We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value if you're travelling on a budget”
Review of Residencial Roxi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencial Roxi
Ranked #187 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found the place good value for our budget. It's walk-able from the centre of town, and has a Metro outside too which is great for airport transfers. The staff don't speak too much English but are helpful and friendly. The room we were in was basic but did have a shower. The toilets are shared and very clean. The neighborhood can be a little bit unsettling at night time and we could hear the street arguments all night. The accommodation is very safe as you have to leave a key with the owner who then buzzes you in (This was never a problem).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevenlogiacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in this hostel for one night in August and everything was great. It was very clean. Staff doesn't speak English, but they are trying and they are very nice and friendly. We read some reviews that it's pretty noisy, but we didn't hear anything. Location is excellent, there's a metro station right in front of the hostel. There's no a/c, but it was completely bearable for sleep. It's a budget hostel, you get what you pay. All in all, we are satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marijazg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You get what you pay for, it is good value but don't expect the world.. The hotel was very clean, it's run by a nice family (who are helpful but don't speak much English) and although the location's a little far from the very centre (about 15mins up/down hills) it's brilliantly located for public transport and on a central street that's very easily to find again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Ok, this is budget I understand however the rooms are on the 4th floor and there is NO air conditioning or even fans and the rooms are unbearably hot at night. It was 34 when we stayed and we woke up all night dying of heat. Excellent location wise, however the area is apparently only just becoming more popular after previously being a less desirable location. I wouldn't walk around as a single/pair of females late at night personally, perhaps not so safe. The family and friendly and we had no problems with anything else however, being honest we would have probbaly moved to a nearby hostel if we hadnt had to pay everything on arrival. Also, this is NOT for single/youngsters looking for a social scene....I would go to a hostel instead :)

Room Tip: Get a room at the back to avoid the loud road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizteral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed in a twin bed half bath room last month, June, 2013.
The first meeting of the owner/manager of the property was not great as he doesn't speak English. This can be overcome if you speak Portuguese or Spanish.
The room itself was immaculate but the bathroom was quite awkwardly situated and narrow.
Location is excellent, it's 3 steps (literally) from the entrance to the metro and 3 stations to the center. The building is harsh on anyone with heavy bags (me) so this did not start off on the best footing because it's wholly a walk-up property.
The property is run and kept up by a family of 2 boys, mom and dad. Wifi works great, no option for breakfast or cooking or keeping things in a fridge and this place could go a lot further with a little water-boiler and a microwave in the 'living room' area and an extension in the outlet because there were no other accessible outlets in the room.
The lack of out-of-room amenities bothered me more than the room itself.
When you leave the property, you drop the key off at the front desk and pick it up when you return. This became a bit tedious after a while but not enough to keep me from returning. The rooms (and bathrooms) are cleaned daily.
It's located on a semi-quiet street (depends on the time of day and how much people honk that day) and the cable tv was a nice touch.

What turned around my stay from 3 stars to 5 stars:
In the middle of our stay, I got sick. The kind of bed-ridden sick where you stay in bed all day and can't move kind of sick. After asking for and going to the pharmacy, the landlord's wife, also the cleaning lady, brought me a cup of tea to my room after I got back, a nice gesture that warmed me to her.
Something else, my travel buddy broke something in the room and she told the owner she'd pay for it. The owner refused and ordered a new one without accepting any money for it. They were very understanding about the whole thing and very kind people.

All in all, the owners turned out to be much kinder than first impressions led on and the property is very safe (you have to get buzzed into the building AND your floor) and very clean.

In the end, we extended our stay and I'd happily return... but I'd pay a little more for the full-bath room. Some rooms have nicer views than others. The location is perfect, the price is right and there are several eateries, a laundromat, a pharmacy, cafes and other things a block or so away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixieMagicJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is how you get to the Residencial Roxi from the airport: Leave the airport terminal and turn right - you'll see the Aeroporto metro station next door. Go into the station and buy a fare card downstairs, either from the machine or from the wicket around the corner. If you're too jet-lagged to figure out the machine, there's usually an English-speaking attendant there to help you out. You buy the fare card and load it with rides in one operation. The card costs 50 cents and each ride is 1.40 euros. If you use cash, the machine gives change. It also accepts credit cards.

The Aeroport station is the last one on the Red Line (Linha Vermelha), so you don't have a choice of trains. All the trains leaving this station go in the direction of Sāo Sebestiāo. Some of the trains are only three cars long, so they don't take up the entire length of the platform. Take the train to Alameda station (the 9th stop) and switch to the Green Line (Linha Verde). Take the Green Line train going in the direction of Cais do Sodré and get off at Intendente (the 3rd stop).

At Intendente station, go to the exit (saída) closest to the front of the train. To open the exit gate upstairs, scan your fare card (there's no charge for exiting, but you have to use the card).
Once past the exit gate, go to the right where you'll see two sets of stairs, on your left and on your right. Go up the ones on your right and you'll end up on the sidewalk right in front of the door to the Residencial Roxi. It's an apartment building with stores on the ground floor. Press the button marked Roxi on the doorbell panel, and someone will buzz you in. The intercom doesn't work. Go up the stairs to the 4th floor.

Room Tip: The building is wedge-shaped with all the windows facing one of the street, both equally noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank georgetacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

$18 Euro per night, shared bath for this price. Includes free fast WiFi, TV, & phone.
Now the bad news: This is a 3rd floor walk up, the manager does not speak English, and a cab driver said it is adjoining a bad neighborhood & I should not walk the area after 9 PM.
You can read the other reviews about it's good central location, cleanliness, etc..
I would definitely recommend this because the price is well worth it.
Check in is after 2 PM.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the back side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnDugue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Residencia Mar dos Acores
#236 of 254 in Lisbon
282 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
#223 of 254 in Lisbon
70 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#152 of 254 in Lisbon
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Safira
#166 of 254 in Lisbon
70 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#165 of 254 in Lisbon
174 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#149 of 254 in Lisbon
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Roxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Roxi

Address: Avenida Almirante Reis 31 3, Lisbon 1150-009, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £27 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residencial Roxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing