We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great ”

Casa Portuguesa do Pastel de Bacalhau
Ranked #15 of 34 Quick Bites in Lisbon
Neighbourhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Good concept: the place only serves cod croquettes in two versions: with or without cheese. there is very little cod in the croquettes, almost all potatoes. For the price of 4 EUR each which in Portugal is very expensive, you get tourist food: a good brand and very little quality. For half the price you will eat the same croquettes in nice restaurants, prepared by chefs, of a much higher quality. We found several ones around town, and have elected our favourite in a restaurant in Cascais.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank butterfly3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018

We passed here a few times and it was always packed, so we decided to stop and have the "cod fishcake" with cheese and without it, I should have read some of the reviews before we decided to buy 2 of each (4 euro per cod cake), it was bland and yes definitely salty. I am surprised as to how salty it was and for the price you would expect it to have a great taste. I never had the cheese one but my friend said it was nothing special and she would not have it again. I am sure you could buy one of these somewhere else for cheaper and maybe tastier.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vebs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

The pastels looked good, but they are not.
They are expensive and dry inside. The only good thing was the cheese inside the pastel.
I will not come here again.

As it is located in the Paca of Commercio everything is expensive, small beer 4€ and something.
Better to ho to a secondary street and enjoy a super bock for 1€ and eat anything local, no need to be a famous croquette.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank N2101BXolgap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

those litle delicassy are waiting for you with a glass of madeira wine and its so delicious for fish lover only

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank tylkopolska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Well, it is probably too late and you already ate in this tourist trap like we did, but if you are lucky enough to read this in advance, don’t eat here. Was it salty. Yes. Was the cheese bland and tasteless? Yes. Was the cod very fishy and stringy? Yes. Are we glad we only ordered one for the two of us? Yes. Are we sure we will never go back and eat this again? Yes. Save your euros and your calories and eat anything else but this.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Portuguesa do Pastel de Bacalhau also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Casa Portuguesa do Pastel de Bacalhau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing