We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, beautiful bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VIP Grand Lisboa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #186 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent service, beautiful bathroom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Quiet hotel and calm neighborhood, even if on a relatively busy street. We stayed here one night, due to unavailable rooms at Zenit Hotel, at the same rate of €100.
VIP Grand is modern, glass, metal, strange orange and blue lights outside and yellow/black inside, an atmosphere rather cold, tech-like but interesting. Large lobby, bar area. Hotel for business people mostly.
It is located a few kilometers away from the airport, from Oceanario and Centro Vasco Da Gama (the big mall), and a little further from port and main attractions, but in a relatively small city this is not a problem. Campo Pequeno Shopping Centre, metro, airport bus and bus station, all are 3-5min away. We used the Aerobus tickets on all other public transport that day. On the left side of the shopping centre there is a sightseeing bus stop.
Our twin room on the 11th floor was nice, clean and bright. We could see over most buildings around. Loved the stylish bathroom, with excellent showers, weird bath tub (while showering the drainage can be better).
Best toiletries we had of all three hotels we stayed in this Portugal holiday!
Bedroom smallish, with a comfortable bed, no side tables, only a small round table (and an armchair as a sitting area). Electric kettle. Good storage space. Automated blinds on window and the glass wall between room and shower/bath tub. Flat screen TV.
Breakfast is too expensive at €20. We did not go to the pool, spa, fitness centre, hairdresser or restaurant, so cannot comment on these.
Helpful, professional and polite front desk staff (and I was so upset for the time-wasting relocation from Zenit to VIP Grand!).
There is a building site just across the street. No noise, but not a nice view if you get a lower floor room.
My only complain - there is no free internet (no Wi-Fi). Cabled internet is €3/hour, €5/2hours and so on.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owlVIRGIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    306
    227
    106
    67
See reviews for
78
401
50
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The hotel has a good situation, really close to subway and train station. Is a new hotel, so has a modern rooms, very confortable and clean (the bath is cool, like a aquarium). But the more intesting is the price!!! I think it had the best price of a 5* in the world.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gitinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We go for city-breaks on average 8-10 times a year. This was the first time I felt compelled writing a (largely negative) review. Upon arrival we were told that the room with double-bed was not available and we were put into room with two single beds -- no apology, etc was offered. Two single beds turned out to be two loose matrazes ... After first night we recalled initial promise to get the room we actually booked for the second night. It took another three calls with reception until we finally got the room (however, despite this being a 5 star, we had to move our luggage across 7floors)...

Regretfully, this was only the minor incident. When we arrived on the second night at the Hotel restaurant, we were told that no table was available and that no reservation could be made anymore. We were offered to wait for free table in adjacent bar area around the corner, however, staff told us they could not inform us whether/wen a table would become available.

We thus decided to order 2 sandwiches and 1 plain toast at the bar, together with some drinks. Bar staff was completely overwhelmed. Cocktails arrived late, without any ice, garnishment (contrary to previous night, in the bar of a 5 star hotel). After one hour of waiting we asked about our food order, staff then came back to tell us that one of the dishes ordered was not available and, due to that, no dish had been prepared at all.. After another 30-40 of wait, we had to walk up to the bar to insist voicefully on (at least) getting the plain toasts (... we are still in the bar of a 5 star hotel). Remaining orders for 2 simple sandwiches then arrived after a total wait of 2(!) hours and various discussions with staff in between -- you can imagine the mood was brilliant. We then asked staff to inform managment and to let us know the next morning whether this is how VIP Grand treats its guests. Upon check-out, reception did however did not raise the issue (either of ignorance or since they were not bothered). At that time we just decided to get out of the hotel and never come back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Procedure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Very nice and clean rooms not that spacious though and without view at all. Fantastic bathroom! Very good breakfast, nice staff, luck of english some of them! Expensive parking (25 euros), sauna (60 euros) and room service (1 burger 26 euros!!!). It is for sure a luxury hotel but to give us a cable in order to have the non-free(!) wi-fi is bad news... The cable never worked....!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleni24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Very good breakfast, nice rooms, have some problem while trying to get coffee bags for the room, except from this reception people were very efficient, charging for wireless intenet

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DAG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

This is a great hotel to stay in Lisbon if you are prepared to take the metro to go to the center of Lisbon.
The rooms have a good size, super trendy and totally sound proof.
The breakfast buffet is great.
If you stay there, check out the pool - a nice way to relax after a long day of walking around the city.
There is also a big shopping center close by.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bionix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Had to change the room 3 times in only one evening beause of bad conditions on the bathroom. The staff was graet because they came fast to see what was wrong and to give me a new room, , but the sad thing was that they gave me just another room with bad conditions..So I would not trust this hotel anymore..4 rooms in only one floor with bad conditions!! Some of my family in another room had problems to open the bathroom door..but they survived that. 5 rooms.. in one floor with problem in the bathroom...My problem was that I could not use the tube in the first, and in the two others i could not use the sink and one of the rooms had a strong bad smell..
And there was no discount for the troubles it caused me..just the normal " send us an email...".Because the manager was not at work!!( I had to go early to the airport the day after..)
Sad the ( friendly and helpfull) staff was not given more trust from their manager to do a good job. And give a good impression..

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.4 mi away
VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Real Palacio
Hotel Real Palacio
#86 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#43 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#38 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Grand Lisboa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Grand Lisboa Hotel & Spa

Property: VIP Grand Lisboa Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro 197, Lisbon 1050-054, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#121 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — VIP Grand Lisboa Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that, for many years, was the head-office of Portuguese National Television has been converted into a modern 5-star hotel. Located between the historical area and the business centre of Lisbon, in VIP Grand Lisboa Hotel & SPA you will find the widest range of services, at the highest level. At this Hotel, with a total of 295 rooms, including 31 Suites, you can enjoy the relaxing ambience, surrounded by state-of-the-art equipments and panoramic views over the city of Lisbon. Decorated in a cosy and modern way, in this Hotel you will be able to enjoy all the comfort and services of a 5 star hotel, namely: the Cenário restaurant, the Press Club bar, and an outdoor swimming pool (seasonal: from May to September). The Hotel has also private parking and Wireless Internet access. It is also possible to enjoy the SPA & Wellness Centre that will make you feel renewed. The SPA is managed by Lucia Piloto and its services and treatments are subject to an extra cost. Dear Guests, The VIP Grand Lisboa Hotel & SPA regrets to inform that the SPA and the Gym will be closed, for maintenance works, between the 9th and 23rd August 2015. The hotel apologises for the inconvenience and thank for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Grand Lisboa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Grand Lisboa Hotel And Spa
Vip Grand Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Vip Grand Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing