We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very decent hotel for tourist tours in Lisbon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turim Iberia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turim Iberia Hotel
Ranked #124 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very decent hotel for tourist tours in Lisbon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Location is adequate. Nothing special but fair enough. Rooms and furniture are appropriate. Bathrooms are large, very clean and functional. Hotel staff are caring and constructive. The only thing which is totally disturbing is monotonous breakfast (very narrow choice where few dishes are repetative such as scramble eggs, hot dogs, cereals...).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegaDex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    286
    87
    17
    13
See reviews for
93
268
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed for a 3 night city break in November. I'll start with the good:

Location - OK, so it isn't in the centre of the city sights, but it is literally just around the corner from the Campo Pequeno metro station. As an aside, the metro is a delight; clean, cheap, easy to use, safe. Getting around is no problem from here, and as stated in previous reviews of this hotel, the Aerobus stops just by the tube station and costs only €3.50.

Check in - Friendly and no fuss.

Rooms - Spotlessly clean, quiet (8th floor) the air-con actually works, nicely decorated (if a bit Spartan) and the beds were comfortable.

The bad:

Rooms - a couple of little niggles really, the plug had been removed from the bath which was unfortunate as after footslogging it up to and around the castle (more of which later) I really wanted to soak the aches away. The safe in the wardrobe was locked shut, but I didn't chase this up. I did ask for an iron and an ironing board that never materialised.

Wi-Fi - couldn't get my android phone to connect to it, no matter what I tried.

Bar service - arriving around lunchtime we just wanted a quick sandwich, the young lady behind the bar was demonstrably unimpressed to be asked to scare up a couple of sandwiches, a coffee and a sprite and the whole thing was delivered with terribly bad grace. Having been out for the evening and feeling thirsty we returned to the bar to find the same young lady 'serving', once again it was obvious that a request for two soft drinks was a huge inconvenience. I saw a couple of other guests receive similar treatment. It is little wonder that the bar area seemed consistently empty.

Breakfast - Was uniformly awful, terrible. The cereal was limited in the extreme, the scrambled egg was watery, bacon a travesty and the sausages best left without comment entirely. The bread seemed a little stale and the fruit had seen better days. My other half was scathing about the coffee (self operated vending machine) and the fruit juice was an injustice to both fruits and juices. The cost was included in the room rate for our deal, so even though we didn't pay extra for breakfast we had it only the once, seeking better options elsewhere.

A bit of local intelligence - A very friendly back street cafe/bar owner we got talking to reacted with horror when we asked which tram we needed for the castle. He said it was walkable - which it was although it is quite a hike - he said that many locals avoid the trams in that area of the town as they are supposedly alive with pickpockets.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I booked this hotel on the reviews here. The hotel was easy to get to from the airport with the aerobus outside the main terminal. This cost 3.50 euros for a card that was vaiid to use on the buses for 24 hours. We did not use this however as the metro system was easier. It was still cheaper than a taxi though. The hotel is located on a fairly busy avenue with lots of passing traffic but had good sound insulation and air con so this wasn't a problem. The room was decent enough with regular cleaning being undertaken. The wifi worked well for research on places to go. If you are tired and don't wish to stay out for the evening, don't depend on th television as the choice of channels was restricted. Breakfast was the usual european affair and I can concur with another review that the juice wasn't the best! There are plenty of restaurants and cafes within the vicinity and a small supermarket for provisions 2 streets away. Overall, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I believe the upper floors have better views and you will be further away from the street noise. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We chose this hotel based on positive reviews without knowing Lisbon pretty much at all. It was a decent choice, but if I go back, I will probably choose a hotel closer to all the nice bars, restaurants and sights.

Turim Iberia was clean and modern, for most parts. However, they advertise free wireless network (WiFi) which did not mostly function in our room on the 4th floor. In the lobby bar the WiFi connection worked fine almost every time I tried.

The room was quite small and with bad light, so I could not read very well. We didn't have a balcony which is indeed common in city hotels. The TV worked very badly.

The breakfast was OK, compared to what you usually get in Southern Europe. There was coffee (bad), many juices (bad), some cheese (the same all the week), a couple of saugages and chorizo, some ham, yoghurt, a couple of fruits and cerials.

There's the Campo Pequeno metro station just a 5 min walk away from the hotel, but otherwise Turim Iberia is quite far from the centre of Lisbon. By taxi, it usually cost us 5-8 euros to get to Alfama, Chiado or Bairro Alto, or about 10 euros to Belém. The taxi drive from the Lisbon was about 17 euros (of which 7 euros the driver charged for the luggage).

We took a taxi to almost everywhere, but one nice sight inside a walking distance is Museu Calouste Gulbenkian, about 700 metres west from the hotel.

There was usually almost nobody in the hotel bar at least during our stay in the beginning of October. And as there's not an outside terrace or anything like that, you will always want to go elsewhere to have your drinks before going to sleep. Thus I would not recommend this hotel for solo travellers.

The staff was mostly friendly, but did not speak English very well. And I'm a bit insulted two of their staff recommnded a very bad restaurante Grand`Elias which has got very bad reviews. We tried it, because we were tired after the trip and it was close to the hotel, but it was a horrible experience.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and on higher floors if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tero Lehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed at the Turim on a short weekend trip to Lisbon. The front desk staff were very efficient, and I have to say that throughout our 3 day stay they made us feel very welcome.
The room was very good, with a huge bed, soft pillows and good in room amenities.
The hotel is very close to Campo Pequenho, so you have a metro station just around the corner, a shopping centre with a good assortment of restaurants (and a supermarket).
This is definitely a good place to stay, it's not right in the centre of Lisbon, but it is very well connected.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank El_Josu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

The hotel is situated in a very calm area, close to Campo Pequeno subway station which makes it very convenient when you want to get to the city. From the airport it takes 10 minutes with the taxi which costs around 10-15 euros. Staff is very friendly. Rooms clean, actually there is nothing to complain about. Maybe the breakfast could vary a little bit because when staying for several days you may become really tired of getting all the time the same food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in higher floors, we had on 1 and we couldn't enjoy any nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saimala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Situated close to the Lisbon Bullring 'Campopequeno',with a metro station by the same name-the hotel is only 5 minutes walk away It is a very convenient location suitable for business or pleasure.The No/83 bus takes about 15 minutes from the airport. Buy your unlimited public transport ticket for 4 Euros per day at the Airport Post Office (upstairs)before catching the bus.Alternatively a taxi when we returned was only 12 Euros.
Rooms and bathrooms are modern,very clean and for a capital city a reasonable size.Breakfast was a simple buffet -cereals,pastries.breads,cheeses,ham amd jams etc.Scrambled eggs and frankfurters..nothing special, but perfectly adequate and a good start to a day of sight seeing.The only disappointment was that real fresh juice was extra and the one provided as part of the standard buffet was really more like sweet orange squash.Coffee and a selection of teas were available both for breakfast and in the room-but take your own teabags if you want English tea as theirs are herbal/fruit ones with no milk provided in the rooms.The restaurant and reception staff were all very helpful and attentive.Free wi-fi available,but charges are made for use of hotel computer off reception area.A welcome haven with a good night's sleep at the end of each day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbeyDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.7 mi away
Turim Alameda Hotel
Turim Alameda Hotel
#149 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turim Europa Hotel
Turim Europa Hotel
#119 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turim Lisboa Hotel
Turim Lisboa Hotel
#133 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
3k Barcelona Hotel
3k Barcelona Hotel
#136 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turim Saldanha Hotel
Turim Saldanha Hotel
#70 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#60 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Iberia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Iberia Hotel

Property: Turim Iberia Hotel
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro 160, Lisbon 1050-062, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#94 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Turim Iberia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Turim Iberia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Turim Iberia
Turim Iberia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing