We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel avec un excellent emplacement à Lisbonne. Great area and close to the subway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
America Diamonds Hotel
Ranked #114 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Evian-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel avec un excellent emplacement à Lisbonne. Great area and close to the subway.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Très bon hotel avec des chambres correctes et propres. Le petit dejeuner au buffet est très bon (les viennoiseries portuguaises un peu trop...en tous les senses). Le personnel est très amical. The + est que l'entrée de l'hotel est à deux pas de la station Metro. Excellent emplacement. Very nice cozy hotel just in front of the subway station (which is a must when you are in a fairly big city such as, Lisbon). The rooms are clean. The buffet breakfast is very good. The pastry is a little to much and not very fine like in France or Italy though. The personnel is very friendly and can answer any question and give useful tips.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardizamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    482
    176
    29
    15
See reviews for
221
473
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Praia, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is a three star hotel - and not more than that.

The staff is nice and helpfull and this review would have been if it wasn't for the staff.
The hotel is located just next to the Picoas metro station, unfortunately this station is on the yellow line which not the best if you want to go to the center of the city.
The beds are not for big people, they are short and narrow. The room was noisy, noise from the street and noise from the neighbouring bathrooms.
The breakfast place was too small for number of guest and coffee machines broke down on a regular basis.
The elevator - what a joke. I had a rather heavy suitcase and wanted to take the elevator from first floor to the reception. I had to waot for more than 15 minuttes....

Room Tip: Do not choose a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgen B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

As an American in Lisbon (or anywhere), I am amused at European businesses that purport to bring an "American experience" to the customer. The American Diamond fulfills this by greeting the guest with the skyline of New York City behind the desk and a solo shots of famous buildings (Empire State) and vintage American celebrities (Elvis Presley) around the hotel. Frankly, I enjoy the schtick whether it is intended or not, but let's address more substantive concerns.

The rooms may not be as spacious as their true American cousins, but they are certainly roomy enough with a bath/shower option for the the fickle bather. The lobby is small but classy and serves drinks and shows futebol like a good European establishment should. I remember a tasty rum and coke as a gentle nightcap to a rather madcap evening.

Like most European hotels, I am always impressed by the desk workers. They speak all major languages explaining the hotel's location (which is good) and fun things to do in Lisbon. I especially appreciated the recommendation to visit Parque das Nações which I might have missed otherwise.

Complaints? I suppose the elevator is a bit small for a card table, but it cozily fits three or four people. Internet is offered for multiple devices, but can be sketchy at certain times of the day. Mostly, it was fine.

I have used this hotel twice and will likely use it for future trips - well done...like an American steak.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TremontTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It's in a good location for it's price, it's right besides the underground, and it's a 15mins nice walk down the slope to the city center with a few nice building and landmarks around.

Breakfast is included and is OK. Hotel staff is very helpful even have suggestion for short stays in Lisbon like us. Yellow Bus (the official tourist bus) stop is 1 mins away.

Room Tip: There's a side of the hotel NOT facing the main road. It's much quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Perfect hotel for city break. Stayed 3 ngts in America Diamond Hotel with family. Breakfast included in price with great multi-choice each morning. Room a bit small, but with 3 beds in it(our choice) we still had space to move around. Nice bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Excellent location. Bus from/to airport stops just around corner. So much within walking distance but public transport is excellent too. Many choices with travel ticket. Very friendly and helpful staff. Small bar, but enough choices. Very pleased with our stay and would recommend it. Also would return again.

Phil...Dublin

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is not a luxury hotel, but it has everything you need. Just at the subway's entrance, perfect if you are in Lisbon to see its attractions. Easy to get here from the airport, just a 1/2 hr ride.
The breakfast is included, basically all you need. I don't understand some people who say that the breakfast is "poor" - what do they it at home? This is an European hotel, they don't really eat greasy bacon and fried fatty eggs at 7am.
Great selection of yogurts, cold cuts, breads, jams and coffee.

Will probably stay again if decide to visit Lisbon in the future.
Tip: ride to subway to the train station (about 10 min) and then take the train to Sintra and Cascais. Unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lia1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The location is excellent. The staff were very helpful and gave us good advice about Lisbon.
The metro is very close to the hotel.
The breakfast was sumptuous.
As we were taking a day trip on our last day they allowed us to keep our luggage to be picked up on our way to the airport in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#64 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
0.4 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#60 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Turim Saldanha Hotel
Turim Saldanha Hotel
#69 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.4 mi away
SANA Reno Hotel
SANA Reno Hotel
#95 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miraparque
Hotel Miraparque
#77 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America Diamonds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America Diamonds Hotel

Property: America Diamonds Hotel
Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 47, Lisbon 1050-226, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — America Diamonds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The America Diamonds Hotel in Lisbon is located in the heart of the city, next to Marques de Pombal and Eduardo VII Park. It offers comfortable accommodation in a historical building beautifully restored in the heart of Lisbon contrasting with its modern interior, equipped with 60 different types of comfortable rooms. If you looking for a hotel in Lisbon, came to the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your America Diamonds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Diamonds Lisbon
Hotel America Diamonds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing