We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Celebration”
Review of Em Alta Na Baixa

Em Alta Na Baixa
Reserve with
Em Alta Na Baixa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 5,122 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Neighbourhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

The location of this Restaurant was particularly good as we were staying in the Rossio area, only took 10 mins to walk there. We were greeted by the Maitre’d who seated us outside on a lovely warm evening. The inside looked very good as well. The service was attentive without feeling rushed unlike our night before in another restaurant. We had tuna tartare, which was very flavorsome, and was a good portion to be shared for two. Followed that with Black Pork with Sweet Potato mash and salad. Again the flavors were most enjoyable. Rested a bit before my choice of pudding ... fresh Raspberry mousse, with a chocolate crumb topping and some basil. Heaven!! All the dishes I saw being served to various tables were well presented. The night ended with a surprise glass of bubbly. Made our night special. ❤️

Thank AlgarveMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayo T, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Em Alta Na Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hello,
Thank you so much for taking your time to give us feedback! Customers like you make all of our efforts be worth it!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

We sat outside, and really were just looking for a place to have a drink and find some shade. This was such a great surprise, the food was very good (the pastry oh wow) and the service was great too--thank you Mou and everyone. Helped us with wifi too--as we needed to check in on the homefront. Want to go back for a full dinner!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayo T, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Em Alta Na Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hello,
We are glad you enjoyed both our restaurant and our food! Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again next time you visit us!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

This busy restaurant is close to the shops and the Baixa area.
It has a friendly and welcoming staff with indoor and outdoor seating. Mou helped us with our choices and gave very good service.
We had the prawns with garlic starter which were sweet and juicy with coriander, a herb sauce with a hint of chilli. We enjoyed a plate between two & this gave us 6 large delicious prawns each.
For mains the chicken breast supreme was tasty but the vegetables were oily and disappointing. The shrimp acorda was served in bread with a fresh hens egg yoke. It was enjoyable, but lacked depth of flavour.
There is a range of wines, beers and cocktails at reasonable prices The house red by the glass was fruity, generous and smooth.
Nice clean toilets with perfumed candles. Always a bonus.
Overall a good restaurant, at reasonable prices if you choose the right Portuguese dishes.
Recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayo T, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Em Alta Na Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback; we're glad to hear that our restaurant met all of your expectations! We hope to offer you an even better service on your next visit.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We dined twice in the same week! The food was presented with flair, the service was excellent and food was memorable. I highly recommend the garlic and shrimp appetizer that we shared followed by the salmon. Desert......Raspberry Cheesecake, light and flavorful A great dining experience.

Thank Pauld886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayo T, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Em Alta Na Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hello,
Thank you so much for taking your time to give us feedback! Customers like you make all of our efforts be worth it!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Great restaurant! Excellent food! Excellent service! Great prices! Thank you Mow and Roberto for the best experience!

Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayo T, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Em Alta Na Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hello,
Thank you so much for taking your time to give us feedback! Customers like you make all of our efforts be worth it!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Em Alta Na Baixa also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Em Alta Na Baixa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing