We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Excellent location”
Review of 3k Barcelona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
3k Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #150 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Excellent location”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hotel is a nice, cosy, affordable hotel. Rooms are spot on and WiFi is also available, which is a must in this day and age. Ideal location as its near the Campo Pequeno metro station. The Bullring is also in walking distance, this has a cinema and shopping centre underneath it which is extremely handy. Staff were very friendly and highlighted on the map what to see and do in the city. All in all, I would return here again.

Room Tip: We got a double room with the king size beds and air con, was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    268
    153
    31
    19
See reviews for
79
249
46
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Hotel Barcelona in Lisbon is a nice, cozy hotel. While of an older construction, the rooms are nicely updated and comfortable. WiFi is included. The rooms are a bit small, but there are many quiet areas to relax. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Beds were typical of the area in that they were very firm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pfannenstielritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badajoz, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

LOCATION: In my view point, this location is really good. I always look for hotels in this area (close to Campo Pequeno metro station) since it is not far from the center and from the airport (by metro).

STAFF: They were friendly at any moment. I don't think after your stay at this hotel you can be disappointed in them.

BREAKFAST: It was quite good. In my view point there was a good variety.

ROOM: It was really clean. Absolutely no noise. As you can see in the pictures I have attached, it was coloured in blue (I love that colour) and big enough. Everything looked really new. There was background music.

BATHROOM: It was really clean as well. I had no windows in the bathroom, so I didn't have the problem some people comment about windows without curtains in the bathroom.

INTERNET: Actually there wasn't. It is supposed we have free internet at any point at the hotel, but actually wifi was sooooo bad that I couldn't get the signal from my laptop. In the hall it works perfectly, but honestly, it was quite sad that you see people sitting in the hall just to get signal and also, when i got my room, I saw people in the corridor holding their tablet pretending to get some signal. I really think the internet signal should be improved, and meanwhile don't consider you have internet at this hotel.

CONCLUSIONS: There are several hotels which are good near from each other, so, just decide based on the prize. In case you choose this one, you will be able to check that it is really good, so you won't have any bad surprise, and as I said before, take into account that you won't have internet unless you don't care about sitting in the hall (this is the reason why I am giving 4/5 and not 5/5)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanish85traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was in hotel for business trip in June 2013. First of all, I have to mention that the staff is very friendly and kind. Location of the hotel is perfect for business, as it is located in the business part of the Lisbon, but there is some distance to reach the city centre, 6 metro stations. Metro station is just 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. Hotel rooms are definitely outdated, and do not match 4 stars hotel standard, with even slightly damaged parts (sockets, tiles). But they are clean. Breakfast is standard, has everything needed, and I don't have any complaints on it. I have one more complaint, you have to pay 2 euros per day to use a safe deposit box. It's really nothing, but come on, why??

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPCroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

On the plus side, location of the hotel is perfect: about 300 m from Campo Pequeno metro station (yellow line) and about 800 m from Entre Campos suburban train station (ideal for visits to Sintra and Queluz palace). Gulbenkian Museum is about 500 m away. It wasn't too difficult to find a parking place in the nearby streets or even right in front of the hotel (the parking is free from 7 PM to 9 AM). Although the hotel is right under the corridor the planes are using when taking off or landing at Lisbon airport, their noise was barely noticable, even when the windows were open. Our room (405) was rather spacious. Hotel staff is very professional and polite (particulary Hugo the receptionist). In the lobby there is a public computer (the use of Internet was free of charge). The price of a double bed room (without breakfast) was 52 EUR/night when booked through www.booking.com .

On the minus side, complimentary toiletries are low quality. Breakfast is too expensive (8,5 EUR/person), but fortunately nearby there are Lidl (open till 9 PM) and Pingo Doce (in the shopping mall under the bull fighting arena at Campo Pequeno - open till 10 PM) supermakets - ideal for self catering.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carbo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqaba
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

rooms are spacious and location very good near a metro station. Not that many restaurants around so for some food you have to travel a little. But for the citytrip we did this was not a problem. All normal services are available, but will cost you extra as they are not included in the room price. Friendly personnel that speaks good english

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

More modern than others in this price range, and very clean. At first we stayed at another hotel with rooms that looked like a college dorm and the owners insisted on keeping the keys and letting you in each time. Oh, really? I'm sorry, but I know too much about human nature for that. We left and came here because a nice couple in a cafe recommended it (while we were grousing about the key thing). The staff could not have been better, and since it is located in the business district, you will have the surprise of a peaceful night's sleep even though you are right there in the city - that was brilliant!

Overall, when you look at the exotic beauty of Portugal, it will really surprise you that your visit can be so inexpensive. Budget flights touch down here starting at the end of October. Expect cheap (but luxurious-looking) semi-tropical winter sun, and very affordable vacationing overall. Before I get into raving about the gorgeousness of Portugal, and my favorite spots there, I'll start at the top with my pretrip economizing maneuvers. I like to get my best ticket price from trawling the internet, and then call the carriers myself and ask what their best deals are for the flight dates I have in mind - this is my standard approach to ticket bargains, and its been good to me. Rather than pay for two weeks of airport lot parking, I prefer to use hotel and parking packages which give you free vacation parking with one night's hotel stay; and I like Stay123's site for these. For telephone calls abroad, ask your cell provider if they have a travel plan, or just use video phone call apps (which you can find a list of by googling just that) for free phone calls, because hotels just plain charge too much for phone calls.

Originally I thought to use public transport for the entire trip (to keep expenses low) but soon realized this would not be practical for visiting many small towns. The car rental was $260 for 9 days, so very inexpensive. Gasoline was about $80 for a fill up. I put 3/4 of a tank in twice and it was 40 Euro each time. The car was an Ibiza compact.Please note that it is imperative that you completely fill the tank when returning the car. If you return it to the Lisbon airport there is a BP station within the airport (near the entrance/exit). There is a 30 Euro surcharge plus the cost of the gas to fill the tank if you return it less than full.

The Algarve, southern Portugal's balmy riviera, sees nothing but blue sky 300 days of the year. Admire the ocean views from the roof terrace at Dianamar, in the whitewashed old center of Albufeira, just a block from the beach. Rooms are simple, but all have private terraces, and the price includes a generous breakfast buffet and afternoon cake (doubles from $65). The most dramatic coastline is along the drive to the medieval fortress town of Lagos. (Cars can be rented for around $30 a day in Albufeira; book online with companies like Europcar.) Between Praia de Dona Ana and Porto do Mós, the cliffs have been broken by the wind and sea into jagged rock formations pierced by blowholes and grottoes. Secret half-moon bays of golden sand lie hidden from view from all but the ocean. An hour beyond Lagos is Europe's southwesternmost point: Cabo São Vicente, a cape whose plunging cliffs are dotted with crumbling medieval churches and castles. More than 500 years ago, Portuguese sailing ships left to explore the world from these shores. There's great hiking in the fragrant pine woods and peach orchards less than 20 miles inland, around the spa town of Monchique—a cluster of tiny houses and 18th-century mansions tumbling down a steep, wooded valley. The trail up to the Picota peak has magnificent views out over the coast all the way to the cape.

Families from Lisbon take weekends on the beaches of Cascais, less than 20 miles from the capital. There they jostle for space on three broad, short beaches and wander, ice cream in hand, along the ocean esplanade or the clusters of narrow streets crowded around the town's imposing fort. For wilder, lonelier sand, head to Guincho, four miles west. This sweeping, gently curved shoreline is pounded by some of the best surf in the eastern Atlantic. An almost constant wind makes for superb windsurfing; a world championship is hosted here most Augusts. But watch out for those rips and prepare for cold water. There is also my secret spot ; wonderful Comporta, a village on the Tróia peninsula, a 13-mile long sandy spit in the north of Portugal's Alentejo region. It sits at the heel of the peninsula, at the southern end of the wide Sado estuary, sandwiched between dense forest and the Atlantic. The village is lovely and has affordable places to stay.

I turn right off the road that runs south from the ferry dock and the car lurches from pothole to crater for half a mile until, out of the blue, there appears an organised car park, with marked bays and shady canopies. I stroll along the wooden boardwalk and before me is a sizzling hot beach resplendent with palm umbrellas, sun loungers and two beach cafes, where people lie on hot-pink bean bags, nodding to chilled-out tunes. The Atlantic sparkles, and foamy waves break hard on the shore.


Comporta is like Ibiza, but prettier, cheaper, more serene. A hip little village on Portugal's Troia peninsula, it reminds me of the White Isle, but with low prices and no crowds. An hour south of Lisbon, and 12 miles west of the main A2 highway that directs the sun-seeking crowds to the Algarve, is a stretch of very white sand. First there's hardly a soul about. Comporta is a village on the Tróia peninsula, a 13-mile long sandy spit in the north of Portugal's Alentejo region. It sits at the heel of the peninsula, at the southern end of the wide Sado estuary, sandwiched between dense forest and the Atlantic. The village is lovely and has affordable places to stay.

I turn right off the road that runs south from the ferry dock and the car lurches from pothole to crater for half a mile until, out of the blue, there appears an organised car park, with marked bays and shady canopies.I stroll along the wooden boardwalk and feel as if I've stumbled on to the White Isle. Before me is a sizzling hot beach resplendent with palm umbrellas, sun loungers and two beach cafes, where people lie on hot-pink bean bags, nodding to chilled-out tunes. The Atlantic sparkles, and foamy waves break hard on the shore.At a beach lounge and restaurant specialties include pastéis de bacalhau (salt-cod fishcakes) and amêijoas a bulhão pato (clams in a garlicky broth), and I get into the laid-back groove with a yummy caipirosca. A stylish crowd hangs out at restored fishermen's cottages on the waterways behind the village, yet I find a reasonable apartment for €61 a night (yes, I said apartment). Early the next day I take to the beach on horseback, on a former polo pony who prances across the dunes and canters through the waves. Totally alone, I feel like I'm staging a Foreign Legion desert escape.

Comporta has been found only by a knowing few, but it is about to become less of a secret, sadly. The 12,500-hectare estate is to be developed, with five hotels, though it is claimed all will be low-density and architecturally sensitive.For now it is quiet. On a Sunday in mid-June the ferry that crosses the Sado estuary from Setubal once an hour is only a third full. The passengers included locals popping to the beach for a picnic, a few Lisbonites and the odd foreign tourist. All was peaceful, until the two dozen passengers rushed en masse to the side of the boat to watch two bottlenose dolphins. Not far away, Lisbon spreads in terra-cotta and cobblestone over seven hills, staring out over the Tagus River to the shimmering Atlantic. A rugged Moorish castle tops the skyline, and the streets are lined with baroque churches and Gaudíesque art nouveau buildings. Allow at least three days for a first visit, and make time for the Mosteiro dos Jerónimos. Extravagantly decorated doorways lead through long cloisters to a church supported by pillars adorned with stone ropes and coils of faux seaweed. These rise to a fan-vaulted ceiling whose thousands of tons of stone somehow look light and airy

Finish your day with a late afternoon's wander around the narrow, cobbled streets of the Bairro Alto neighborhood on a cliff overlooking the 18th-century city center. There's a pretty medieval square or a magnificent church at every turn. The most beautiful is the Igreja de São Roque, whose simple exterior hides what was said at the time to be the most expensive chapel ever built—a feast of rich gold work and beguilingly complex mosaics of lapus lazuli, ivory, agate, and precious metals. Built in Rome in 1742, it was blessed by the Pope before being transported in its entirety to Lisbon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel 3K Madrid
Hotel 3K Madrid
#165 of 248 in Lisbon
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alif Hotel
Alif Hotel
#167 of 248 in Lisbon
548 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel A. S. Lisboa
Hotel A. S. Lisboa
#153 of 248 in Lisbon
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#162 of 248 in Lisbon
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#71 of 248 in Lisbon
739 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3k Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3k Barcelona Hotel

Property: 3k Barcelona Hotel
Address: Rua Laura Alves 10, Lisbon 1050-138, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 3k Barcelona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3kBarcelona is a cosy hotel located next to Campo Pequeno Bullfight Arena and near the Museum Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation. Stays only at 10 minutes from the Lisbon International Airport and from Lisbon Historic Centre, is served by a vast network of public transports such as metro, bus and trains, taxi. For business or leisure stays, the Hotel has 125 rooms (120 Twins + Doubles and Single and 5 suites), all equipped with hair dryer, Cable TV, Minibar, double-glazed windows, air conditioning; 2 handicapped rooms; non-smoking and smoking floors; meeting rooms, Wi-Fi Internet, Room Service and laundry and other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your 3k Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing