We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartbeat of Lisbon”
Review of B&B Zuzabed

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Zuzabed
Ranked #14 of 258 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed at ZUZA B&B recently and I really enjoyed my stay. Luis and his team go beyond duty to help each guest feel welcome by giving recommendations, having breakfast with us and even lending us a mobile line so we can reach them if we need anything. Your really feel like you're at home in such a friendly atmosphere.

Be prepared for the staircase. Even though Luis prepared me to take the right road so the climb would be minimal, not all taxis know about this. Be sure to get dropped off by the street closest to their other hotel (ZUZA Guesthouse) as it's a short walk otherwise you'll be lugging your suitcase down a long flights of stairs and that's no fun.

Breakfast was nice - always fresh juice, coffee, fruits, cereals, hams, cheese jams and an egg prepared in your choice. The best part is having breakfast with other guests as you sit on one table together. It really helps you get to know others from around the world and also get ideas for things to do.

I would definitely stay here again for both the warmth of the staff and the location. You can't get closer to the hub of charming Lisbon. And it's the best way to really experience the city away from the more impersonal, cookie-cutter style hotels.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in - Garden View - was roomy and modern. It has a tiny balcony that faces the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IFBF-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Zuzabed B&B, celebrating our 10th anniversary and visiting Lisbon for the first time. The B&B is clean, quiet, smartly decorated, and in the center of the city. It could not have been more perfect for seeing Lisbon. The friendly staff gave expert advice for sights, restaurants, etc, and worked extra hard to find vegetarian restaurants for us (not so easy to do in Portugal). It was one of the best B&B experiences I've had and they make excellent coffee for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms that share the terrace. Great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent 4 nights at the ZUZA B&B . A few earlier we stayed 3 nights at the ZUZA guest house nearby. Luis and his staff make the stay an experience. Before you ask they will give you tips about things to do or help with taxis, trains and buses. Everyone is like a concierge and a friend.
Location - can't beat it in the heart of Chiado; easy walk to Bairro Alto, Restauradores, Rossio and about 10 minutes walk to the waterfront. Restaurants and beautiful views fill the neighborhood. Given the choice, we usually don't buy into breakfast plans at European pensions. Zuza is different. Best breakfast we have had on the continent. The staff meets you at breakfast and makes sure your day starts right and helps with any of the logistics so you can successfully do what you planned. And the other guests were always a joy to share with in the morning. There is a homey lounge and breakfast room filled with books and a computer. The rooms have great views of the city as you are high on one of its hills.
Understand that this not like a typical US hotel, for some, the rooms and baths may seem small and stairways are narrow like many family-run pensions in Europeon city centers. But if you aren't put off by that, you'll be staying in the best part of the city with the most accommodating staff. When we go back, and Lisboa gave us many reasons to do so, we will certainly book here again. Will never forget this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Luis and staff made for a most personable and memorable 4 day stay right in the middle of the historic city of Lisbon. Even though located on a long and steep stairway, Zuzabed B&B provided the perfect place for us to stay. Thirty years ago, we visited Lisbon and stayed in a large, impersonal hotel and missed so much of the colorful and vibrant environment of old Lisbon. Luis and staff were there to greet us, help us with our luggage on the stairway, and provided us with wonderful recommendations about where to visit, dine, and enjoy their beautiful city. The e-mail guidance Luis provided beforehand was INVALUABLE as well. We saw videos of their other properties which look outstanding as well. The breakfast was excellent and each day we enjoyed it with other travelers from around the world who were adventuresome like we are. What a treat!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

B&B Zuzabed is located up a stepped street and then you have to climb lots of steep stairs so is not for those who cannot lift their luggage. We were glad of the email giving directions (and the hint to use the escalator in Rossia station to save some of the climb) as the doorway would be hard to find otherwise. We were given a friendly but too lengthy introduction - would be good if you had done no reading before arriving and wanted someone to plan your time. Breakfast is a highlight with plenty of fresh fruit, egg cooked for you and a selection of meats and cheeses. Luis or another staff member is present each morning to answer questions

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZABED, Owner at B&B Zuzabed, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Always looking UP in a positive way: Zuza spirit!

Thank you for writing your thoughts and comments. It is always appreciated to hear from Guests during their stay and we are always welcome to feedback. However I would like to take the time and space here, to clarify a few comments mentioned in this review.

Stairs/luggage -- As others have previously mentioned here on TA and you are probably familiar as well with many of the reviews because you are a “Top Contributor” to the site; it’s true that Zuzabed has indeed stairs to access the bed and breakfast and rooms. However please note, a decision is made at the discretion of the Guest, prior to booking. Similarly, Zuza offers a variety of accommodations to suit disabled, elderly, family and other traveler’s needs. As all our beloved Guests we have had the pleasure to meet know, at arrival, luggage is always cheerfully carried by the Zuza Team (despite we are not responsible to the type/size of luggage Guests decide to travel with).

Invaluable tips/inside views sharing -- Part of our motto and welcome format is to acquaint the Guest with the city of Lisbon and sometimes all Portugal as a whole. We make every effort to assess the travel needs and interests of every Guest at check in, to insure a great trip and time well spent, be it for the first time traveler to Europe or the seasoned world traveler. We strive to make your comfort and navigating the city as prime goals.

We love what we do and we do take time to introduce the beauty of Lisbon to all our visitors. Still, we may stop the arrival/introduction at any time if the Guests wish, knowing we are available to Guests throughout their stay.

In your particular case I’m sorry if we made you take too much time away from your itinerary. The intention was only to be helpful and to highlight important parts of the city that we feel capture the flavor of Lisbon. We wanted to make sure you did not miss out!

Door marking/location -- Portugal, like other countries, etc. use the universal identification codes and sequential door numbers. Our door number 29 is well marked on the street for Guests and the postman. :) and as I corresponded with all of my Guests number 29, is right next to Restaurant Securas. Easy! ;)

Past Guests have commented personally that the attached directions depending on starting point (airport, train, bus, driving, etc) that I always send in follow up emails have been extremely clear and helpful.
And I’m always soooooo happy for helping a trip get off to the right start.

I hope I have cleared up any misunderstanding for future Guests and readers. I am always available to answer specific questions, comments and to make our Guests have the best time possible during their stay enjoying unique ZUZA hospitality in the very heart of Lisbon city center.

Look forward to meeting all future Guests, our new friends.

Respectfully, your Host,
Luis Zuzarte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Luis and staff did everything right for making it comfortable at our 4 days stay in Lisabon. We could always reach him if it was something he could help us with. Every morning we got a wonderfull breakfast, and Luis or some other of his staff was there for helping us planning our day. We got good advice and smart tips. We even got a cellphone with important numbers including Luis,s, so we coul call if we needed. He ordered table in nice restaurants, f.i A very nice Fadorestaurant. Last evening he invited us to a local restaurant (buones aires - very good) for vino verde and appetizers. Nice! Coffe and tea aviable al time. Location was exellent, nearby everything. If you are looking for a nice, charming, place with nice and charming staff, go for Zuza-bed. We stayed in the apartment.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment. Room with roofterasse was exelent. the bathroom was small, but you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife Dyan and I, and two friends, stayed a total of eight nights at Zuza in October 2013, six nights at the Royal Apartment II, and two nights (after touring Portugal) at the B&B. It was a thoroughly wonderful experience. Luis and his "team" could not have done more to make us feel welcome. As Luis says, "you are my guests, not customers." From helping with luggage and taxis, to providing a "call me anytime you have a question" cellphone, to excellent suggestions for food and fado -- Team Luis did it all. We had some wonderful conversations with Luis, Joao and Jose -- and the last night, although he had a very busy schedule, Luis treated us to, and shared, appetizers and wine 'Portuguese style" (outside tables) to help us celebrate our fantastic two weeks in Portugal -- delightful! I simply don't have a higher recommendation I could give anyone or anyplace. Just one example of the outstanding service: One night at the apartment, we thought we smelled gas (not an overwhelming smell, but it raised a concern). We called Luis on the cellphone he provided. Within five minutes, Joao was there to check it out, and set our mind at ease -- it was an occasional smell from pipes leading into the older building -- nothing to worry about and something they are trying to get fixed, but not dangerous or obnoxious. The accommodations themselves were superb (spacious, comfortable, nicely furnished), the food at the B&B excellent, and the central locations can't be beat. This is a very, very special place and an amazingly wonderful "team". It's why people travel, I think.
Some things to keep in mind: First, Lisbon is about hills and steps. Unlike the (more sterile) hotels, the older buildings have no elevators. You will do climbing, lots of it, so inquire first if mobility or heavy bags are an issue. For us, it was a good excuse to eat more, but it could be problematic for people with physical limitations. Also, it was a bit difficult for us to find the B&B as it was not prominently identified. This, however, is not a problem, because everyone knows Luis! Also, you will hear street noise at the B&B. We happen to love the sounds of a vibrant city, but If you don't, be warned that Lisboa definitely does not roll up the sidewalks early! But it's the sound of people enjoying themselves. If you walk out late at night (and you should), you have little to worry about.
Bottom line: Although it was a bit more expensive than other places we stayed, the value is outstanding. You just cannot duplicate hospitality like this -- the "Lisboa experience" at its absolute best. Thank you, Luis, Luis (there are two), Joao and Jose for a memorable stay. Nobody does it better than you!

PS. Two particularly good recommendations from Team Luis were the Casa India for fine, authentic, informal and very inexpensive Portuguese food (near Baixa/Chiado Metro) and the O Povo (a few minutes toward the river from the Zuza apartment) for excellent fado and tapas. Also, the Taberna da Rua das Flores (next to the apartment) had outstanding food, as did the "Luis-recommended" Sinal Vermelho. (We had a bit of trouble finding the Sinal Vermelho, so called Luis for directions -- and when we arrived, he had some very nice and complimentary local wine (that we had asked him about) delivered to our table! Where else do you see hospitality like this?) If you dine at the Sinal Vermelho (really good, and certainly not overpriced), finish with some port wine at the nearby, but hard to find without asking, Port Wine Institute.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rrhoya69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#24 of 255 in Lisbon
1,006 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#3 of 258 in Lisbon
407 reviews
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#15 of 258 in Lisbon
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 258 in Lisbon
476 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 494 in Lisbon
284 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Zuzabed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Zuzabed

Address: Calcada do Duque 29-20, Lisbon 1200-155, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £57 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a genuine and welcoming Portuguese way of living don't look any furhter. At ZUZA we proudly love to show our city and to help make you feel at home is indeed our goal. Anyway, this is not an hotel, ok! :) This is a B&B for relaxed people that consider comfort and prime location together with a local home service and company the most important thing to have when on holidays. While here you'll find the rest of the small luxuries we have for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuzabed & Breakfast b&b, Suites And Apartments Hotel Lisbon
Zuzabed & Breakfast Bed And Breakfast, Suites And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing