We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place &the best location ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Borges Chiado
Ranked #160 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A very nice hotel in the heart of Lisbon, near to metro station, and many beautiful churches. The hotel personal is also very king and helpful. Breakfast : cheese, ham, yogurt, musli, jam and croissants, breakfast is been served in an old beautiful hall that gives you a feeling of staying in palace

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Мария А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Some of the staff were very helpful and courteous, there were couple of them that needed a course in "HOSPITALITY 101". I was there for 11 nights, so I decided to ignore the rudeness of some and hoped that when I needed some info or advice, one of the most helpful would be at the front desk. I agree with all that's been said about the location, its great. Ride the Tram #28 right in front of the building, great tourist ride for 1.25 on the Via Viagem card. A very interesting and touristic kind of ride. Breakfast was good and lots of it. Remember this is included with the room rate, so its not a hot breakfast. Cheese, ham, bread, buns, pastries, coffee ( any way you like it) yoghurt, fresh fruit, juices, jams, cereals all served in a beautiful, ornate room, chandeliers and gilt and beautiful mouldings. My tv was a 10" model, definitly not flat screen, but
I didn't go to Lisbon to watch TV. I faced the Square and was very intrigued by all the comings and goings. Lots of good entertainment and some not so good, I was travelling solo and arrived late at night, so thought I had better use a taxi, as I did not know the city. Cost me 16 Euros and a tip. He seemed upset that he should have to drive a taxi late at night in the rain. Grumbled about everything. Obviously didn't like Tourists. On my way back to the airport 11 days later, I used my Via Viagem card and spent 1.25 euro and 40 minutes, one transfer, very easy to follow the coloured lines in this metro, The Vasco de Gama Shopping Centre at "Oriente metro stop" is very good and so is the Corte Ingles at San Sebastiao, I rode on all of the local big yellow buses for 1.25 a ride and saw everything. Stopped when I wanted to and wandered around everywhere. Took the train from Cais de Sodre Station to CaisCais - a very beautiful little picturesque fishing village, well worth wandering around and having lunchm then go to Sintra and to the Casino at Estoril. A lovely day. The heating in my room worked fro a few days and then gave up, but they send up a technician to fix it. Wonderful little area in the middle of everything - good restaurants and food fairs - all the food I ate in Lisbon was excellent. Try all the soups

The hotel room and the hotel itself was clean and I had more than I needed of clean sheets and towels. I can't complain for the price - it was terrific.

Room Tip: My room was 419 - and I was fine there, I liked watching and listening to what was happening in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24NJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel is definitely its location! Its situated superbly with restaurants and nightlife in the Baixa and Chiado areas nearby and walking distance to many of the tourist sites in the centre as well as to some of the good transport spots to go the airport, Belem etc.
The rooms are basic - what you need and not much more which can just as well be said for the bathroom which in addition is also incredibly small. Breakfast was nothing special but I think that's to be expected at budget hotels in Lisbon (at least that's what my guidebook said). All in all we were happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vangede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A taxi took me to this Hotel on request for a reasonably priced room. It was around £50.00 for the room thats not bad though in Portugal its not necessarily cheap either for a modest hotel.
You had to pay extra for Wifi, a five pound charge. This made me feel miserable when a busy hotel needs to do this to their customers. However, that might be the key, a busy Hotel in the centre of town doesn't need to appreciate individual custom perhaps. The Monday night staff, one in particular was more indifferent almost impatient when I asked for directions to the closest cash machine from the Hotel. After a tough day driving to a town I'm not familiar with this response was was depressing. The rooms were okay, strange shape, high ceiling, small bathroom. Id spent some nights in some friendly Hotels where the staff are really becoming, it really does make a difference when your travelling alone.

Room Tip: Move the beds around if you dare, the rooms are an awkward shape where you cant walk clearly around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in two different rooms: the first was excellent but the second was completely different. The first had air conditioner and modern decoration, the second had a broken air conditioner and the decoration was very old. It was like they belonged to completely different hotels. However, they were both clean. It is not a good option for people who can't sleep with noise from the street, but it is just right for those who enjoy a busy nightlife, there are restaurants and bars open till late hours, street musicians and artists everywhere and it is walking distance from nightclubs and many touristic attractions. There's a subway station at the corner.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the recently refurnished rooms (and on higher floors if you want to avoid the noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We arrived at this hotel right before Christmas, and met a nice lady in the reception. Warm welcome. The room was clean and big for two persons, and evet got a bathtub. The breakfast was not good, but the restaurants outside the hotel served cheap and good food. The staff was kind of helpful, but it would be better if they had smiled to us as well. All in all a hotel I recomend for everyone. It is perfectly located in sentral Lisbon!

Room Tip: Ask for 307 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margrethe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel has a great location just in Chiado and close to the metro and escalator to the Baixa. The decor is basic and we did not have breakfast in the hotel. Found a very nice bakery just 2 blocks away. Pick this hotel if you want at basic, but cheap, hotel with great location in Lisbon.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sorensenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#237 of 255 in Lisbon
533 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#47 of 255 in Lisbon
355 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Bairro Alto Hotel
Bairro Alto Hotel
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#94 of 255 in Lisbon
1,269 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#200 of 255 in Lisbon
225 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#129 of 255 in Lisbon
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borges Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borges Chiado

Address: Rua Garrett 108 | Chiado - Lisboa, Lisbon 1200-205, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £56 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Borges Chiado 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lisbon's Chiado Square, the Hotel Borges has rooms with satellite TV and some feature a private balcony. Facilities include a tour desk. The Fado clubs of Bairro Alto are just a short walk away. The air-conditioned rooms of the Borges are decorated with floor-to-ceiling windows, carpeted floors and wood furniture. All rooms have a private bathroom. Guests can enjoy drinks and refreshments at the Borges Hotel's terrace. Room service is available as well. The Hotel Borges's front desk is open 24/7. The hotel also provides car rental, laundry facilities, and a ticket service. The Mario Viegas Theatre and the Museum of Chiado are situated within walking distance. Lisbon Airport is a 16-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borges Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borges Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing