We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly Serge but be caution”
Review of Ribadouro

Ribadouro
Ranked #492 of 4,123 Restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly Serge but be caution”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I liked the waiter helped me sort the main dish of new types of fresh seafood. The prices for those which are prepared by him or come ready for eating- are very expensive (95 euros per Kg of Tiger shrimp).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    450
    198
    115
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not fancy, just good”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Just decided to walk out the door of the hotel to see what we could find. Not more than 100m down the street we found Ribadouro. Our timing was great (19:30) but I would recommend reservations as there was a line-up when we left around 20:30.
Had the Gambia - prawns, onions, potatoes and egg. Wonderful.
Helpful and witty waiter.

Helpful?
Thank Mathematica314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“VERY BUSY BUT GOOD SEAFOOD”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We were here on our last night (booked a table, good idea) and did not disappoint. Although they cater for all tastes, it is mainly a seafood restaurant. All choices, party of 4, we considered excellent. Our waiter was very good in spite of the pressure. At the end of the meal, we had to squeeze to get out due to the queue out into the street. If you like seafood, worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaytee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
512 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Bustling, vibrant restaurant”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We decided to go to this predominantly seafood restaurant. We arrived at 7:30 and just about managed to squeeze onto a table in the corner for four. As other customers were arriving they had to wait and queue to get a table. I would thoroughly recommend reserving a table in advance.
The selection of starters which were brought to the table were delicious, especially the crab mixture served in the shell. There was no need to order any starters from the menu after we had shared what we had been given.

The seafood selection is a sight to behold. Large tanks containing huge crabs and lobsters are situated around the restaurant. They are weighed and priced accordingly. They are priced by the kilo. We would have liked a platter of cooked shellfish. The waiter brought a platter to our table for us to see but at 106 Euros it was far too expensive. Two of us had a shellfish stew which we were rather disappointed with. There was a huge amount of prawns and not much else that we could find, so rather disappointing. My husband had veal which he said was delicious. Another member of our party had a pork dish with sauté potatoes which was huge. She failed to eat it all. In fact all the portions were very large.
Our waiter was very efficient and friendly. The bill was quite expensive but we did have 2.5 bottles of wine between us!! So not surprising really.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Their speciality is shellfish and it is the only thing I would suggest ordering as this did look good - shame I did not order this. After a passable, but not great, appetizer (crab soup) I was sorely disappointed by the cod fillet which was incredibly salty and served drowning in olive oil and with bones - I don't believe it was filleted. unfortunately unedible so sent it back and promptly left - still got charged in full though!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jazz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ribadouro also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Ribadouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing