We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada do Castelo de Obidos
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Louro(Obidos)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo(Obidos)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa D'Obidos(Obidos)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beachfront Apartments(Amoreira)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
323
120
51
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
120
51
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmedieval castleone nightking and queentower roomsunique experienceonce in a lifetimecastle experiencenarrow streetsmedieval timestwo floorscastle stairssuperior roomnew wingstone stepsreception areadining room ismodern amenities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We've stayed in another pousada and this one is a bit overpriced. Other than that, the cottage was beautiful with the view of the medieval city, comfortable bed, great bathroom and a perfect location. Access by car is a bit challenging but not impossible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biedronka15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, Manager at Pousada do Castelo de Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mr biedronka15,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Pousada do Castelo on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and our Team met your expectations.

I will personally convey your gratitude to our Team which I am sure they will be grateful to hear that their hard work and enthusiasm has been commended.

Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks once again and if you ever do decide to make a return visit to Portugal please do bear us in mind.

Kind regards,

Tiago Gonçalves,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Firstly, the drive.....is not as bad as made out to be. The Pousada is actually quite convenient from outside the walls on a road circling outside the walls. Coming down is quick & easy!! Check with the tourist office on arrival and they will point you in the right direction.
We stayed 2 nights in D. Leonor (one of the tower rooms). Access is via entrance to the castle, up more stairs, through the dining area, down a corridor until you exit onto the walls. Travel the outside walls until you get to the door. Entering a two storey with sitting area and Bathroom on the main level and bedroom on the second level. Bed Linen & Bath were clean. Given its a tower the only window is 4inch W x 4ft L in the sitting area and none on the bedroom level. A portable heater helps with the damp that comes with stone walls. Makes sense that there is no elevator....so the staff carry your luggage all the way to your room.....not an easy job!! And they happily deliver to your room (in our case some wine glasses & ice for a swollen knee). Luis and Gabriel were absolutely fantastic providing what we considered to be service above and beyond the call of duty!! Service rates a 6 star!!
CONS: Couch in sitting area was dirty. Water in the shower stopped 2x while showering (we accept that it has a long way to travel). A/C system barely functional and therefore air circulation was virtually non-existent.
All in all this was a wonderful experience & we would not hesitate to do it again.

Room Tip: Tower room is a once in a lifetime experience. Try it!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdnFinn2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, Manager at Pousada do Castelo de Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear CdnFinn2709,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the nice comments on the rooms, the courtyard and obidos.

We are glad you were able to enjoy the peacefulness in the Castle but apologize for the inconveniences you have been through.

Pousada do Castelo is a place where the comfort of our guests really matters, your full satisfaction and responding to the demands of the 21st century are our goal. Therefore, your feedback is appreciated, please be sure that we will do everything we possibly can to ensure that what you refered does not happen again in the future.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team, and in particular Luis and Gabriel.

We hope to welcome you again for a unforgettable stay. Until then,

Kind Regards

Tiago Gonçalves
The Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel and dining room is a once in a lifetime experience, except that the rooms are tiny and the bathrooms are too small. Driving up to the former castle-fortress is a hair raising experience, and getting down is even more so. You have to enter by going through the sign that says staff only, but they intend for guests to enter as it is the only way in, and then you just drive and drive until you reach the entrance high up. But the village is right below and for some reason it is only about 50 feet below the front of the hotel, although the back of the hotel where you drive up is about 1000 feet high with sharp hairpin turns. The village is only about 200 yards from start to finish, but consists of very interesting shops, especially for shopping for cork products.

The dining room is a breataking experience and magnificent. The food is excellent even though a bit pricey, but I would recommend using the dining room just for the ambience.

I would recommend this a must stop in Portugal. But only for one night for the experience. We also stayed 2 nights at the Marriott Resort on the ocean about 6 miles away.

Room Tip: Don't choose a superior room. There are only two, and very difficult to get to up steep castle stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruff7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, Manager at Pousada do Castelo de Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear cruff7117,

Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor.

Your opinion is very important to us and to other guests that consider a trip to Obidos. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

We liked to have you with us, and we hope that this was the first of many moments at Pousadas de Portugal.

Medieval regards from Obidos,

Tiago Gonçalves
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

There a very few rooms in the actually castle and we were get 2 of them for a night . The little town that's within the castle walls was just amazing to stroll around in. My wife and her uncle walked to castle walls and say it was awesome for the view and just to imagine how it used to be. The rental car we got to make the trip from Lisbon to Obidos took only about an hour. This is a must visit if you can. It is not cheap to stay here but how many times do you get to stay in an actual castle

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, Manager at Pousada do Castelo de Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest michaelkathleen58,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Pousada do Castelo on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a great experience with us and our Team met your expectations.

I will personally convey your gratitude to our Team which I am sure they will be grateful to hear that their hard work and enthusiasm has been commended.

Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We liked to have you with us, and we hope that this was the first of many moments at Pousadas de Portugal

Sincerely yours,

Tiago Gonçalves
Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Óbidos is a great place to be.
Pousada do Castelo is the best place to stay with a great view and super nice rooms.
That alone would have made this trip a positive experience.
But thanks to the wonderful Staff working at Pousada do Castelo it has been an outstanding stay with so many nice memories to take home.
People have always been extremely helpful, professional and friendly - they made our stay even better!
We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver19792014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, Manager at Pousada do Castelo de Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mr. Oliver19792014,

We are delighted to read your review and to know that you had a wonderful stay and that you have enjoyed the commitment of our staff, the historical atmosphere of the Pousada and our rooms.

It is very grateful for us, to make part of all your magnificent experiences in our Castle. On behalf of all the Staff I must be thankful for your kind comments.

We hope to see you soon again in our Castle, if you need anything, please don’t hesitate on contacting us.

With the kind regards of all the Team,

Tiago Gonçalves
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews