We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Borges Lisboa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Borges Chiado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Borges Chiado
Ranked #156 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Virgola09
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hotel Borges Lisboa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

One night at the hotel Borges in July. The hotel is in an old building. Considering that I look at location as the most important factor in my bookings, I must say that hotel Borges is in a perfect location. Just take the metro from the airport and get off in front of the hotel! Fantastic. Friendly staff, very clean, easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgola09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    367
    271
    103
    56
See reviews for
208
361
43
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights with my mom. The only thing that I was not completely satisfied is that they charge wi fi. Breakfest could be better as well, but all in all, it's pretty decent. It's not a 5 star hotel and you people should be more aware of that. Location couldn't be better, really. You're close to everything, Bairro Alto, Rossio Sqaure, metro, tram 28 station, ... The location itself is worth staying there. Our room was pretty big and comfortable. Also, we had no problems with noise, it usually stops by midnight. I was a bit worried because all the negative reviews and I was so glad when none of that stuff came true. The staff is not really friendly per se, but if you ask them something, they will answer right away. All in all, I would really recommend this hotel because it's really cheap and decent. And ofcorse, the location is unbeatable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emkolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel is really well situated but the rooms were a bi old and it's really noisy night time but if you are looking for something cheep it's perfect. i was on a two day trip there with my sister and my boyfriend so we were looking for something cheep and in the centre but i must say they need to do something about the noise night time in the rooms because it was impossible to sleep with your window open. All in all we had a good time but we didn't had much time to stay in the hotel. I think it's perfect for trips like this but defenetly not for trips with children or for long trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikol_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

A perfect hotel for a short stop in Lisbon, both for shopping, restaurants, touris, and nightlife - the hotel is so central. We stayed here twice during our trip; the first time we got a room with a view of the square, which was nice, but of course very noisy at night. The room was very big, but there was some leaking from the shower, so the carpet outside the bathroom was constantly wet.. The second time we stayed here we got a smaller but more comfortable room, with a view to the side street, which was also a bit noisy, but better. The breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a view to the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
355 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel is very well situated just steps from the metro and #28 tram, and near many main tourist sites and areas.

Considering the location, the price is very low. As one might therefore expect, the hotel is very basic.

Pros, other than location: our room was quite large, and the beds were comfortable. The room was clean. We slept well.

Cons: the room decor was very basic. The bathroom door looked pretty battered, and some other, harder-to-see items were worn. There was no electric outlet convenient to the desk. The hot water was slightly unreliable, but not enough to be a serious problem. You have to pay extra (but not much) to use the safe or Internet. The room AC worked, but was loud. The breakfast was not very good. The TV was tiny and the remote did not work.

We had a room at the back of the hotel, where it was pretty quiet. Beware the front, since street musicians often play in the plaza.

On balance, the hotel is OK considering the location and price. But don't expect more than the basics.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Basic hotel but the location is great for anyone looking to enjoy Lisbon's nightlife. Only a 5 min walk from the barrio alto and with baixa chia do metro right outside the door you have the best of everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbaek, Danmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My son (13 years) and I have just staied at the hotel for a week and we both liked it very much. We had a big room with 3 beds at the 4th floor at the corner, so we had 5 big windows and view at the side and back of the hotel. Our bathroom was big with both bathtub and shower. Everything was very clean, towels changed and beds done every day. The breakfast included what we like to eat in the morning, and the breakfastroom was very fine and not at all crowded. The staff at the reception desk was friendly and helpful - they even helped us to check in for our flight home. The site of the hotel is just perfect for walking to the citycentre and just beside the metro and the tram stop. And then there was a nice atmosphere in the street with happy music and funny performers. All in all it was the perfect place for our stay, and if we ever go to Lisbon again we´ll defenitely stay at Hotel Borges again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelleHolbaek_Danmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#217 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#134 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#116 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#90 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#43 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#44 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borges Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borges Chiado

Property: Hotel Borges Chiado
Address: Rua Garrett 108 | Chiado - Lisboa, Lisbon 1200-205, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Borges Chiado 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lisbon's Chiado Square, the Hotel Borges has rooms with satellite TV and some feature a private balcony. Facilities include a tour desk. The Fado clubs of Bairro Alto are just a short walk away. The air-conditioned rooms of the Borges are decorated with floor-to-ceiling windows, carpeted floors and wood furniture. All rooms have a private bathroom. Guests can enjoy drinks and refreshments at the Borges Hotel's terrace. Room service is available as well. The Hotel Borges's front desk is open 24/7. The hotel also provides car rental, laundry facilities, and a ticket service. The Mario Viegas Theatre and the Museum of Chiado are situated within walking distance. Lisbon Airport is a 16-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Borges Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borges Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing