We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average stay but only because we were short on luck...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oasis Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oasis Hostel
Ranked #41 of 416 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“An average stay but only because we were short on luck...”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Socially Oasis was great, met lots of really great people, the communal garden was a really nice place to have breakfast and chill out and there's a really great walking tour guide who organises some very unique experiences of Lisboa.
The gourmet breakfast was okay but I wouldn't really class it as gourmet (for the reason that the bread was just cheap white bread and the orange juice was Tang, I'm pretty sure).
Also, we drew the short straw of being stuck in the dorm where the toilet was so people were constantly coming in and out at all hours of the night. Which actually wasn't so bad at the end of the day if you have earplugs and an eye mask on.
We also were roomed with the worst guy ever, I'm pretty sure he brought a strange girl into our room and had sex with her whilst we were still there and he had the worst foot odour I have ever experienced, so my suggestion here would be to enforce a no strangers in rooms policy.
Apart from that the group dinners were really nice, the staff (except for one really flirty girl who made me constantly uncomfortable cause she was always hitting on people and it made me cringe) are fantastic and the location is GREAT!

Room Tip: Tell someone if you are having a problem with someone in your dorm, it's not worth putting up wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 922tashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    89
    35
    11
    17
See reviews for
11
39
156
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed as a family group of women, different ages, and had a full dorm room to ourselves with own bathroom which worked v well. It was clean, friendly in a lovely building with nice outdoor terrace for breakfast. It was a bit noisy, but only to be expected with young travellers staying and the European cup final on, but would recommend for any visitor to lisbon for a cheap stay in great area (near to cais de sobre, tram stops, shopping areas and barrio district)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraD277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was the final leg of our inter-rail through Portugal last June but most definitely the highlight! The hostel is really easy to find once you get off the metro in Baixa Chiado and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is as beautiful as it sounds with nice terraces and palm trees in front of the building. The balconies of the upper rooms provide amazing views of the city. There are walking tours of every kind organised each day, including graffiti tours of Lisbon and Tapas and wine tasting evenings. There are optional breakfast and dinners you can sign up for which I would seriously recommend, the dinners are an especially great way to get to meet your fellow revellers before you ascend into the Bairro Alto area for a night out.

This hostel had all the facilities we needed, was secure and spacious and really well located! Cannot wait to go back! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrim_Gal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My mom and I stayed at this hostel during our weekend trip to Lisboa and compared to every other hostel, this was by far the most elegant, classy, and well-maintained! The staff was young and friendly, but also incredibly professional and helpful! They pointed us in the right direction countless times when we asked for restaurant, tourist attraction, and other advice. In addition, we were so surprised when we entered our room because it was so beautiful and elegant, even for a hotel! The bunk beds seemed to be brand new, made from high quality wood, and the whole room seemed to be newly renovated. The bathroom was the cleanest I've seen and the breakfast selection was great (for just 4 or 5 euros per person)! They had many tours, bar crawls, and evening cookouts throughout the week and a small but pretty terrace. A taxi can drop you off right by it's entrance, and it's located just a couple blocks from the main street and right next to many restaurants and cafés. On the whole, we had a truly amazing experience at this hostel and loved their standards, friendliness, and hospitality!

Room Tip: Bring a lock for the small trunk that they provide underneath your bed for your belongings (although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheetalG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We traveled to 5 different countries on our holiday and the Oasis Backpackers' Mansion was our favorite! The location was awesome and all of the staff was amazing! From the guys at the front desk, the cooks, to the bartenders--everyone was super helpful and friendly. The patio was adorable and the food served was amazing! Really great mojitos at the bar and had a blast on the pub crawl. Amazing people working here, this is a must stay hostel if you come to Lisbon!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Loved this place. The staff are a really good laugh and very helpful. Food and drinks are reasonably priced and you can enjoy them in the sunny terrace.
The rroms with en suites are very spacious with nice bathrooms... Will definitely be back! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What can I say... Great location close to Bairo Alto and transportation to other spots, young and helpful staff always readyto take you out for the night (which is good as a solo traveler), clean and nice dorms, great patio to have a drink, cheap bar inside the mansion, etc.
Definitely a must stay place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yann-Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 416 in Lisbon
339 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Calling
Lisbon Calling
#28 of 416 in Lisbon
236 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisb'on Hostel
Lisb'on Hostel
#35 of 416 in Lisbon
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Shiado Hostel
Shiado Hostel
#82 of 416 in Lisbon
146 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 416 in Lisbon
251 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#12 of 416 in Lisbon
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hostel

Property: Oasis Hostel
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 24, Lisbon 1200-402, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 416 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oasis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Backpackers` Mansion Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing