We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unhurried and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta dos Machados
Ranked #1 of 3 Mafra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally unhurried and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The owners, staff and surroundings at Quinta Dos Machados make every trip and return visit worthwhile. The spa and Cantinhos are superb value for money. If you want to visit the west coast of Portugal above Lisbon check out this venue and make it your base for your visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbart4161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    31
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
56
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for one night and had a lovely stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very good. The bed was a little hard, but it didn't affect our sleep. For breakfast there was a large choice of cold plates, cereals, etc with freshly made scrambled eggs.
The photos of the Quinta don't do it justice, it is beautiful and is very easy to find. A very relaxing stay and I would highly recommend it. Great location for exploring Lisbon, Sintra, Mafra and the Iberian Wolf Sanctuary.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights with a large group of friends, the night before and after our wedding at another Quinta nearby, and it was perfect for the job. Quinta dos Machados has been attractively restored and is well maintained, with a particularly nice pool area. We had an apartment for five people, attractively decorated and furnished in traditional Portuguese style, very clean, spoilt only (but hardly at all) by a slightly odd smell emanating from a corner of the bathroom. The apartment had a kitchen enabling self-catering, although no toaster, and from what other guests told me I don't know if the breakfast was worth paying for, certainly not when there is a great café nearby in the charming town of Gradil. The team at QdosM put on a wonderful private four course buffet dinner for our group of 40 friends the night before our wedding, very reasonably priced, very good quality food and wine, attentive and very willing service, in the attractive dining room of the restaurant, and this was a big hit with our whole group as well as a lovely start to our celebrations. I didn't sleep at QdeM the night before the wedding but I did the night after - lovely cotton sheets, very cool, very comfortable. I didn't use the pool, gym or spa but those who did all seemed very happy. I would recommend a stay here either as a base if at an event nearby or for exploring the lovely area around Mafra. There were a couple of weddings going on at QdeM while we were there, but we never felt crowded. A very good choice as it turned out, despite iffy reviews here and there, we were all very happy and we were a very big group with lots of people to please.

Room Tip: the apartments are really excellent if you are a family of four or five. Very comfortable with trad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH2813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at Quinta Dos Machados for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean, well presented and spacious. The pool area is great, although there really needs to be more sun beds to cater for all the guests who want to use the space. The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, we would definitely go back to Dos Machados if we were in the area. The restaurant was not operational while we were there which was disappointing as it meant we had to go out every evening and find somewhere to eat. If you particularly want somewhere which can provide evening meals it would be worth checking that this service is back up and running.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We just slept on night but there's how review :

- Good place to be despite the weather because if it rains or it's cold, you can go to the SPA (massages available and free Sauna and Jacuzzi) and there's a "little forest that in the back that you can use for a little stroll in the nature
- The room was clean and very comfortable
- We've dinner in their restaurant and what we've eaten looked very "homemade" and very tasty
- The breakfast was the only thing that was not positive because it was 9 euros and was very very simple (they can had natural juice, boiled or scrambled eggs or even espresso)
- The staff was always very helpful and friendly.

Overall a very good experience in a very cosy country house :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We were attending a Wedding at a nearby Quinta. We elected not to hire a car but to use a prebooked taxi service from Lisbon Airport, this cost around £50.00 it was approx 25 miles. Taxis are quite easy and reasonably inexpensive compared with the UK provided you pre-book and agree a price. Mafra Palace is nearby and also worth a visit. Gradil is about 20 mins walk, quite pleasant but a bit to far when booted and suited.
The staff were very friendly and the prices of the drinks were good. The breakfasts were reasonable, but lunchtime food was not worth bothering with. We as per a previous reviewer really struggled to find staff, especially during the day. Once found they could not have been more helpfull. A few words of Portugese would serve you well as English was not that widely spoken. If we were in the area we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingelheim, Deutschland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Been there for a week. Very relaxing, pool, sauna, jacuzzi and restaurant. Good brekfast room and so is the breakfast itself. Lots of interesting points in 50 km around, but also good for hiking. Very friendly staff. Good for couples, families.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfganglange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mafra
6.9 mi away
Quinta dos Raposeiros
7.8 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 6 in Ericeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
12.3 mi away
Areias do Seixo
Areias do Seixo
#1 of 1 in A dos Cunhados
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta dos Machados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta dos Machados

Property: Quinta dos Machados
Address: Estrada Nacional No. 8 | Barras, Mafra 2665-006, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Mafra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mafra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta dos Machados 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta dos Machados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Dos Machados Portugal/Mafra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing