We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly b&b in the heart of Lisbon”
Review of B&B ZUZABED

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B ZUZABED
Ranked #12 of 233 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly b&b in the heart of Lisbon”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed in the Zuzabed B&B for a week and enjoyed it very much. Our hosts were friendly and enthusiastic and made us feel welcome - they even joined us for breakfast every morning, gave us tips about where to go, invited us out for drinks and gave us nightly calls to suggest good restaurants.
The location of the b&b is perfect. Close to everything and with a beautiful view of the city and castle.
The room was good, clean, tidy and cosy and with a good bathroom - our cleaning lady deserves a special thanks.
The breakfast was good - not least compared to the often over-sweet portuguese breakfast - bread, cheese and ham, yoghurt, fresh fruit and an egg cooked according to your taste. And cakes, of course.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    78
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
86
450
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Just the 'place to be' in Lisbon.
Nice, charming, well-located.
Clean rooms, good breakfast.
And for the reception by Luiz... the best! It's all about the good time and a real-Lisbon-experience.
We've been 'at Zuza' three times - 2 at the B&B, and 1 at the guest house, and I would strongly recommend it to my friends.
Be prepared to taste good wine and spend lots of time talking and laughing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrebessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A big Zuza fan since my first stay in 2006, it is like a second home to me. Location, views, beautifully decorated rooms, attention to small details that make a traveller's life easier, amazing breakfasts and an incredibly dedicated team will make your stay in Lisbon the first of many more (you may even consider moving to the city ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakoly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at ZUZA B&B in late November, for four nights. We had such a wonderful, wonderful time there. Even before we got there, Luis was great and timely with his email correspondence. Joao was happily awaiting us at the B&B, which was a late evening arrival. He was so outgoing, had a great sense of humor and overall fun to interact with and chat. We got to meet Jose the next morning, whom was just as engaging and friendly. Luis definitely has a staff of which he can be proud. It is truly these three individuals that make the experience for you. They want you to enjoy their city, experience Lisbon and go home with wonderful memories. I loved that one of these guys would be there in the morning to greet us during breakfast, see what our plans were for the day and make any suggestions (like Fado performances!!!).
On top of this, the apartment is in a great location! We took the Aerobus from the airport (maybe 20 minutes). The Rossio stop is literally three blocks from the apartment. There are two metro stops right there as well as the train station (for any day trips to Sintra or other cities). We stayed in one of the Terrace Rooms - beautiful! Although it was unusually cold during our time in Lisbon, it was really nice to have the terrace for beautiful city views or just relax after a day of sightseeing.
My husband and I talked during our time in Lisbon, and upon our return, that one's travel experiences can really be made by your initial reception to a place. This was absolutely true of our time in Lisbon. I think we would have enjoyed Lisbon regardless, because it is a fabulous city. However, our experience at ZUZA B&B really heightened our enjoyment of Lisbon. We felt as though we had made new friends, even if just for a few days. Luis, Joao and Jose - thank you so much for a wonderful time in Lisbon. If we ever have the blessing to return to Lisbon, we would not hesitate to stay at ZUZA B&B again and again. And as much as I would love to keep this gem a secret, I can't, so will definitely recommend ZUZA B&B to others!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpbrodriguez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great, convenient location- ground floor, just outside the door to plazas, restaurants, shops, & transportation yet apartment is quiet & sunny. Spacious & comfortable living & dining room. Bedroom is comfortable but tight (but not a problem for us since the rest of the apartment is so roomy). Bathroom is stylish, modern, & spacious. We want to come back to Lisbon and this is definitely where we want to stay. As other reviewers have noted, Luis and staff are superb hosts and take very good care of their guests. We opted to have Zuza stock the refrigerator with breakfast items--well worth the extra charge for the convenience & variety of items.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Zuzabed B&B and had the best of times. Luis, well supported by his friendly team, is a charming and considerate host, who is on hand to give you as much guidance as you need to ensure you enjoy your stay and make the most of your time in Lisbon. There is always a member of the team available to help and advise, either in person or via the mobile phone loaned to you for the duration of your stay. Thank you to everyone for making this a very special birthday trip.

Breakfast was a pleasure to share with our fellow guests, with a really good choice of food. Watch out for the extra sweet treats!

This is a well located B&B, offering simple, comfortable accommodation at an affordable price, backed up by the best of service. We will definitely stay here when next we visit Lisbon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a wonderful 4-night stay at the Zuza Bed & Breakfast. Luis, our charming host, has 5-star hospitality! He genuinely cares for each of his guests and does his utmost to ensure a memorable Lisbon experience for all. He and and his team were on call (even giving us a cell phone) to answer questions day or night. They thoughtfully gave us tourist maps, transportation schedules & info, advice for day trips, money exchange, special events and restaurants. Upon request they made us reservations for a wonderful night of Fado. The location in old town is perfect--within walking distance of major sites, the tram, train station, shopping and restaurants. Breakfast was excellent with eggs to order, fruit, breads, meats, cheese and cereals. The Zuza is located high above street level so the rooms with a terrace (book early) have a spectacular view of the city. There is no elevator, but Luis will make sure to greet you and carry your luggage up the stairs. He gave us excellent advice on transportation to and from the Zuza and the airport. We would highly recommend this B&B for a memorable Lisbon vacaiton. Thank you, Luis & team!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the terrace for a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaleenandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 233 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 233 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 233 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Teatro Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 233 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B ZUZABED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B ZUZABED

Property: B&B ZUZABED
Address: Calcada do Duque 29 20, Lisbon 1200-155, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a genuine and welcoming Portuguese way of living don't look any furhter. At ZUZA we proudly love to show our city and to help make you feel at home is indeed our goal. Anyway, this is not an hotel, ok! :) This is a B&B for relaxed people that consider comfort and prime location together with a local home service and company the most important thing to have when on holidays. While here you'll find the rest of the small luxuries we have for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuzabed & Breakfast Bed And Breakfast, Suites And Apartments
Zuzabed & Breakfast b&b, Suites And Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing