We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and near transport links”
Review of Residencial Roxi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residencial Roxi
Ranked #176 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value and near transport links”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You get what you pay for, it is good value but don't expect the world.. The hotel was very clean, it's run by a nice family (who are helpful but don't speak much English) and although the location's a little far from the very centre (about 15mins up/down hills) it's brilliantly located for public transport and on a central street that's very easily to find again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    61
    43
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
58
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Ok, this is budget I understand however the rooms are on the 4th floor and there is NO air conditioning or even fans and the rooms are unbearably hot at night. It was 34 when we stayed and we woke up all night dying of heat. Excellent location wise, however the area is apparently only just becoming more popular after previously being a less desirable location. I wouldn't walk around as a single/pair of females late at night personally, perhaps not so safe. The family and friendly and we had no problems with anything else however, being honest we would have probbaly moved to a nearby hostel if we hadnt had to pay everything on arrival. Also, this is NOT for single/youngsters looking for a social scene....I would go to a hostel instead :)

Room Tip: Get a room at the back to avoid the loud road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizteral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed in a twin bed half bath room last month, June, 2013.
The first meeting of the owner/manager of the property was not great as he doesn't speak English. This can be overcome if you speak Portuguese or Spanish.
The room itself was immaculate but the bathroom was quite awkwardly situated and narrow.
Location is excellent, it's 3 steps (literally) from the entrance to the metro and 3 stations to the center. The building is harsh on anyone with heavy bags (me) so this did not start off on the best footing because it's wholly a walk-up property.
The property is run and kept up by a family of 2 boys, mom and dad. Wifi works great, no option for breakfast or cooking or keeping things in a fridge and this place could go a lot further with a little water-boiler and a microwave in the 'living room' area and an extension in the outlet because there were no other accessible outlets in the room.
The lack of out-of-room amenities bothered me more than the room itself.
When you leave the property, you drop the key off at the front desk and pick it up when you return. This became a bit tedious after a while but not enough to keep me from returning. The rooms (and bathrooms) are cleaned daily.
It's located on a semi-quiet street (depends on the time of day and how much people honk that day) and the cable tv was a nice touch.

What turned around my stay from 3 stars to 5 stars:
In the middle of our stay, I got sick. The kind of bed-ridden sick where you stay in bed all day and can't move kind of sick. After asking for and going to the pharmacy, the landlord's wife, also the cleaning lady, brought me a cup of tea to my room after I got back, a nice gesture that warmed me to her.
Something else, my travel buddy broke something in the room and she told the owner she'd pay for it. The owner refused and ordered a new one without accepting any money for it. They were very understanding about the whole thing and very kind people.

All in all, the owners turned out to be much kinder than first impressions led on and the property is very safe (you have to get buzzed into the building AND your floor) and very clean.

In the end, we extended our stay and I'd happily return... but I'd pay a little more for the full-bath room. Some rooms have nicer views than others. The location is perfect, the price is right and there are several eateries, a laundromat, a pharmacy, cafes and other things a block or so away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieMagicJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is how you get to the Residencial Roxi from the airport: Leave the airport terminal and turn right - you'll see the Aeroporto metro station next door. Go into the station and buy a fare card downstairs, either from the machine or from the wicket around the corner. If you're too jet-lagged to figure out the machine, there's usually an English-speaking attendant there to help you out. You buy the fare card and load it with rides in one operation. The card costs 50 cents and each ride is 1.40 euros. If you use cash, the machine gives change. It also accepts credit cards.

The Aeroport station is the last one on the Red Line (Linha Vermelha), so you don't have a choice of trains. All the trains leaving this station go in the direction of Sāo Sebestiāo. Some of the trains are only three cars long, so they don't take up the entire length of the platform. Take the train to Alameda station (the 9th stop) and switch to the Green Line (Linha Verde). Take the Green Line train going in the direction of Cais do Sodré and get off at Intendente (the 3rd stop).

At Intendente station, go to the exit (saída) closest to the front of the train. To open the exit gate upstairs, scan your fare card (there's no charge for exiting, but you have to use the card).
Once past the exit gate, go to the right where you'll see two sets of stairs, on your left and on your right. Go up the ones on your right and you'll end up on the sidewalk right in front of the door to the Residencial Roxi. It's an apartment building with stores on the ground floor. Press the button marked Roxi on the doorbell panel, and someone will buzz you in. The intercom doesn't work. Go up the stairs to the 4th floor.

Room Tip: The building is wedge-shaped with all the windows facing one of the street, both equally noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank georgetacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

$18 Euro per night, shared bath for this price. Includes free fast WiFi, TV, & phone.
Now the bad news: This is a 3rd floor walk up, the manager does not speak English, and a cab driver said it is adjoining a bad neighborhood & I should not walk the area after 9 PM.
You can read the other reviews about it's good central location, cleanliness, etc..
I would definitely recommend this because the price is well worth it.
Check in is after 2 PM.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the back side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnDugue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This place is above average for the price I think. The internet worked fine. The room was clean and surprisingly quiet given it's right over the subway. The staff were friendly but the key thing(see previous revue) was a bit strange, can't they just cut two keys??

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lowest floor if you can, the stairs are strangely energy sapping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ryegrass M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

For the price, this was pretty good. The room was clean, and I appreciated having my own shower. I didn't have a problem with noise from other guests; there was some noise from the street, but nothing awful. The people running things were friendly and helpful. Overall, by my standards, this place was acceptable.
Things that may be a dealbreaker for someone else: The neighborhood isn't dangerous, but it isn't great either- homelessness was visible, but I never felt threatened. The green metro line is less than ideal for a tourist (blue would have been better). The hotel is on the 2nd and 3rd (or 3rd and 4th, if you're American) floor of an apartment building: the steps were steep and frankly, dark and dirty, unlike the rooms. Once, I left something in my room, and I decided it wasn't worth the four flights of stairs to go get it. I was also required to turn in my key every time I left, which I found strange.

Room Tip: Please see the photo for what a shower in the room looks like. It has a shower, a sink, and a bidet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperPicnicWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Residencia Mar dos Acores
#225 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Safira
#174 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#150 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
#212 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#136 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Roxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Roxi

Property: Residencial Roxi
Address: Avenida Almirante Reis 31 3, Lisbon 1150-009, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residencial Roxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing