We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canteen style, top quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ribadouro

Ribadouro
Ranked #484 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Canteen style, top quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great value, always crowded, friendly service, probably the best fish and seafood you will eat, although they do also have meat on the menu. If you want it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pwarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    438
    191
    113
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Full of character!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We found this by chance,very close to our hotel. It is obviously a local favourite and extremely busy on the two nights we ate there. A very simple and unpretentious place, but unmissable for the quality of the fish and supremely efficient service. As someone else mentioned, it is not compulsory to eat the appetisers,as we pointed out to the waiter our crab allergy and he was happy to leave us with the bread etc. Prices depend on personal choice,as the fish is sold by weight and then prepared for each customer. On our two visits we tried tiger prawns,cod, shrimps served cold with mayo, and a dish of rice with lobster and prawns.All delicious!
I am astonished at the negative reviews from tourists of various nationalities and complaints at the cost. In Scotland where we are proud of our fish, this quality of seafood would cost a great deal more. We very much hope to return one day!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonzorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Keep on walking to Quebra Mar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our hotel desk recommended this restaurant as one of the best for seafood. Really nothing special from any perspective: inattentive staff, less than average food. Avoid and walk a few more minutes to Quebra Mar, 75 Avenuda da Liberdade.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claude_B15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very crowded, inattentive staff, poor food, very disappointing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We walked to this restaurant from our nearby hotel, looking forward to a great seafood meal. However, we were sorely disappointed! To begin with, the starters had been sitting out at other tables, making for a very unappetizing display, and were almost tossed onto our table by the waiter who practically was running from table to table, as he yelled back and forth to the kitchen. When we ordered, the waiter was disinterested almost to the point of rudeness. We waited a very long time for our entrees, which were small and not even warm when they finally arrived. Prices are very high, especially for what we received. This appears to be a restaurant focused on packing in as many diners as possible, in a very loud, almost frantic environment. We were very glad to leave!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood at a price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

If money were no object, I would give this restaurant 4 stars. I found the service adequate, not too attentive but not slow. For a starter, I had the crab soup. It was tasty and not too salty. For a main course, I had a whole crab that I was told was caught in local waters. It was simply prepared but very fresh. For drinks, I had a good local beer.

But, cost has to be taken into account. A cup of soup, a crab, and a beer brought my bill out to 52 Euros or around $72, in my opinion a little pricey. Bottom line, if you want fresh simply prepared seafood and money is no object, this place is for you. If money is a factor, you might consider going elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Middle_Aged_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ribadouro also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Ribadouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing