. and you will come to Lisbon " with an open mind rather than an open book". Zuzabed/suites and Apts. offers accommodations to suit every taste, budget and personality. All accommodations are lovingly furnished with comfort being the foremost factor. We were blessed to stay in The Residence on this trip.
LOCALE- Outside of your little oasis, you step right into the Praca Luis de Camoes .Suddenly, you are amid the cobbled streets and the historic facades. This is the crossroads where Chiado meets the Bairro Alto. Elegant monuments and blue/grey mosaic tiles line the sidewalks. In the morning, you wake to the Lisbon light airy sky, shimmering against the sunlight across the Gothic and Manueline architecture. Bustling crowds head off to a days work , but in the evening, the scene changes. A golden glow exudes across the sky. Young people evolve in groups , meeting friends, hanging out, maybe arranging a late night rendez-vous. The city is revitalized, bursting with energy . Public transport abounds in proximity to the many highlights of the city which are also within walking distance.
SETTING/HOME- Along the trolley route, the Residence is a ground floor apartment with 1BR and a double sofa bed. It is ideal for the advanced aged traveller or those with walking difficulties or disabilities as well. Upon entering , the rooms are offset by old fashioned French doors which permit either privacy or an open space. Outside, the windows, there is a small private garden of palm trees and greenery. BIrds are chirping and a quiet calmness and peace are yours, smack in the middle of the city ! But inside, is the real treasure- a library/study ambiance in the living room. You are beckoned to sit and relax. A comfy mocha sectional with colorful plush pillows is tempting , with a selection of cane chairs surrounding the dining table. A n old cane rocking chair completes the setting of pure comfort. You can enjoy a leisurely bath or refreshing shower in the large bath or settle in the kitchen with a glass of wine viewing the vintage photos of LIsbon from times gone by. All cooking utensils/dishes are provided and the fridge is stocked with a "start up" of staple items for the weary guest. The Residence truly fits its name. One feels the ZUZA flair, warmth and coziness that is not replicated anywhere else. Throughout the apartment, the walls are adorned with various styles of artwork which createsa feeling of ones private gallery. In short, this is a comfortable, restful place that evokes the charms of an urban apartment.
In closing, Zuzabed, Suites and Apts.are the brainchild of the proprietor Mr. Luis Zuzarte. We have been fortunate to have watched the expansion of his dreams become reality throughout our visits to Lisbon. He has created successful and unique settings for all types of travellers. His motto" arrive as strangers, leave as friends" rings true in "your home away from home". It is evident in every minute of your stay. So, dear Readers, before I leave you, I encourage you to take a journey through the new web site. It is engaging and features all the accommodations, each with a description and uniqueness of its own. Venture into see Lisbon through Luis' eyes with vivid writeups of the units accompanied by true to reality pictures of each. Dazzling photos of the beguiling city of LIsbon will also be a treat for your senses as well. You will linger as if sitting in a postcard, coming to life..... but waiting for the words to express Lisbon , for yourself. with love and saudade. Bev.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daphnenero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Zuzabed has to be the best B&B in Lisbon. The location, atmosphere, and accommodations are perfect. Luis, the host, makes everyone feel especially welcome. Breakfast was huge and we loved the "family style" table where we visited with other guests. Guests are treated very well here. Luis helped us get our lost luggage, recommended a fantastic restaurant, Sinai, and even loaned us a cell phone during our wonderful 3 day stay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that overlooks the lively wide sidewalks.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank overmyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Most things have been covered already. Luis is a great host who really takes the time with you to make your trip as easy and enjoyable as possible. Breakfast is everything you could hope for. We found the beds to be very comfortable. We stayed in the B&B for 3 nights and the Zuza Pop Studio for 2 nights. It was great to get the two different locations and both the B&B experience and then the privacy of our own studio apartment. If I was being picky the only things I would fault would be that in the description of the apartment it mentioned a LCD screen TV however there was only an small TV when we arrived....but really do you really go to Lisbon to watch the TV? the great coffee machine made up for it! Luis told us straight away about the zapping facility on public transport which was very economical. Dont try to do too much as the best part about Lisbon is people watching and lazing on the beach at Cascais which is only half an hour away on the tram and costs only 1 euro 15 cent each way. Highly recommend the accommodation! steep hills and steps everywhere in Lisbon but makes amazing views....enjoy!

Room Tip: When it says balcony dont expect to sit out but the view is good once you stand out.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews