We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5* location on 3* hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Borges Chiado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Borges Chiado
Ranked #156 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“5* location on 3* hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

If location and price are more important then luxury and quality then Hotel Borges Chiado is an excellent choice.
Rooms actually looks very different. We stayed in a very oldfashioned tripleroom. One bed was separated from the rest of the room by a wall, the positive thing was that the third bed was a real bed not an extrabed. A small 10" TV and old furniture. No wifi in the room. But there are better newly renovated rooms. We had friends living in two newly renovated doublerooms which were both bigger and a lot nicer.
Brekfast was included and served in a beautiful room with chandeliers. Breakfast itself was average with the regular youghurt, cereals, bread, te, coffee, juice etc.
The service was ok and the staff were englishspeaking. If you want wifi you need to pay extra.
Considering the location the price was very good, 89€/room/night for a tripleroom.
To the Airport we went by taxi for approx 16€. By subway it costs 1,40+0,50€, requires one change and about 35 minutes travellingtime.
The location would make me choose this hotel again especially if I was able to get a newly renovated room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stig-Helmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    367
    271
    103
    56
See reviews for
208
361
43
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself stayed in this hotel to celebrate my birthday. Contrary to some of the negative reviews we read months ago, the hotel and staff prove otherwise. Reception was modern and clean. Our room was nice. Room 203. Very clean. Toilet,room and bed! Room cleaned every day and sheet changed and laid well. Staff very friendly and approachable.Breakfast was nice. Gorgeous room. The hotel location is very central. There were always police around hotel premises and the square opposite. Two good bars and restaurants beside the hotel. Close to Rossio and a metro station is right in front of the hotel. You can take the red line metro from the airport and change to the green line from which you get off at Baixa Chiado. Hotel is close to shopping centres, good restaurant and taxi ranks. Takes about 10 minutes walk to Rua du Commercio to hop on the sightseeing bus.
In all, the hotel meets the three star rating. I am impressed and will recommend it. Will stay there again if i have to visit Lisbon again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Olumide S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Location of the hotel really good. You are right in the center (Chiado) and nightlife is few min walk away. The breakfast was included and it was ok. Rooms where ok. Remember to get your blankets and pillows from a closet, not ready in your bed.

Don't take the taxis from airport right out side the exit!! Those cost 3 times more than others bit further, around 20€ when bit further ones cost 7-8€.

Room Tip: there are really nice 2 person rooms, which have 3 bed with almost like own rooms for each. 5th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iippa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed with my wife in this hotel during the period from September 26 to October 5, 2013 The hotel is located in the Bayh-Chiado, at 2 steps from the metro station of the same name. The conditions of accommodation are good. Spacious, bright room. Minus of the hotel I want to mention a very modest breakfast. Yes, this is a continental breakfast at the 3-star hotel. But more could be added to scrambled eggs, sausage, cereal. The hotel is located in a very noisy place. Life calms down only by early morning. Therefore, for people who prefer a quiet holiday with quiet nights, better look for another hotel. Overall, liked the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIAMIL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I recently went with 9 others and stayed in room 502.

Negatives: The room was like something out of the 70's. To be honest the room did not seem purpose built. There was a wall that divided the room and restricted access to one bed. The tv was one of those old cathode ray tubes with a remote that was taped together and didn't work. The bathroom was old and decrepit.

Positives: Location was amazing. Very central with good access.

My friends room which i think was 319 was amazing compared to mine. It looked like every hotel should and was in keeping with the sartorial contemporary look of the reception.

I did request a room change but they were unable to accommodate for some silly reason

Room Tip: 502 was bad 319 was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

A group of 10 of us stayed here over a weekend and after reading so many bad reviews I was nervous! When we got in our rooms we were all pleasantly surprised. The rooms we all had were fine. They are basic but comfortable and clean. The location of this hotel is perfect and I would stay here again. We only used the hotel as a base to sleep in, we were out all day and in the evenings so it was perfect for us. We stayed in room 214 and everything was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel has a good location, but that's about it. The building is old and needs a lot of improvement. The hallways are dirty, smelly, and disgusting. The first room they gave us had such a bad smell we forced them to change our room. The second room they gave us had a bathroom so cramped we had to sit sideways to use the toilet. So we had them change our room once again. The third room they gave us was more spacious but the décor was old and outdated with a tiny TV. The breakfast is cold bread, ham and cheese and coffee. The poor maids are dressed in oversized clothing as if they couldn't afford proper attire for them. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Champolote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#217 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#134 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#116 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#90 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#43 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#44 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borges Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borges Chiado

Property: Hotel Borges Chiado
Address: Rua Garrett 108 | Chiado - Lisboa, Lisbon 1200-205, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Borges Chiado 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lisbon's Chiado Square, the Hotel Borges has rooms with satellite TV and some feature a private balcony. Facilities include a tour desk. The Fado clubs of Bairro Alto are just a short walk away. The air-conditioned rooms of the Borges are decorated with floor-to-ceiling windows, carpeted floors and wood furniture. All rooms have a private bathroom. Guests can enjoy drinks and refreshments at the Borges Hotel's terrace. Room service is available as well. The Hotel Borges's front desk is open 24/7. The hotel also provides car rental, laundry facilities, and a ticket service. The Mario Viegas Theatre and the Museum of Chiado are situated within walking distance. Lisbon Airport is a 16-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Borges Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borges Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing