We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands Down -- Can't Be Beat!”
Review of B&B Zuzabed

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Zuzabed
Ranked #15 of 255 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Luis is the best! He is your consummate host in Lisbon, offering you a great central location for home base, a mobile phone for emergencies, and a fabulous breakfast to send you off for the day.

Our terrace room was the smallest in the house, but no worries. Great patio with chaises for relaxing and viewing the city. The bath is very tiny, but certainly adequate for most. Just a shower -- no tub. Great memories of tea and biscuits (or pastries from Belem) on the patio --resting the mind and the feet after a long day walking.

Luis had one room repainted while we were there, and he has other accommodations in Lisbon. He is always working to keep his properties in tip-top shape. You will not be disappointed. Very clean and crisp. Full of books. A computer/ printer at your disposal.

Very much a family atmosphere with Luis as the big brother guiding you and giving his susggestions to make your days memorable. So knowledgeable, he is able to help customize your schedule around your special interests. Luis usually stopped by during yummy (lots of choices - breads/ biscuits/danishes, fruit, cereals, eggs, meats, cheese) breakfast or early evening (some sherry or wine perhaps) to check on guests and to see how he could be of help. First class service!

And do not go to restaurants without asking Luis first. We did, and we regretted that first night's "tourist" dinner. After that, we went to Signal and Cafe Buenos Aires-- superb! He made the reservations and we just headed out for a delicious meal.

We missed the Fado as I was under the weather, but the rest of the house went and thoroughly enjoyed an authentic experience. Talk to Luis -- don't fall for the "tourist traps."

Our recommendations of sights -- Tile Museum, Botanical Garden, Gulbenkian Museum, Belem (Tower/ Monastery/ Pastries). Lisbon is a walking city full of one of a kind views and experiences. Public transportation is very easy as well.

We only spent 3 days/nights in Lisbon. We look forward to a return trip and will be looking to stay with Luis!

Note: Lots of steps to get to Zuza and in the house. And the rest of Lisbon as well. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Go4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
There are newer reviews for B&B Zuzabed
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

As well as the B&B, Luis has a few apartments in Lisbon and it was one of these - Zuzasuite - that we stayed in. It was absolutely fantastic and beyond our expectations, despite the wonderful reviews we had already read on Tripadvisor.
To be perfectly honest I was slightly apprehensive about meeting Luis as, based on the reviews here, I thought he might be a bit 'in your face' (I am British!). However he was an absolute star, a totally genuine guy who is the perfect host - friendly, thoughtful, extremely helpful and with a sense of humour too. He really did elevate our Lisbon trip to a different level.
The apartment itself is in a great location and is also stunning - the only problem was that is was so nice we probably didn't go out and explore Lisbon as much as we should have! Luis supplied guests with breakfast food, a free-of-charge mobile phone, a laptop with free internet, a nespresso machine, wine - it just goes on and on!
We also visited Sintra then had to return to Lisbon for our flight home and when we explained our plan to Luis he insisted that we use Zuzabed B&B to leave our luggage and use his computer to check in online. When we arrived to do this he also brought through coffee and cakes for us - what a guy!
Lisbon is a great city and when I return I fully intend to stay at a Zuza place again - if only all holiday rentals were this good :-)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_H099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My fiance took me to Zuza B&B for our anniversary and wow what a place !!!
Luis was an amazing host ! so welcoming and gave us a mobile to use as a free hotline to him in case of emergency.
The room was amazing !!! Clean , stylish and with a view to die for ! It also had a wonderful terrace with the same great views over Lisbon !!!
The location was so central !
My only word of warning are the amount of steps , the B&B are set on a alot of steps and the B&B it self has 3 flights of stairs so may not be suitable for those with mobility problems .
All in all we will definatley coming back again n again n again !!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madtabby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

My husband & I stayed in one of Luis's self-catering apartments when his B&B was unavailable in mid October. We stayed at Zuza'City Break Suites in the Principe Real District and really enjoyed it. Luis gave us great advice before we arrived about taxi drivers from the airport. Sure enough the taxi driver tried to over charged us but being forewarned by Luis we paid the appropriate amount. Luis welcomed us to our 1 bedroom with balcony suite, with a map, suggestions for dinner, wine bars, sights, and supplied the suite with a welcome bottle of wine plus goodies in the fridge for breakfast or snacking. Luis is a wonderful host and immendiately puts you at ease about being in Lisbon. He provides quests with a cellphone preprogrammed with his number, etc. so one avoids expensive roaming charges. We actually forgot the cell at the suite a couple of times but did use it at the suite to ask Luis about dinner recommendations. The location was very good. Rue da Imprensa can be a bit busy. The apartment was well equipped and smartly & efficiently furnished as pictures indicate. We were happy with the independence of the apartment, location and access to Luis if required. We had the pleasure of running into Luis at wine bar and then a restuarant. It was wonderful - like meeting a new but yet old friend in the lovely city of Lisbon. Thank you Luis for the advice, your hospitality and ou enjoyable stay.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JULOfrVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed in one of Luis's self-catering apartments, the Zuzaroyal, and not in his B&B. The Zuzaroyal apartment we stayed in was a huge, high-ceiling, late 18th-century combination of modern conveniences, funky decor, and faded splendor. The most important thing was the perfect location, just below the Barrio Alto (i.e. not in the middle of the noise and the drunks), but still in old Lisbon. The 28 tram was on the doorstep, and a Metro was a few minutes walk away. Luis was a great host, lending us a mobile so we could call him whenever we had any questions. He generously left us a welcoming bottle of wine, and quite a lot of food in the fridge, and we had a splendid time in Lisbon. We particularly appreciated the wi-fi connection! This is a great option for anyone who wants to be right in the middle of historic Lisbon and independent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My wife and I came back from our first trip to Lisbon, and we are ready to go back tomorrow because of the phenomenal hospitality and kindness of the proprietor of Zuzabed and Breakfast. Luis is a gem! We stayed in the apartment on Rua de Flores, and thoroughly enjoyed spacious accommodation, privacy, and central location. Luis made our stay unforgettable, providing us with gentle and kind guidance delivered with sparkling humor and wit. Perfect place surrounded by stores and little restaurants. We are looking forward to sampling more of "fresh" wine and Portuguese sausage, Luis!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagoneer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed at ZUZABED from October 15th-18th. We arrived quite early in the morning (befor check-in time) and were immediately invited for breakfast (although not included for that day).
You would think that after a flight and getting up at 4 am, one would need some time for him/herself, and normally I would say the same thing. But our host Luis was so incredible welcoming, that we felt instantly at ease. Within 30 seconds we were chatting with the other guests. It was taking like a warm hot bath. I honestly have to say that this IS home away from home.

Breakfast was great, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated, but not extremely luxurious or posh. Also very nice shower, although I thougth at first sight it was a rather basic one.

I think that what we aprreciated most is the fact that we could reach Luis every second of the day (and night) by cell phone and ask everything, that we felt so welcome. I normally don't trust people that easily, but Luis stole my heart just by opening the door. He really seems to enjoy what he's doing and he does it with such style and taste! I cannot express enough how wonderful he is.
It's the little attentions that made this stay so special.He offered us Portugese specialties (cottage cheese, marmelade,..) and when he saw how much I liked it, the day after he served it again.

Being pregnant on this citytrip, might have been a burden (since you do have to take some chairs to visit the town..but it is totally possible and you don't realy need public transport !), but I got so spoiled that it was one of my top vacations.

And then the last morning, I was almost in tears (I was really deeply touched and moved), when Luis had a suprise for our future baby. It shows how he is and how ZUZABED is: just full of warmth and genuine care for the guests.

I am a very critical person as it comes to travelling and actually not really seeking for trips including socialising, but well once in a lifetime you do get blown away... And ZUZABEd and Luis did all that, right form the start.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 254 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 254 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#153 of 254 in Lisbon
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
398 reviews
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#14 of 255 in Lisbon
624 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Zuzabed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Zuzabed

Address: Calcada do Duque 29-20, Lisbon 1200-155, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £55 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a genuine and welcoming Portuguese way of living don't look any furhter. At ZUZA we proudly love to show our city and to help make you feel at home is indeed our goal. Anyway, this is not an hotel, ok! :) This is a B&B for relaxed people that consider comfort and prime location together with a local home service and company the most important thing to have when on holidays. While here you'll find the rest of the small luxuries we have for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuzabed & Breakfast b&b, Suites And Apartments Hotel Lisbon
Zuzabed & Breakfast Bed And Breakfast, Suites And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing