We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Backpackers place but terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensao Nova Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pensao Nova Goa
Ranked #225 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
106 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Backpackers place but terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Arrived to Lisbon in bad weather and had a 8 hour layover during day on the day of New Years Eve . Decided to go to this pension so I might have a sleep, but was not possible. I paid 35 euro for a little single room with hard bed and noisyness of opposite buildings and it was very cold in the room (no heating) so no sleep and the water in the shower was cold also. Very depressing place and high price. Internet cafe downstairs which is 1 euro an hour. That was nice to spend time.

Room Tip: I doubt if any rooom is nice. I hated mine, a single..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    58
    64
    20
    28
See reviews for
22
65
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Location of pension is very good - metro/bus stations are nearby. It is also very close to the castle. 5 minutes from the pension is a supermarket (Pingo doce) where you can buy a local fruit and vegetables and many more. We were there for 7 days.
We had some money hidden in our luggages in the room (because of pickpockets in the city) most of the time without any problems, but 2 days before leaving they were stolen. It was probably cleaning service. Our luggages was searched and things were moved as we found out when we came back to the pension in the evening. No refundations, of course. So be careful about money in the room!
Staff was quite friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raydeck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We are a family of 3 persons (husband, wife & teenage daughter) stayed in the hotel for 2 nights during our recent trip to Lisbon from 5 July 2013.
The real plus points of the hotel are it's great location, right next to Figuera Square (with Rosio & Mortim Monitz metro nearby) and the airconditioner working in our triple room during the hot summer days of our stay. The major attractions of the city were all within walkable range. Also, a convenient place for visiting Belem for the day as the tram no. 15 to Algies going to Belem departs right from Figuera Square.
Otherwise, there were a number of drawbacks such as shabby & old room and hotel decor, bare minimum and basic furnishings and cheap toiletries, lack of internet access at rooms. The breakfast was minimal with least choice and variety and in no way meets the standard of a 1 or 2 star hotel.
Would only recommend to a friend if he/she is travelling on a tight budget and intends to spend minimal time at the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors room facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arindam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a GREAT Pensao! What a great value!! The staff is very helpful, the room was spotless! cool, and comfy for three hot and weary travelers. The breakfast is bountiful (the coffee was yummy). Location is very central, metro/bus and tourist information only steps away, restaurants close by. We had a blast!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

When I travelled to Lisbon, I expected to spend most of the day out and about, so the only things that were important to me when finding a room were a low price, a central location, and a clean, comfortable bed. If the room also had a bathroom, that would be a bonus. So I was pleasantly surprised that this Pensao had all of that and more. The room was a comfortable size, the bed was clearn, there was a clean bathroom, and an extra: air conditioning! Very useful at the end of June, when the temperatures were up to 30° centigrade.

The reception was manned 24 hours a day, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was okay (rolls, butter, jam, ham, cheese, coffee, tea and juices).

The great thing about this place was the location - between Martim Moniz Sq. and Rossio. The Airport Bus stops at Rossio (about a 5-10 minute walk to Pensao), and there buses and the metro in both directions. It's an easy walk to Avenida da Liberdade and to the river. We even walked to the train station Cais do Sodre for the train to Cascais (about 20 minutes).

Other reviews have complained about the cleanliness of this place, but I found everything quite acceptable. I don't care that it's rather old, and that the decorations are out of date. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaVienna4034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

The title says it all: this is a very simple hotel with very reasonable rates. The location is central and the rooms small. A standard breakfast is included in the price, which certainly is a plus. So it's okay to stay for a night or so if you are planning to be out most of the day and looking for a lower budget hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joetraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Pensoa is really old. It seemed like time have stoped there many years ago. Reception staff was nice, but room - old old old again and so dusty. On the night table was so dusty that I could write there. I was also alfraid if linen was changed but was ok. Only on the overlay I have found one long black hair and It wasn't belongs to me. Bathroom was not so bad, but only good point of this one night stay was very good location and view for a castle. On the photos it is looks better than on in reality. It a pitty that I didn't took a photo of this dust everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorotiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#188 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#61 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#174 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#161 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
#212 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Nova Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Nova Goa

Property: Pensao Nova Goa
Address: Rua Arco Marques do Alegrete 13, Lisbon 1100-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pensao Nova Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Goa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing