We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 20:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience More Lisbon
from US$24.30
More Info
from US$56.60
More Info
from US$24.30
More Info
from US$45.10
More Info
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his knowledge food tour walking tour paulo arch culture alfama city guide
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Our guide, Paulo, took us on an introductory tour of the city, encompassing the Baixa, Chiado and Alfama neighbourhoods. We saw many interesting historical and archeological sites, all the while hearing about the history of the city from the Carthaginians through to the present day, and the cultural influences of Portuguese colonialism. Paulo’s knowledge seemed inexhaustible. He gave us tips on places to visit (and not to visit) and on places to eat, which we found very useful in the remaining days of our visit (and hopefully the next). Mid-tour, we sat in the Largo do Carmo, discussing the Carnation Revolution over coffee and finally, we wound our way down through the intricate streets of old Lisbon, amongst preparations for the feast of St Antony, glimpsing great views of the city. At the end of the tour, we couldn’t believe that so much time had passed and realised that Paolo had significantly overrun his time. The tour was fascinating. We have done several walking tours of European cities, finding them the best way to get our bearings. This one was up there among the best.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Owner at More Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback! It was a pleasure spending the morning with you and I'm glad that you enjoyed our Discover Lisbon Waking Tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Fantastic tour, so much interesting history and the way it was tied to food was fascinating. The tour guide, Paulo was extremely knowledgable. Highly recommend it.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Oferguetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo D, Proprietário at More Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure spending the afternoon with you and I'm glad that you enjoyed our Taste Lisbon Waking Tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were guided by Paulo on the 'explore Lisbon' tour today.

It was our first day here, and Paulo met us under the arch at the end of the main street in the baixa, not far from the waterfront. We talked about what we wanted out of the tour, how long we were staying in the city etc, and I believe Paulo was tailoring the experience to meet our desires.

As we wandered from the baixa up through the old town of Alfama, Paulo gave us a run down of the city's trading and religious history, an appreciation of the recent changes the city has made to help generate growth, and even clued us up on house prices and cultural insights about why people eating late.

We saw parks and cathedrals, palaces, markets and even hidden, unknown spots with amazing views that we could never have stumbled on without his knowledge of his city. Clearly he knew his stuff and had a passion for this place you could almost taste.

We took our time, walked at our own pace, stopped and asked questions when we had them, (which Paulo dutifully answered; a discussion on the origins of tea and marmalade was particularly thorough and interesting), and nearly 4 hours later we finished the tour close to where we started, full of enthusiasm to revisit places of particular interest later in the day.

Throughout the day Paulo recommended places to eat, swim, travel, shop and listen to fado. We've fallen in love with this city immediately, and it's in no small part thanks to this tour.

As it says on the website, the best way to explore Lisbon is by foot, and we went to places and had time to digest this city that we never would have got driving or being on a tuk tuk. Would 100% recommend to anyone visiting here. Thanks Paulo!

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank BrendonHathaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

This is a new company which i thought I would try. the guide was excellent. engaging and knowledgeable and clearly loves the city he is showing. the commentary was relaxed and informal but at the same time full of interesting snippets which brought the city to life. I wanted to get a feel for the city and this tour takes you to the main attractions but also to places which I would not have found. Alfama being one of them. I loved that area. It felt very atmospheric and Paolo's commentary added to the experience.
If you enjoy walking tours and getting to know a city then this is the company you should go to. Ask for Paolo you will not be disappointed. the gourmet tour is also something you should experience. We tried this after the first one to do something different and we left fully satisfied in more ways than one! Give it a go!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank YazzaRui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews