We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa D'Obidos
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo(Obidos)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Beachfront Apartments(Amoreira)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Louro(Obidos)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa do Relogio(Obidos)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
146
93
22
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
93
22
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor housethe main houseother guestsloved our stayfresh rollswalled citytwin bedsexcellent restaurantbig tablefamily homeminutes walk awayevery morningshort drivethree bedroomswimming poolliving roomold style
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We chose Obidos as a rest-over at the last minute, calling ahead to the manager just hours before to see if rooms were available that evening. Luckily, the outside houses (see website) were available, and our party of 9 was therefore able to conveniently disappear into the various rooms.

We managed to squeeze in an hour at Obidos castle, where the market stalls and shops were still opening, and the restaurants were beginning to wake from their slumber for the evening assault. Beautiful town to explore and quite a unique castle, especially for kids as it has sections restored as per the period.

It's a little out of the town of Obidos, so you will miss out a little on convenient access to the castle restaurants - but I guess you gain from the peace and quiet and the rural surrounds.

I myself am not such a fan of old fashioned/period decor, being more of a sucker for modern conveniences and style, but my parents and cousins could not stop raving about the beautiful character and antiques, and feel of the place. What better review?

We had a quick breakfast under a pergola in the beautiful sun before setting out to Sintra.

Room Tip: Every outside house is different - you're just going to have to go with your gut!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wandering_josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsarmento, Manager at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Sir /Madam

We had the happiness to welcome you at our Hotel.

Thank you for coming and to be part of our project at Casa d'Óbidos.

It was a moment of luck to have your last minute reservation.

I wish you all the happiness and joy for your wedding.

Best regards

Mariana Baptista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Casa dObidos, a wonderful mansion in the orchards at the foot of the Obidos castle on the hill. The accomodation is excellent, the service very friendly, a bit formal, the breakfast a luxureous start of the day. It is a shot walk to the historic center of Obidos, a gem in its kind, the facilities are great: a nice swimming pool with sunbathing equipment, a beautiful garden and a spacious parking lot.
For a visit to Obidos this accomodation is highly recommended if you prefer a rural, quiet and comfortable location.

Room Tip: If you prefer a more secluded part of the accomodation ask for appt "Leonor", which is a freestanding, groundfloor, selfcontained appt with a very romantic atmosphere and nice views over the countryside and its orchards
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsarmento, Manager at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy to know that you liked Casa d'Óbidos. We always do everything for our guests and we are always happy to improve.
We hope you have enjoyed your experience in Portugal and specially in Óbidos.
Have a good return to your country and we hope we can see you again in the future.

Best regards

Mariana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Actually, the title says it all. This place is really nice to stay, the welcome was friendly and hearty, we got useful advice where to get good dinner, etc.

Actually everything was to our full satisfaction - except the bed. I'm not sure if this thing was 1.40m wide or if it was even narrower... For two grown up people this is ridiculous. If you book a room here, which I highly recommend, ask if you get either two single beds (1 meter) or a wider twin bed as we had. If this problem is sorted out you get a perfect.

Room Tip: As I said above. Ask about a wide bed. Then you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drscheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsarmento, Manager at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Sir Madam

Thank you for your review. We are making an effort to improve all the aspects in your experience. The beds are standart. We are happy that you have liked to be with us during your stay in Portugal and we invite you to come again and if you do so we will offer you a special gift.

Best regards

Mariana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a peaceful oasis full of antique charm but without compromise on creature comforts. The house itself is solidly set in its orchards and gardens, as befits the creation of an Eiffel Tower engineer, and it dominates the environs of Obidos in the way that the Castle itself dominates the town.

The view from either one to the other one is spectacular!

On more prosaic front we especially enjoyed the tennis, the pool, the gardens, the pool table, the local restaurant ( esp the spectacularly under branded 'Snack Bar'), the breakfasts, the breakfast company, the hammocks, and, most of all the general ambience .

Forget the Poussadas ; this is the real deal

Room Tip: Check the hardness of the bed and adjust to taste!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsarmento, Manager at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. This is the best gift that you can offer us. All the team says thank you and we wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in Casa d'Óbidos even because for second turns with us we would like you to offer a special gift.

Best regards

Mariana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have just spent a most enjoyable week staying in "Casa Cristina", the 3 bedroom apartment at Casa D'Obidos. A very comfortable first floor apartment with 3 very good sized bedrooms - all ensuite and a very spacious and airy living / dining room and separate well equipped kitchen. The grounds of the manor are superb and very well kept and maintained. We used the swimming pool most days and very often had it to ourselves. Mariana and her team were most welcoming and each morning Mariana would have a passing chat and give us some ideas of where to go and what restaurants to visit which was very helpful. The breakfast in the apartment was a bit limited but nice fresh rolls were delivered to the door every morning which was a nice touch.

Obidos town is only a 20 minute stroll from the house and is well worth a visit - we were there during the medieval festival and it was fun to see a lot of people dressed up in medieval costume which added to the atmosphere in the town. It is a good walk around the ramparts but not for the faint-hearted as there is no railing.

Obidos lagoon is a beautiful place to spend some time and is good for water sports. Further on the beach at Foz de Arelho is stunning and you have the best of both the safe lagoon on one side and the bracing Atlantic on the other. It's great to have a drink and/or a snack in the beach bar at the end of the promenade and just watch the world go by. Another beach that we visited was St Martinho which is part of a cove on the Atlantic coast. It is a very calm and safe place to swim as the Atlantic rollers have lost all their power once inside the cove. We would recommend "Boca do Mar" restaurant on the front where we had 2 fantastic meals - the tournedos of beef and the fresh local fish are very good and the service was very friendly.

We would thoroughly recommend Casa d'Obidos as a beautiful place to stay, with friendly and helpful hosts in an idyllic situation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsarmento, Manager at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for your review. This will help us to improved and your feed back it's amazing to encourage our staff to go on and work with happiness and joy.

Best regards

The manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews