We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The room is great, expect no more”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Turim Iberia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turim Iberia Hotel
Ranked #126 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Hendrik-Ido-Ambacht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The room is great, expect no more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We went to this hotel the first weekend of June, to view the beautiful city of Lisbon.
It was easy to find, since the hotel is well marked on the outside.
The situation of the hotel is not optimal, as the area is not really interesting for tourists. Nearby you have the bull fighting ring and shopping mall of Campo Pequeno. (We didn't see the ring though as we didn't want to enter... It really is ridiculous that bull fighting is still legal in such countries...)
The more important areas are very easily accessed through the metro system (more info below).
Check in was fairly quick with staff that was reasonably well proficient in English.
Rooms were very neat and properly furnished. The bath was a bit small, but manageable.
The air condition was also working just fine, which was already very helpful at the beginning of June.
The TV was another story though; the selection of channels was very slim and most channels had unstable streaming, so that a lot of times we were watching a black screen.
There is an internet corner or business corner as they call it. In this corner, there are PCs for internet access and a printer. Accessing the internet is not free. For 5 Euros you can surf on the internet for 15 minutes, for 7.50 Euros half an hour and for 10 Euros one hour

If you think about eating dinner at the hotel restaurant... DON'T! Really... DON'T eat at the restaurant!
We explored the center town of Lisbon and the nearby area of Belem, so naturally we were both starving and yet too tired to go out for dinner. We ended up trying the restaurant. I choose a hamburger, naturally a dish that can't really be screwed up. However, the burger was near undercooked and the French fries were so poor, they drooped down the minute you picked them of your plate. Of course, the oil was running all over the plate.
My girlfriend had the Mediterranean Fusili. What she got was a plate full of dry pasta, with some spare chunks of canned tuna and canned olives. There was no dressing or sauce on the dish. First she chipped a tooth on the pit in the olives, which could be forgivable. But soon thereafter she felt her stomach turn on the tuna. Needless to say, she ate half a dish and then felt nausea for the rest of the evening. We tried to explain (nicely) to the waitress that the food was horrible... she 'made her apologies' by giving one Coke for free.
The next day we were tired from a day out to Sintra, but we didn't think one second of eating in the hotel that evening. Instead, we went to the very nearby shopping mall at Campo Pequeno. In the center, there is a food court which supplies great food. Not just fast-food like the Burger King, but also decent semi-fast snack food, Mexican foods, sandwiches and pastas.
Do yourself a favor and consider that your last resort in such cases. You'll thank yourself later when you don't end up with food poisoning.

The sights we saw were of course the downtown area of Lisbon, with the castle of St. Jorge. Please don't buy those expensive tickets for the lift up the tower in the center. Instead, use your head to figuring out a route up the hill through the beautiful back-streets of Lisbon, since the plateau is accessible for free through those streets. The downtown area is best accessible through the metro system, just buy your day ticket for 5 euro's and you're set to go anywhere. It is also possible to buy multiple tickets in one go, so that you can plan your week(end)s public transport accordingly.
Ask for a town map at the reception desk of the hotel, this really is of great help when navigating the town and its public transport system.
Also, take the tram along the coastline to the nearby town of Belém for the Tower of Belém, but also the magnificent abbey of St. Jeromino.
Another site in Lisbon that needs to be seen is the Expo '98 grounds, east of metro station Orient. Make sure you visit the Oceanarium, which really is a great place to be on a hot afternoon.
A site we thought was possibly even more beautiful then Lisbon itself was the nearby town of Sintra. Just 40 minutes away from Lisbon by train, Sintra houses not only a magnificent town centre, but is also the home of two very impressive castles. One being a stone ruin of a Moorish castle, overlooking almost all of the Lisbon area (even into Lisbon itself on a clear day), and the other being a more 'modern' classical castle build with definite Romantic Moorish influences. Return tickets can be best bought at Rossio station (accessible through metro station Restaudore), for the ridiculously low price of 4.60 Euros per person. This is basically a must do!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArjanS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    288
    90
    18
    13
See reviews for
93
271
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bradford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel was suggested by a friend as being ideal for my arrival and departure on a short city-break. From the airport, take the shuttle bus, and it is only a couple of minutes easy walk from the second stop at campo pequeno. I left by train to Faro from Entrecampos rail station, an easy 5 minute walk.
Apart from the fantasy bull-ring at campo pequeno, there is nothing much to see in the area, but there are cafes, bars, and a food court at the big mall under the bull ring.
You can reach the centre in 15 minutes or less with one change on the metro system, which is clean, modern and easy to navigate. There are also direct buses with more variable journey times. The one day all-service ticket is exceptional value at 5 euros ( May 2012).

Reception and check-in was fast and friendly, and the staff helpful throughout my stay, with good info and arranging a late check-out.
The lobby, lounge/bar area and restaurant were very bright and modern, but still maintained
a sense of comfort and welcome.
The hot breakfast items were neither very tasty nor very hot, but the cold items were fine, and I liked the variety of pastries provided.
The bedroom had good sound-proofing and a good blackout curtain, and good a/c.
It was a smallish double for single occupancy, and was bright and tastefully modern. Everything was very comfortable. The bathroom was a decent size, with tub, good shower and also a bidet.
Everything gleamed like new, reflecting the overall high standard of cleanliness throughout.
The one minus in the room was the rather battered dark wood furniture used as desk - baggage stand etc. It seemed like the room had been recently refurbished, but they forgot to change it out for a new one.
Contrary to other reviewers I read, the bar staff were friendly when approached. However, the bar prices might explain the under utilisation of the facility, since the evening happy hour was closer to the prices in restaurants and nicer bars. ( The same applies to the business centre which charges 5 euros per 15 minutes for net access if you don't have your own laptop for wifi access. )
Overall a very pleasant stay at a very fair price, and I would certainly consider the hotel for my next visit to Lisbon.

Room Tip: You might get a bit of a view from the higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Turim Iberia is a nice hotel , close to metro station, with friendly staff,
and most of all clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryHagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel has everything it need to have without excelling in anything but still being above average. I do recommend it. It's very close to bus and metro, easy to get into town and only ten minutes away from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilSeriedipendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked 5 nights 10th Feb to 15th Feb 12; hotel is in a good location not far from airport or city centre. We were on the 9th floor our room was quite large and furnished appropriately and clear. Bathroom was large and very clean too.
Hotel staff were helpful and front desk staff speak English, so don’t be afraid to ask.
Room for improvement:
Food – in my opinion poor choice/quality, we paid 12 Euros each for Lasagne, which to our disappointment was microwaved, flat to the plate!! Salad or chips (fries) not included.
Breakfast was repetitive, but acceptable, bread, cakes, cheese, ham. The scramble eggs, hot dogs and bacon, was always cold, I did mention this, but to no avail.
Tea/Coffee making - only tea in room, they do not provide milk. I would suggest buying your own Tea Coffee, Milk, supermarket 2 minutes walk from hotel and reasonably priced.
TV - BBC world only English channel with a bad reception.
Free wifi in hotel, but they will charge you to use their Computer/Business centre, which is extremely slow so costs.
In spite of this, overall we had a good stay. :-)
Metro card is 50 cents, top up 5 Euros for 24 hours, excellent for getting around on bus, metro and tram. Go with change and don’t bother asking the women in the booth to help she won’t.
Campo Pequeno (Bull Ring) for takeout food, which is around the corner from hotel. Staff will point you in the right direction.
91 aerobus from airport, 2 stops cost 3 Euros 50 cents (Ave da Republicia) hotel is around the corner, 5 minutes walk.
Supermarket - three streets down from hotel - left from hotel on right side of the road.
Attractions: The Tower in the city centre, costs 5 Euros to go up, in my opinion this is a rip off. Walk up the stairs, take the left, walk to bottom of the street, then take the right walk a few feet up, entrance on left, and its free, unless you want to go one floor higher then the lift is for you. There a pizza place on 1st floor, but closes 3pm.

Room Tip: we were in room 906, double bed, not two singles pushed together :-). Room 902 beds pushed together...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreaming A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Location is ok but you will need to take a bus or taxi to the city center it is a little far away.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPKIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed 2 night at the Turim Iberia Hotel and I really enjoyed a lot. The hotel is well located half way to the airport (off peak hours only 7-10 m and 10 euros to the airport) but also very close to down town Lisbon. The metro is close by and the area is very quiet. The staff was very helpfull, the room was very confortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XAPECAJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.7 mi away
Turim Alameda Hotel
Turim Alameda Hotel
#151 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turim Europa Hotel
Turim Europa Hotel
#121 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.1 mi away
3k Barcelona Hotel
3k Barcelona Hotel
#141 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Turim Lisboa Hotel
Turim Lisboa Hotel
#125 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#64 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Iberia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Iberia Hotel

Property: Turim Iberia Hotel
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro 160, Lisbon 1050-062, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#95 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Turim Iberia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turim Iberia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Turim Iberia
Turim Iberia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing