We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of America Diamonds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
America Diamonds Hotel
Ranked #105 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great value, lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at America Diamonds. Having paid just EUR 65 for a city centre location we didn't know what to expect but the hotel was exceptional value and the staff really helped make our stay a pleasant one.
Rooms were modern and tidy; ours had a newly fitted bathroom. Breakfast was decent, wifi was free and the signal was good. Given the location (right above the metro station Picoas) we could not have found a better hotel in this price range. I'd also recommend a trip to Antonio's just behind the hotel where you will find Portuguese cuisine at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    473
    168
    25
    15
See reviews for
219
457
53
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here for a few nights on our Lisbon holiday. The hotel was really easy to find. There is a metro station just outside the door, but we walked about 5 mins from another line instead of changing from the airport line (seemed an easier idea. It is on a main road so it was unmissable. We were a bit worried about the noise from the road, but the windows blocked it out fine. The receptionists spoke English and Spanish which was a big relief for us. Our room was a little small, but that was not really a problem. It was very modern, especially the shower, which was awesome. Everything was very clean. I was happy with the breakfast, lots of choice from different breads, rolls and cakes to cerial and fruit, with a nice view from the 7th floor. All in all it was a pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wonderboy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is in a nice enough area and -very- close to public transportation to the airport and to more of the centrally located neighborhoods of Lisbon. It was generally a quiet area, but the room we were booked in was on the main street and it was LOUD. I hardly slept the first evening due to the sound of buses, motorcycles and cars which just never stopped. We asked the next day to be moved to a quieter room and the staff were very accommodating.
Breakfast is okay if basic. The juice machine is best avoided as the juice had the fake sugar taste. A nice selection of pastries and a variety of fruits were very welcome.

Rooms are basic, but very clean! Available tv programming in English was great. Good water pressure in the shower!

They had a promotion for the Lisbon Derby with complementary roasted chestnuts and a glass of port which was also a nice touch, though we were only able to catch the last 20 minutes of the match.
Overall, a good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in America Diamond. The hotel is just adjacent to the Picoas Metro Station. The famous Marquis De Pombal Square is only 10 minutes walk from the hotel. A Pizza Hut outlet is just next to the hotel. A departmental store is also near. Taxis are always available. 15 Euro required to go to the airport by taxi.

The service of the hotel is very good. The reception is always smiling and helpful. They have always guided us the routes of different tourist spots.

The rooms are spacious and clean. the outside view is beautiful. There are several restaurants in the Saldanha area near to the hotel.

The buffet breakfast is not bad and sufficient.

Nice hotel to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Firstly, we booked this hotel due to its location to the public transport and to that extent we were not disappointed. The airport bus drops you off literally just round the corner and the metro stop is just a few foot steps away, it really is that close! If you arrive on a late flight, you have a pizza hut next door which is really handy. I cannot fault the staff, they were kind and courteous and the room was very clean, in fact the hotel was always very clean. However, the room size was compact and the air conditioning unit very noisy. After one night with the A/C on and no sleep we had to resort to turning it off. We were on the side next to the road, which on Saturday night was not not too loud, but the noise did increase and it disturbed us a lot. Noise seemed to be an issue as we could always hear when the room above used the water! At 2am in the morning hearing a gush of water down the pipes is not appealing. With it being only 1.40 euros one way to use the metro its easy to get down town, we actually chose to walk quite a lot and it only takes 20 mins. However, we would like to have been closer to the down town area and purely for us the hotel was a little out of the way. Pros and Cons with this place, and to be honest if we returned to Portugal we would not stay at this hotel again for noise and location factors, however for the price you pay, and if you are not light sleepers like ourselves, it may well be a bit of a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is an ideal place to stay in Lisbon. We were very happy with the service from the restaurant staff - there was a lovely variety for breakfast each morning. The reception staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms were an adequate size and the bathroom was a perfect size. The hotel was spotlessly clean. We didn't have any problem with noise during the night- which is a great bonus in any city, we even had the window open every night. Air conditioning in room was very much appreciated. The best thing about this hotel was there was an underground station entrance about 4 feet from the door of the hotel which meant we didn't need any taxis during our stay, we were able to do all our travelling and it only took us 5 seconds to get to the metro. The metro line also runs to the airport with only one change to make on the underground. Great hotel & great staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here with two other couples from 3rd to 6th October. Rooms are compact but still enough room. Beds comfortable, room service excellent and all staff very friendly. Reception staff very welcoming and informative. The 4 in 1 hop on hop off ticket ( available at reception ) is great value as you get to use the ticket on the tour , public buses and trams, funiculars and the aerobus.The location is superb, easy acces to metro and El Cortes Inglais shopping is a 5 minute walk away, left out the hotel entrance. There is a very good restaurant (Sessenta ) on the same street Rua Tomas Ribeiro, again left out the door .
The breakfast was great , a selection of hot , ( bacon , sausages, egg, mushrooms ),and cold ,( meats , cheese fruit, pastries , cereals). Plenty to set you up for the day of touring .
A cosy residents bar is available.
The only item which we required and was not available, was an iron.
Would certainly recommend this hotel... great value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinocallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#64 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#58 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SANA Reno Hotel
SANA Reno Hotel
#93 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miraparque
Hotel Miraparque
#79 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
HF Fenix Urban
HF Fenix Urban
#89 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America Diamonds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America Diamonds Hotel

Property: America Diamonds Hotel
Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 47, Lisbon 1050-226, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — America Diamonds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The America Diamonds Hotel in Lisbon is located in the heart of the city, next to Marques de Pombal and Eduardo VII Park. It offers comfortable accommodation in a historical building beautifully restored in the heart of Lisbon contrasting with its modern interior, equipped with 60 different types of comfortable rooms. If you looking for a hotel in Lisbon, came to the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your America Diamonds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Diamonds Lisbon
Hotel America Diamonds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing