We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park
Ranked #105 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our room had issues with the blinds which was not only remedied quickly, but the maintenance man moved us to another room so that we would not have any further issues. The front desk staff were also personal and helpful with hints on restaurants and directions. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay the best.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 768michellev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

When you get to your floor the hallway is black - walls, doors, ceiling and dark carpet. If you told me vampires were hanging upside down in each room I would have believed. Then when you see your room it is very modern and takes some getting used to the glass wall between the room and shower. For a family this is odd. For the single businessperson, this makes total sense. We were a family sharing 2 rooms and had guests so they had to turn away when we were in the shower.

Breakfasts and service was great. Sleek look is cool.

Room Tip: wifi came with honors room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ZorroMerion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I rate this hotel three out of five stars because I hate its rooms.
All-black style and low lights in the bathroom, which make it almost impossible to shave in a proper way.

The shower has a semi-black glass separating it from the bedroom, so you will be seen by your room-mate when you take a shower: you may like it or not. In addition the shower design is such that the floor get easily wet and makes it dangerous.
Last but not least, the water closet is surrounded by mirrors, so you get yourself sitting in there all around on three sides. Again, you may like it or not. I don't.

The cabinet is dark and again with low lights.
The rooms’ corridor is oppressive and has no air conditioning.

Good breakfast for European standards, my US colleagues feel it a bit on the low side.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Virgilio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel in Lisbon at the beginning and end of our two week trip to southern Portugal and Spain.

First off our flight was delayed leaving Boston because of weather/ hurricane Arthur and we ended up missing one day in Lisbon. I had made reservations that were not refundable prior to 72 hours advance notice and made well in advance of our trip that I did not remember. When I tried to modify them I had to call the hotel directly. Thankfully the hotel was willing to alter this policy as we were still staying one night directly and the next in the Conrad Algarve as well as two nights at the end of our trip. Loved Lisbon and wished we hadn't missed a day of it!

Our first room was a quiet one on the third floor all the way at the end of the hallway facing the street. Upon our return at the end of our trip we had room 509 which is in the middle of the hallway facing the street but with the window partially blocked by the hotel's facade. Not a big issue but not something I would have chosen. This room did have more noticeable noise from next door neighbors. We did see the Sheraton from this room and airplanes approaching the airport - no noise from this though.

Both rooms were clean but dark as others have mentioned. Bathrooms took a little getting used to but manageable. Beds were a little on the firm side as well as the pillows. Plugs for electronics were available and next to the bed. TV had some English language channels and many others too. Internet was never a problem in either room. A/c worked well in both rooms, too.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was kind of the usual Hilton breakfast. They did have one nice addition - sunny side up eggs.

One problem - that was taken care of very nicely - was that our room was not made up when we came back from seeing the city at about 3 PM. I spoke to the hotel manager to voice our concern about this - which I don't usually do but it was the last day of our two week trip and we were really ready for our siesta before heading out again for out last night. He said he would take care of it and he did very nicely. Thank you... Overall the service was very accommodating and helpful. Checkin and checkout was done very quickly on both occasions.

It seems they are adding more rooms to the hotel with balconies. We walked down the side street to the little market and noticed on the way back more rooms being built. The side street is a nice quiet tree lined street. There was also some noise in the hotel from the work being done but I only noticed it in the lobby while we were waiting for our room to be made up.

Subway stops were nearby and the Saldinha red line station comes and goes directly to the airport. Walking with rolling suitcases was somewhat awkward because of the sidewalks but manageable. 24 hour Metro passes were 6 euro plus a 50 cent fee for the card bought at the airport Metro station. We kept the cards and used them again after buying another 24 hours when we returned to the city at the end of our trip. Definitely worthwhile if taking the trolleys. .

We rented our car at Europcar close by on AVDA ANTONIO AUGUSTO AGUIAR, 24 C/D to start our road trip and returned it there at the end of it after checking in to the hotel so we did not have to roll our suitcases again.

We enjoyed out stay here and would definitely return as I hope we do sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: End room was very quiet. Not sure what the rooms look over toward the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bostontravelnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

As a regular customer of Hilton group (Diamond VIP), I seek out the group's hotels when I travel.

On our recent trip to Lisbon, we chose to stay at the Doubletree Hilton. I would say that the property has both strengths and weaknesses.

(+) Good location - close to metro stations and away from the noise of the Barrio Alto

(+) In general, the staff are friendly and helpful. One exception: on one of the days, the breakfast room was staffed by trainees who didn't quite have the "message" down

(+) Sushi restaurant at the hotel was very yummy and worth trying

(+) Internet is fast and reliable

(-) Rooms - the decor is too minimalist and the shower/bathtub is not well designed. First, because it is not part of a separate area and so water can splash onto the black carpet in the room! Second, the "rain shower" head is great but there is no hand-held shower.

(-) Rooms 2 - pillows not comfortable and no apparent pillow menu offered.

(-) Rooms 3 - lighting is too dark - Especially in the WC.

(-) Breakfast- room can barely accommodate guests if the hotel is busy. Choice of food is not Hilton standard - no smoked salmon, no vegetables (tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers)

Thus overall, I would think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ravenna2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great location and personal service, with the private terrace room being light, well designed and comfortable. Modern furnishings and decor which provided a unique atmosphere to the hotel. We'd be happy to return when next in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 640alexanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I am not going to comment much on the "modern architecture" used in this hotel. That has been mentioned a lot. As far as the black hallways go, how often do you hang out in a hallway. The window between the bathtub/shower and the rest of the room was interesting, but we could deal with it.

The hotel is not downtown, but is in a convenient location. You can walk to the Marques de Pombal square where the Hop On/Hop Off Bus Tours leave from. It is a short walk to a Taxi Stand if you want to go downtown and taxis are very reasonable. We didn't use the Metro while we were in Lisbon, but it is close to the hotel.

My wife, eight-year-old daughter, and I stayed here for eight nights. I had requested a cot for my daughter which wasn't in the room. Once I mentioned to the downstairs counter, they very quickly remedied this.

The breakfast buffet options were very good with a range of hot and cold foods. The restaurant staff was very friendly and accommodating.

My only negative on the hotel was that the Wi-Fi service was very poor in our sixth floor room. Most of the time, we could not detect a signal. In the lobby, Wi-FI access was not a problem, but it would have been nice to have it in the room.

If or when we go back to Lisbon, I would almost definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EricFreehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G C S, Gerente geral at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear guest,

What an amzing feedback from your recent stay with us! I’m very glad that you enjoy our beautiful city and happier to read that you want return!
Please note we registered your evaluation regarding the Internet connection which was passed onto the respective department for action.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
#127 of 255 in Lisbon
2,366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
0.2 mi away
Olissippo Saldanha
Olissippo Saldanha
#38 of 255 in Lisbon
692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#138 of 255 in Lisbon
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park

Address: Rua Engenheiro Vieira da Silva 2, Lisbon 1050-105, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £77 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park hotel and enjoy a superb location in the heart of Lisbon, unique decor, modern business and leisure amenities and warm hospitality. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Set in the Saldanha area of Lisbon, this modern hotel is close to the historical city center, tourist attractions and commercial and shopping areas and offers easy access to stretches of sandy beaches, beautiful golf courses and Lisbon Airport. Every light and airy guest room at this distinctive Lisbon hotel features sleek decor and modern amenities, including a 26-inch LCD TV, work area and WiFi. Some of our guest rooms and suites also offer a balcony and sliding floor-to-ceiling windows. Hold an event for up to 400 people with 7 flexible meeting spaces, with the latest A/V equipment and direct access to the large interior car park. Listen to the soothing sound of waterfalls in the hotel's attractive interior courtyard, which features a winter garden. In the evening, this relaxed area comes alive with DJs playing laid-back, contemporary music in the chic Fontana Bar Lounge - the ideal place to rendezvous with friends over cocktails. Featuring striking black and fuchsia decor, Bonsai offers an intimate ambiance and Oriental fusion cuisine. Dine in Saldanha Mar, where Chef Paula Carcao has created a tempting Portuguese and Mediterranean-style menu, showcasing the finest fish and seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Park Lisbon
Hotel Fontana Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing