We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park
Ranked #105 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel was not welcoming. The reception area is very dark and when we asked for directions a special light had to be found in order to show us on the map. The corridors are long, dark and narrow, The rooms are painted black and very dark. Ours was very small for two people and only had one chair. The wardrobes are high off of the floor and so difficult to use for smaller people. The cleanliness of the room was poor. It needed a good dusting and vacuuming.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to share your thoughts with other travelers. Your feedback and comments are very important to us and allow us to make the necessary changes and take actions in order to improve ourselves.

We are very sorry to read that we failed to provide you an unforgettable experience that you should have deserved during your stay. Also, we are sorry to hear that you didn’t like the hotel’s design as well as its features, every guest has different opinions and we embrace that at its fullest.

Please feel free to contact me so that we can discuss your stay and we can improve for your next visit! I invite you to email me: goncalo.sousa@hilton.com and I will be delighted to personally return your message.


Yours sincerely,
Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

So modern I called the front desk to learn how to use the shower. The rooms are a box, space is utilized well. Black out and sheer shades work effectively. Minimal street noise. If you're shy around a mate/partner, the out in the open shower stalk will be a conversation starter...safe in room is provided, coffee in room for a fee. Abundance of bath products, while the aroma is just ok, very generous with supply. Nice thick towels and robes. No pool on site. The elevators can fit two people and luggage...maybe. Will I return? Not sure. I'll definitely talk about the hotel since it is "unique." Front desk staff very helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank VFF1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Located in the close proximity of the metro station Picoas, this fine hotel is easily and quickly accessible by metro from the Lisbon Airport. It is also conveniently located at a walking distance from main Lisbon attractions and the heart of its city center. Rooms are clean and comfortable with a simple modern designs with all necessary amenities. Staff are very helpful and kind. There is also a sweet surprise on arrival in the form of a warm chocolate chip cookie. Prices are reasonable too. In sum, staying here was a very nice and pleasant experience experience. I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon for business of pleasure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristiano_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The style of the interior is the different thing, with its contemporary layout, a mixture of bare concrete and black-and-white sleek material used for all interior including the rooms, but because of the lack of details, it also reveals the smell of poverty of modernity itself in visual experience. The corridor to the rooms looks like a secret laboratory of nowhere, slightly un-familiarizing, not on the comfy side. Location is OK but the neighbourhood is definitely not touristy.

On the good side, details are actually found in their service, like the freshly baked chocolate cookie welcoming you on your bedside table. The staff is very hospitable, polite and friendly, including those who speak good English at the reception and the maids who don't but responded quickly to our request to separate the double beds efficiently upon our arrival.

The window in our room is too small for enjoying the Portuguese autumn sun. Concrete bench is good to look at, matching the style of the minimalist room, but I feel no urge to relax on it. Someone said the big glass between the bathtub and the beds is one-sided but it's not, unless you use the toilet in darkness. My friend and myself are too embarrassed to use the facility inside until one of us is asleep. Breakfast is nice, comparing to some European countries where you can hardly find anything than croissant and coffee for vegetarian. There are good choices of bakery and some hot plates of vegetable. Nice fresh orange juice is served, impressively, and the caterer is generous to re-fill your glass again when you make a request.

Room Tip: Pay more for a bigger room, better with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWPanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Behind the classic 19th century exterior of this Lisbon hotel is the slinky ultra-modern eastern inspired hotel and rooms. Clean crisp and modern. The see through bathroom wall from the bed area, although only half of the wall and in dark gray glass made an interesting view for morning shower which was against this wall. Fun convient hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Andrew215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Hotel staff is excellent and very attentive - went out of their way to make arrangements for us, reservations for dinner and shows, etc. The hotel is clean and modern - great breakfast. Really good location too. The interior decor is a little strange all black and dark green and some of the rooms have clear view from the bedroom into the bathroom so no privacy. If you like to "go it alone" make sure and request a different type of room. Some rooms have nice little balconies. We definitely would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Shanalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel was over-designed with little consideration for ergonomics. The décor is black, which makes it difficult to see in, even with the lights on. The bathroom is stylish, but with a lot of sharp edges, and few places to grab when entering and exiting the tub. It is a difficult hotel to actually live in. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
#123 of 255 in Lisbon
2,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olissippo Saldanha
Olissippo Saldanha
#35 of 255 in Lisbon
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Lisbon
InterContinental Lisbon
#60 of 255 in Lisbon
1,296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
0.6 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park

Address: Rua Engenheiro Vieira da Silva 2, Lisbon 1050-105, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £82 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park hotel and enjoy a superb location in the heart of Lisbon, unique decor, modern business and leisure amenities and warm hospitality. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Set in the Saldanha area of Lisbon, this modern hotel is close to the historical city center, tourist attractions and commercial and shopping areas and offers easy access to stretches of sandy beaches, beautiful golf courses and Lisbon Airport. Every light and airy guest room at this distinctive Lisbon hotel features sleek decor and modern amenities, including a 26-inch LCD TV, work area and WiFi. Some of our guest rooms and suites also offer a balcony and sliding floor-to-ceiling windows. Hold an event for up to 400 people with 7 flexible meeting spaces, with the latest A/V equipment and direct access to the large interior car park. Listen to the soothing sound of waterfalls in the hotel's attractive interior courtyard, which features a winter garden. In the evening, this relaxed area comes alive with DJs playing laid-back, contemporary music in the chic Fontana Bar Lounge - the ideal place to rendezvous with friends over cocktails. Featuring striking black and fuchsia decor, Bonsai offers an intimate ambiance and Oriental fusion cuisine. Dine in Saldanha Mar, where Chef Paula Carcao has created a tempting Portuguese and Mediterranean-style menu, showcasing the finest fish and seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Park Lisbon
Hotel Fontana Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing