We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
140
356
126
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
356
126
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews campo pequeno nice hotel bull ring metro station daily ticket lovely pastries gulbenkian museum traditional portuguese ham stayed at this hotel for nights hotel is located close to the airport yellow line city centre decent size nice breakfast room rate
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at Turim Iberia for two weeks. The location is excellent no matter if you have rented a car or not. For those who have a car, there are quite many public parking spaces just across the street and along the whole avenue. No fee is necessary between 19:00 and 09:00 as well as during weekends, which we found very convenient as we usually left for daily trips at around 09:00 and came back in the evening. Even if one pays for parking during 09-19, it is still less than the hotel's daily charge of €15. Those that do not have a car, Turim Iberia is just a 5' walk away from Metro (Campo Pequeno). Moreover, there are quite many restaurants, cafés, supermarkets and a pharmacy around, all in walking distance from the hotel.
The room was exactly what we needed with all necessary space, fully-functional A/C and a fairly large bathroom. It was cleaned daily and we could have fresh towels on demand. One minor negative point was that most of the time we could not avoid having water leaking from the tub to the bathroom's floor, besides the glass protecting panel.
Wi-Fi coverage in our room was average to poor. Using skype was quite problematic if we wanted to make video conversations. We found out that the coverage was much better close to the elevator, but standing at the corridor and talking over skype is not really optimal! If a hotel advertises "free Wi-Fi" (which is actually a plus when choosing hotel), they should be able to provide this service to all clients equally.
When it comes to having breakfast at Turim Iberia, we thought it was fairly good, more or less continental with lots of local pastry and cookies. We considered, though, €10/person as being a bit pricy for our budget, which was why we ended up eating breakfast at the hotel only once. Instead we preferred either fixing our own sandwiches (having a supermarket close by helps) or sitting at a nearby bakery (espresso, orange juice and cheese/ham sandwich for €2,50!)
Our biggest disappointment was actually the way we were met and treated by most of the staff at the reception. Our first impression upon arriving at the hotel was quite negative, as we were welcomed (or rather NOT welcomed) by a grudgy receptionist who limited the discussion to what was absolutely necessary. No signs of portuguese hospitality from that gentleman. As the days went by we noticed that noone (with very few exceptions) would say "good morning" or anything else to us when we were leaving or coming back to the hotel. Sometimes there would be other clients at the reception (and then we noticed that the receptionist was talking in another tone) and sometimes the receptionist was (or looked as if he/she was) very busy. In either case people should greet their clients or at least this is what he have experienced when travelling abroad to other countries. This situation was actually very frustrating for us and after giving it some thought we came up with the conclusion that this has to do either with the fact that not all of the staff was very comfortable with their skills in english (quite dumb explanation though) or with the fact that our sexual orientation is still considered peculiar/unacceptable/bothering for some of them! Quite sad if the latter holds true!
The last drop was when we checked out from Turim Iberia. The time was 06:00 in the morning and we wanted to pay for our breakfast and mini-bar charges and head to the airport. The receptionist on duty told us that there was also a charge for a local phone call. Although none of us had any recollection of calling from our room, we decided to pay for that without further discussion (after all it was only 26 cents and we wanted to be at the airport on time). Later on we checked the invoice and saw that the call in question was placed about a week BEFORE we actually arrived at the hotel!! It is very weird how both the computer system and the receptionist did not notice the date discrepancy.
All in all we thought we got a fairly good value for the money we paid for our stay at Turim Iberia, but we felt there is quite much space for improvement as far as the reception staff is concerned.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel last summer after visiting Madeira. The location is great, close to the metro station and you can easily get to all the attractions. Close to the airport but be careful with taxi drivers. Ours turned off the meter in front of the hotel and told us the price which was more expensive than average but I did't want to argue on my vacation.
The room and bathroom were clean and simple, we had no complaints. Unfortunately our room was facing the street which was fine during the night but in the morning we were disturbed by traffic noise. But there is a simple solution, shut the windows and turn on the air condition.
The breakfast was good, espacially the pancakes :)
There is a free wifi in the rooms with perfect connection.
We enjoyed our stay, Lisbon is beautiful, from Bairro Alto, Belem, Parque das Nacoes, Baixa, Alfama... can't wait to go again!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ApacheRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Staff were friendly and helpful, assisted us with printing etc when required, rooms were adequate size and very clean, the hotel is located nearby the Metro so easy to get into the city or around, they provided free and reliable wifi in rooms (which many hotels don't).

We read comments about the breakfast being poor, however, for $60Aud/night, we think that the breakfast provided was a bonus - although it was mediocre opt, it was better than nothing!!

Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melsy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We went to this hotel the first weekend of June, to view the beautiful city of Lisbon.
It was easy to find, since the hotel is well marked on the outside.
The situation of the hotel is not optimal, as the area is not really interesting for tourists. Nearby you have the bull fighting ring and shopping mall of Campo Pequeno. (We didn't see the ring though as we didn't want to enter... It really is ridiculous that bull fighting is still legal in such countries...)
The more important areas are very easily accessed through the metro system (more info below).
Check in was fairly quick with staff that was reasonably well proficient in English.
Rooms were very neat and properly furnished. The bath was a bit small, but manageable.
The air condition was also working just fine, which was already very helpful at the beginning of June.
The TV was another story though; the selection of channels was very slim and most channels had unstable streaming, so that a lot of times we were watching a black screen.
There is an internet corner or business corner as they call it. In this corner, there are PCs for internet access and a printer. Accessing the internet is not free. For 5 Euros you can surf on the internet for 15 minutes, for 7.50 Euros half an hour and for 10 Euros one hour

If you think about eating dinner at the hotel restaurant... DON'T! Really... DON'T eat at the restaurant!
We explored the center town of Lisbon and the nearby area of Belem, so naturally we were both starving and yet too tired to go out for dinner. We ended up trying the restaurant. I choose a hamburger, naturally a dish that can't really be screwed up. However, the burger was near undercooked and the French fries were so poor, they drooped down the minute you picked them of your plate. Of course, the oil was running all over the plate.
My girlfriend had the Mediterranean Fusili. What she got was a plate full of dry pasta, with some spare chunks of canned tuna and canned olives. There was no dressing or sauce on the dish. First she chipped a tooth on the pit in the olives, which could be forgivable. But soon thereafter she felt her stomach turn on the tuna. Needless to say, she ate half a dish and then felt nausea for the rest of the evening. We tried to explain (nicely) to the waitress that the food was horrible... she 'made her apologies' by giving one Coke for free.
The next day we were tired from a day out to Sintra, but we didn't think one second of eating in the hotel that evening. Instead, we went to the very nearby shopping mall at Campo Pequeno. In the center, there is a food court which supplies great food. Not just fast-food like the Burger King, but also decent semi-fast snack food, Mexican foods, sandwiches and pastas.
Do yourself a favor and consider that your last resort in such cases. You'll thank yourself later when you don't end up with food poisoning.

The sights we saw were of course the downtown area of Lisbon, with the castle of St. Jorge. Please don't buy those expensive tickets for the lift up the tower in the center. Instead, use your head to figuring out a route up the hill through the beautiful back-streets of Lisbon, since the plateau is accessible for free through those streets. The downtown area is best accessible through the metro system, just buy your day ticket for 5 euro's and you're set to go anywhere. It is also possible to buy multiple tickets in one go, so that you can plan your week(end)s public transport accordingly.
Ask for a town map at the reception desk of the hotel, this really is of great help when navigating the town and its public transport system.
Also, take the tram along the coastline to the nearby town of Belém for the Tower of Belém, but also the magnificent abbey of St. Jeromino.
Another site in Lisbon that needs to be seen is the Expo '98 grounds, east of metro station Orient. Make sure you visit the Oceanarium, which really is a great place to be on a hot afternoon.
A site we thought was possibly even more beautiful then Lisbon itself was the nearby town of Sintra. Just 40 minutes away from Lisbon by train, Sintra houses not only a magnificent town centre, but is also the home of two very impressive castles. One being a stone ruin of a Moorish castle, overlooking almost all of the Lisbon area (even into Lisbon itself on a clear day), and the other being a more 'modern' classical castle build with definite Romantic Moorish influences. Return tickets can be best bought at Rossio station (accessible through metro station Restaudore), for the ridiculously low price of 4.60 Euros per person. This is basically a must do!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ArjanS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel was suggested by a friend as being ideal for my arrival and departure on a short city-break. From the airport, take the shuttle bus, and it is only a couple of minutes easy walk from the second stop at campo pequeno. I left by train to Faro from Entrecampos rail station, an easy 5 minute walk.
Apart from the fantasy bull-ring at campo pequeno, there is nothing much to see in the area, but there are cafes, bars, and a food court at the big mall under the bull ring.
You can reach the centre in 15 minutes or less with one change on the metro system, which is clean, modern and easy to navigate. There are also direct buses with more variable journey times. The one day all-service ticket is exceptional value at 5 euros ( May 2012).

Reception and check-in was fast and friendly, and the staff helpful throughout my stay, with good info and arranging a late check-out.
The lobby, lounge/bar area and restaurant were very bright and modern, but still maintained
a sense of comfort and welcome.
The hot breakfast items were neither very tasty nor very hot, but the cold items were fine, and I liked the variety of pastries provided.
The bedroom had good sound-proofing and a good blackout curtain, and good a/c.
It was a smallish double for single occupancy, and was bright and tastefully modern. Everything was very comfortable. The bathroom was a decent size, with tub, good shower and also a bidet.
Everything gleamed like new, reflecting the overall high standard of cleanliness throughout.
The one minus in the room was the rather battered dark wood furniture used as desk - baggage stand etc. It seemed like the room had been recently refurbished, but they forgot to change it out for a new one.
Contrary to other reviewers I read, the bar staff were friendly when approached. However, the bar prices might explain the under utilisation of the facility, since the evening happy hour was closer to the prices in restaurants and nicer bars. ( The same applies to the business centre which charges 5 euros per 15 minutes for net access if you don't have your own laptop for wifi access. )
Overall a very pleasant stay at a very fair price, and I would certainly consider the hotel for my next visit to Lisbon.

Room Tip: You might get a bit of a view from the higher floor rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews