We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“traveller in LISBON address-THE RESIDENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B ZUZABED

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B ZUZABED
Ranked #10 of 230 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portugal
Level Contributor
340 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“traveller in LISBON address-THE RESIDENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Being a frequent traveller to Portugal, it is always a pleasure to stay with the ZUZABED B&B, APTS/ VILLAS family. Each time we visit, the business continues to evolve and new touches to existing apartments are added. Once again, we were residents at THE RESIDENCE and what a fine address it is. It is a centrally located ground floor apt. with Praca Luis de Camoes outside the door. How delightful that is every time one opens the door ... Lisbon on your doorstep!!! We were greeted with a nice start up selection of foods in the fridge ranging from the staples of milk, bread, juice and eggs and fruit. Its always a treat and a convenience for a weary traveller.
The apt. was in fine form with a few new additions which included artwork, a beautiful large bouquet of hydrangea complimenting the living room and new light fixtures. Every change ehances the existing apt. and makes for a more comfortable stay. Comfort prevails at every turn and it was a true pleasure to enjoy the airy, bright , sunny apt. in November. What always ceases to amaze me is the birdsong and quietness in the middle of the city. I have my own peaceful , tranquil oasis which meets the hustle bustle of city life outside. There is a fine balance and contrast when one selects THE RESIDENCE.
As in the past, the ZUZA team was eager and ready to please and provide any suggestions or assistance throughout our stay. They are ready to assure a time well spent in the charming old world city of Lisbon. The team is reliable yet not imposing and extremely helpful.
Being a ground floor apt. it is stair free and easy access to the outside. There is a well equipped kitchen area and a convenient wash sink with your very own private clothes line to be a part of the neighborhood. I always marvel that this "resident" can also have clothes hanging outside my window.
The accommodations are extremely comfortable with soft pillows and a solid mattress for a good nights sleep. There is a definite home away from home feel here and you are after all a RESIDENT . Trolley 28 is right outside the door for convenience, who could ask for more ?The ZUZA team led by Luis Z himself strives for excellence and prides itself on friendly service with a smile. Housekeeping staff need to be commended on the thorough and consistent care of the apt. Having stayed a few times here in recent years, the floors are still shining, the furniture and beds are in excellent condition and there are no signs of wear and tear. Luis Z has the eye of a very detailed proprietor and constantly replenishes, renews and refurbishes his apts. for new guests comfort. There are subtle touches that remain ongoing. In closing, one of the best features is not having to worry about whether the accommodation is clean or nice or roomy or ..... the list can go on. The answer is... it just is. The assurance of an exemplary product is a no brainer. If you want a sure thing, delightful stay , a friendly face on the other side, then stay here. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: fantastic locale... restaurants, transport, shops, grocery all walking distance . Very neighborhood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphnenero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    77
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
85
447
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed at ZUZA B&B recently and I really enjoyed my stay. Luis and his team go beyond duty to help each guest feel welcome by giving recommendations, having breakfast with us and even lending us a mobile line so we can reach them if we need anything. Your really feel like you're at home in such a friendly atmosphere.

Be prepared for the staircase. Even though Luis prepared me to take the right road so the climb would be minimal, not all taxis know about this. Be sure to get dropped off by the street closest to their other hotel (ZUZA Guesthouse) as it's a short walk otherwise you'll be lugging your suitcase down a long flights of stairs and that's no fun.

Breakfast was nice - always fresh juice, coffee, fruits, cereals, hams, cheese jams and an egg prepared in your choice. The best part is having breakfast with other guests as you sit on one table together. It really helps you get to know others from around the world and also get ideas for things to do.

I would definitely stay here again for both the warmth of the staff and the location. You can't get closer to the hub of charming Lisbon. And it's the best way to really experience the city away from the more impersonal, cookie-cutter style hotels.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in - Garden View - was roomy and modern. It has a tiny balcony that faces the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IFBF-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Zuzabed B&B, celebrating our 10th anniversary and visiting Lisbon for the first time. The B&B is clean, quiet, smartly decorated, and in the center of the city. It could not have been more perfect for seeing Lisbon. The friendly staff gave expert advice for sights, restaurants, etc, and worked extra hard to find vegetarian restaurants for us (not so easy to do in Portugal). It was one of the best B&B experiences I've had and they make excellent coffee for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms that share the terrace. Great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent 4 nights at the ZUZA B&B . A few earlier we stayed 3 nights at the ZUZA guest house nearby. Luis and his staff make the stay an experience. Before you ask they will give you tips about things to do or help with taxis, trains and buses. Everyone is like a concierge and a friend.
Location - can't beat it in the heart of Chiado; easy walk to Bairro Alto, Restauradores, Rossio and about 10 minutes walk to the waterfront. Restaurants and beautiful views fill the neighborhood. Given the choice, we usually don't buy into breakfast plans at European pensions. Zuza is different. Best breakfast we have had on the continent. The staff meets you at breakfast and makes sure your day starts right and helps with any of the logistics so you can successfully do what you planned. And the other guests were always a joy to share with in the morning. There is a homey lounge and breakfast room filled with books and a computer. The rooms have great views of the city as you are high on one of its hills.
Understand that this not like a typical US hotel, for some, the rooms and baths may seem small and stairways are narrow like many family-run pensions in Europeon city centers. But if you aren't put off by that, you'll be staying in the best part of the city with the most accommodating staff. When we go back, and Lisboa gave us many reasons to do so, we will certainly book here again. Will never forget this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhall, California
Level Contributor
331 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Luis and staff made for a most personable and memorable 4 day stay right in the middle of the historic city of Lisbon. Even though located on a long and steep stairway, Zuzabed B&B provided the perfect place for us to stay. Thirty years ago, we visited Lisbon and stayed in a large, impersonal hotel and missed so much of the colorful and vibrant environment of old Lisbon. Luis and staff were there to greet us, help us with our luggage on the stairway, and provided us with wonderful recommendations about where to visit, dine, and enjoy their beautiful city. The e-mail guidance Luis provided beforehand was INVALUABLE as well. We saw videos of their other properties which look outstanding as well. The breakfast was excellent and each day we enjoyed it with other travelers from around the world who were adventuresome like we are. What a treat!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

B&B Zuzabed is located up a stepped street and then you have to climb lots of steep stairs so is not for those who cannot lift their luggage. We were glad of the email giving directions (and the hint to use the escalator in Rossia station to save some of the climb) as the doorway would be hard to find otherwise. We were given a friendly but too lengthy introduction - would be good if you had done no reading before arriving and wanted someone to plan your time. Breakfast is a highlight with plenty of fresh fruit, egg cooked for you and a selection of meats and cheeses. Luis or another staff member is present each morning to answer questions

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZABED, Owner at B&B ZUZABED, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Always looking UP in a positive way: Zuza spirit!

Thank you for writing your thoughts and comments. It is always appreciated to hear from Guests during their stay and we are always welcome to feedback. However I would like to take the time and space here, to clarify a few comments mentioned in this review.

Stairs/luggage -- As others have previously mentioned here on TA and you are probably familiar as well with many of the reviews because you are a “Top Contributor” to the site; it’s true that Zuzabed has indeed stairs to access the bed and breakfast and rooms. However please note, a decision is made at the discretion of the Guest, prior to booking. Similarly, Zuza offers a variety of accommodations to suit disabled, elderly, family and other traveler’s needs. As all our beloved Guests we have had the pleasure to meet know, at arrival, luggage is always cheerfully carried by the Zuza Team (despite we are not responsible to the type/size of luggage Guests decide to travel with).

Invaluable tips/inside views sharing -- Part of our motto and welcome format is to acquaint the Guest with the city of Lisbon and sometimes all Portugal as a whole. We make every effort to assess the travel needs and interests of every Guest at check in, to insure a great trip and time well spent, be it for the first time traveler to Europe or the seasoned world traveler. We strive to make your comfort and navigating the city as prime goals.

We love what we do and we do take time to introduce the beauty of Lisbon to all our visitors. Still, we may stop the arrival/introduction at any time if the Guests wish, knowing we are available to Guests throughout their stay.

In your particular case I’m sorry if we made you take too much time away from your itinerary. The intention was only to be helpful and to highlight important parts of the city that we feel capture the flavor of Lisbon. We wanted to make sure you did not miss out!

Door marking/location -- Portugal, like other countries, etc. use the universal identification codes and sequential door numbers. Our door number 29 is well marked on the street for Guests and the postman. :) and as I corresponded with all of my Guests number 29, is right next to Restaurant Securas. Easy! ;)

Past Guests have commented personally that the attached directions depending on starting point (airport, train, bus, driving, etc) that I always send in follow up emails have been extremely clear and helpful.
And I’m always soooooo happy for helping a trip get off to the right start.

I hope I have cleared up any misunderstanding for future Guests and readers. I am always available to answer specific questions, comments and to make our Guests have the best time possible during their stay enjoying unique ZUZA hospitality in the very heart of Lisbon city center.

Look forward to meeting all future Guests, our new friends.

Respectfully, your Host,
Luis Zuzarte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Luis and staff did everything right for making it comfortable at our 4 days stay in Lisabon. We could always reach him if it was something he could help us with. Every morning we got a wonderfull breakfast, and Luis or some other of his staff was there for helping us planning our day. We got good advice and smart tips. We even got a cellphone with important numbers including Luis,s, so we coul call if we needed. He ordered table in nice restaurants, f.i A very nice Fadorestaurant. Last evening he invited us to a local restaurant (buones aires - very good) for vino verde and appetizers. Nice! Coffe and tea aviable al time. Location was exellent, nearby everything. If you are looking for a nice, charming, place with nice and charming staff, go for Zuza-bed. We stayed in the apartment.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment. Room with roofterasse was exelent. the bathroom was small, but you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 230 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 230 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B ZUZABED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B ZUZABED

Property: B&B ZUZABED
Address: Calcada do Duque 29 20, Lisbon 1200-155, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a genuine and welcoming Portuguese way of living don't look any furhter. At ZUZA we proudly love to show our city and to help make you feel at home is indeed our goal. Anyway, this is not an hotel, ok! :) This is a B&B for relaxed people that consider comfort and prime location together with a local home service and company the most important thing to have when on holidays. While here you'll find the rest of the small luxuries we have for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuzabed & Breakfast Bed And Breakfast, Suites And Apartments
Zuzabed & Breakfast b&b, Suites And Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing