We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family away from home”
Review of Oasis Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oasis Hostel
Ranked #42 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A family away from home”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Three of us went to spend time between Christmas and New Year at Oasis backpacker's, and it's one of the best places I've ever been. Not only was it clean, pretty and had lockers, but the people were also like a family! They organise weekly dinners cooked at the hostel and have events to which eveyone is welcome. You can also find people of all kinds and ages, which makes it feel very much like a traveller's home and not just a party place (although their parties are highly recommendable). Would go back any time, even if I was considering it as a long term option... Don't miss out!

Room Tip: The 8 bed dorm on the top floor has beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    90
    35
    11
    17
See reviews for
11
39
157
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
D
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

good: nice interior, clean sheets, can get a towel for 1euro, they have a bar with beer tap, you can get breakfast for 3euro which looked ok (haven't eaten it myself), you can get a similar priced dinner, staff is friendly, nice relaxed cool atmosphere
bad: there was no locker for your valuables in our room and when I asked I was told there is no other place to savely store it (at reception for instance). I think a locker is standard and should be there. Also, it was really noisy until maybe 3am because people always made a party at the bar. Not good. Further, there was only one single toilet and shower (!!!) for the whole house. Some rooms had ensuite but a lot don't. I thought they were joking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln, Deutschland
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed in the nice located hostel for 2 nights and changed the room after night 1.

My first room was a 12bed room with a safe and a nice balcony (including a wonderful view over the city). Bathroom was nice too.

Second room was a 8bed room without a safe, without balcony in the next building.
Here the ventilation could have been better. There were no fans installed. It was not nice to sleep there...

The best was the hotel staff. Extremly friendly.
I was wondering about the included breakfast buffet. Included was only the coffee and tea. For the individually prepared breakfast (no buffet) I had to pay a 3€ extra,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firstcl4ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Had a great stay, super friendly and helpful staff! Good walking tours and the location is fantastic. Clean and well equipped hostel! Would definitely stay there again, it was really easy to meet people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMTVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Really cool hostel with some pretty cool people. Amazing walking tours and location.

My experience was tainted by some of the guests, though. I stayed in a room with lots of other bunks, and everyone there was drunk as hell. Got really obnoxious, as they were up until 5am yelling and talking most nights both right outside the room, on the balcony, and in the room.

Maybe I'm too old for the hostel stuff, but I don't think so. It'd be a little nicer if the staff was a little more helpful on keeping people from going overboard with the alcohol and drugs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I really enjoyed Lisbon, and I think that it had a lot to do with the location of Oasis Backpackers' Mansion. It was close to the trams, trains and metro and was in easy walking distance of almost everything in the old town. The staff here were all so friendly, helpful and accommodating and the 3 euro breakfast was awesome (it did take a while to get served tho). The rooms and general up-keep of the hostel was fantastic. Much cleaner than most other hostels I have stayed in! The only downside is that there was a little too much party happening with both guests and staff involved. Other than the noise I really did enjoy Oasis and I would recommend it to fellow travellers

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadic90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

After travelling for almost 3 weeks, my friend and I checked into Oasis Backpackers' Mansion. The staff was amazing and we never had to find our own activities because the hostel constantly had activities organized or suggestions of places to go. Our love for Lisbon would not have been the same if we had stayed anywhere else! The hostel organizes meals every day and it is well worth it, the 3 euro breakfast was better than anything myself or a restaurant could cook! The huge dinner table style of serving the meals truly makes you feel at home and encourages you to make friends and meet the other house guests. Amazing friendships were made with both the staff as well as other travellers! Every time someone asks me my favourite city/country or what hostel to stay in Oasis is always my #1 recommendation. There is the right mixture of party, relaxation, sightseeing and fun at Oasis Backpackers' Mansion! Rubenn, Tara, Nuno and Taylor are amazing, truly apart of my Lisbon family & family away from home! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisb'on Hostel
Lisb'on Hostel
#34 of 445 in Lisbon
291 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Calling
Lisbon Calling
#28 of 445 in Lisbon
240 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#14 of 445 in Lisbon
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 445 in Lisbon
351 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hub New Lisbon
Hub New Lisbon
#17 of 445 in Lisbon
216 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 445 in Lisbon
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hostel

Property: Oasis Hostel
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 24, Lisbon 1200-402, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis Hostel in Lisbon is a hostel in the real sense of the word. A hostel should be a hostel. We don't think that it should be a boutique hotel designed by Philippe Stark. A hostel should be cheap and in the best location of the city, within walking distance of everything worth seeing. A hostel should have staff that go out of their way for every traveller, not because we want better ratings but because it is what good people do. Besides having free wi-fi, lockers, and other standard services, a hostel should be clean, and most importantly a hostel should be cool but in the classic sense of the word like Mickey Rourke or Paul Newman, unique in personality that never goes out of style. A Hostel, more than a place to sleep should be a place that helps you feel what it's like to actually live in a city and not just stay in it. Our local and international staff are all Lisbon Lovers and use their wealth of information and personalities to show you their Lisbon with their eyes. We have activities, led by our staff that will let you truly come to know Lisbon and those who make it special. From local food tours, street art tours, all day adventures to experiences that guide books fear and tourists rarely see, our activities will leave you feeling Portuguese. Above all, a hostel should be social. In Oasis Lisbon Hostel with our bar, dinners and special events we go out of our way to make sure that we are the place to meet other interesting travelers to share your experiences with and if sometimes you wake up with a hangover as a token of our hospitality, all the better. Oasis Hostels are good for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oasis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Backpackers` Mansion Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing