We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of Ze Varunca

Ze Varunca
Ranked #2,545 of 4,149 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: US$15 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This is my 2nd time here as a tourist to Lisbon. This time for lunch and the food is very good albeit a bit expensive for a simple lunch. The portion size I noticed is smaller than when I went for dinner but I guess that's expected. Family run restaurant which is always a plus!

Anything is better than the tourist themed restaurants not far from this place.

Book in advance if you can as it's really small.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    57
    26
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
335 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“rude”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Small place, maybe 10 tables, so we knew that we might not be able to get a table. A couple of tables with people, a couple of tables with 'reserved' signs, so I ask the server/host for a table for 4, and she spits out "NO" accompanied by a cutting motion with her hands.

Thanks for the heads up on how you treat customers. We were happy to walk out, and have a lovely evening at the nearby Quebra Mar restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is the real, proper Lisbon. It's exactly right.”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Ze Varunca is very small, very traditional and very good.

It's old-fashioned in all the right ways - simple, delicious food, charming atmosphere and friendly service. The staff don't speak English and the dishes are all local / Alentejo fare. You just have to muddle through - it's worth it. I tried English, French and Italian. No go there but I had a wonderful evening.

If you want modern, glossy and fashionable, don't go here. Tourists get a warm welcome but it seems set up for locals. That's a major plus for me though.

Amazing starters, all quite heavy hearty stuff. We had 5 (!) and enjoyed them all. You pick what you want and pay for what you take.  

Definitely get coffee - the way it's served is so cool. You will never have had it presented to you as they do here.

Drinks after dinner? Choose blindly from the list - you'll get something unexpected and fab.

This place is the real, proper Lisbon. It's exactly right.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do have a coffee!”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is not a romantic restaurant, but it's rather cosy and small. We weren't that hungry so we didn't eat all the tapas the friendly waiter put in front of us. If you don't know yet: these treats don't come for free! We did eat the little quail's eggs though, and they were delicious. The main dishes were classic Alentjo dishes: pork with clams, and duck rice. Both were raher tasty, but we missed some vegetables. We should have ordered those seperately I guess. For dessert we had the house specialty, some kind of almond pudding in a big pot with a wooden spoon. The coffee is something special too: it is served on a yellow painted ceramic tray with some matching glass vials that contain different kinds of sugar and cinnamon sticks. A treat, and not expensive at all.

Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant.”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The staff were delightful and I was so happy to find the black pork on the menu. Excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ze Varunca also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Ze Varunca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing