We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character property”
Review of Casa D'Obidos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa D'Obidos
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Character property”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

In my experience, character properties can be a bit hit and miss. This was a bit of both.
On arrival, our welcome was friendly but businesslike. We were not offered refreshments, neither were any available in the room. The room and bathroom were both very spacious, the shower was excellent. A hair dryer is provided on request. We found the whole place quite dark.
The location is good, easy to find and park and there are 3 restaurants and an interesting church within walking distance. It's a short drive to Obidos.
Breakfast was very good.
Certainly worth considering, but we had hoped for better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    90
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
150
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This lovely manor house offers friendly, warm service and the best breakfast you can imagine, served in a lovely formal dining room. We learned the history of the town and castle, the location is great, and we slept like babies. I felt as if I were visiting friends in an old manor house on a gorgeous estate. We enjoyed wine and cheese on one of the patios one evening at sunset, and watched the lights around the castle gently illuminate the medieval walls. We stayed in the main house and loved the attention to detail in the period antiques. The bathroom was huge. It is a lovely place to relax for a few days during your travels, and we hope to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house, which was lovely. The cottages are beautiful from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryPaige L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I returned to Casa d'Obidos after four years and found the same standard. Warm welcome, superb breakfast and lovely location. A pleasant stay that I hope to repeat for a my third time in the next future

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 47Gulliver47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We fell in love with Casa d'Obidos and the surrounding country and town of Obidos. Manager Mariana was lovely and helpful from beginning to end. The three bedroom cottage with country kitchen was a dream come true! The bathrooms in each of the bedrooms were fabulous, with huge bathtubs for soaking. We ate our breakfast and dinner in each day as lunch was our primary meal, taken in various local restaurants. We did not bring tennis gear so could not partake of the court, and the April weather was too chilly for swimming in the pool, although it was open and looked inviting. This was as romantic a get-away as I can imagine; my husband and I enjoyed privacy and our adult kids did, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nancy_knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsarmento, Gerente at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

It was a pleasure to welcome you here at Casa d'Óbidos with all your family.

We give our best to make your tour through Portugal a trip to remember.

Give all my best regards to all the family.

Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in France
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The welcome, Service & breakfast are easily top class, and deserve 6 out of 5 if it were possible!

Unfortunately, miserable weather during our short stay made us want to leave as quicly as possible. We had a small apartment, Casa Terezinha, which was cute in an olde worlde sort of way, but suffers the disadvantages, also. Despite the new modern windows the apartment just wouldn't warm up, there had been heavy rain and mist etc, for the best part of a week, and the apartment seemd damp, even with 2 electric heaters it didn't really get cosy.

The bedding is a bit too soft and rickety, it could do with a good hotel standard bed.

If the sun had been shining, I'm sure I would have given 4 out of 5, and as I've already said, the breakfast was great!

Room Tip: Main House, maybe ? but even that was suffering from the cold and damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stopeter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsarmento, Gerente at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sir /Madam

Casa Teresinha is a very cosy apartment. We are making some improvements to make it better and more confortable to everyone.

Best regards and hope to see you in another oportunity

Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

staff very friendly and helpful, location just outside of Obidos, excellent breakfast. Mariana, manager, made everything possible to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. And also used her knowledge of Obidos to arrange a nice restaurant for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank durcesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsarmento, Gerente at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sir /Madam

I would like to thank you for coming to Casa d'Óbidos. We always do the best to improve and your review was very usefull.

Looking forward to meet you again

Best regards

Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed in the Leonor apartment for one night in February 2014. We arrived late afternoon and were welcomed by Marianne and shown around the apartment, which was very cosy with a genuine local rustic feel, equipped with everything you could need and spotlessly clean. The view from the terrace just outside the apartment, up to the castle at Obidos is delightful so we wrapped up warm and sat outside with a bottle of wine to enjoy the sunset. Since we were only there for one night, Marianne invited us to have breakfast in the main house next morning, even though this is not normally included for self catering guests. The breakfast was amazing with local and home made produce. The house is a traditional period property - I expect the bedrooms are full of character. It's a shame we were only there for one night!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadObidos, Manager at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Madam

It is with greta pleasure that I read your review. Thak you very much.
I must say that you are helping us with very good motivation to work all year always with the prespective to please with a TOP service. Small details are the best experience that we can offer and we effort to give them to every one.

Best wishes and see you some other day maybe in Óbidos

Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 14 in Obidos
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#4 of 14 in Obidos
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo
5.4 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
#10 of 14 in Obidos
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa D'Obidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa D'Obidos

Property: Casa D'Obidos
Address: Quinta de San Jose 2510-135, Obidos 2510-135, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa D'Obidos 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 19th century, Casa d’ Óbidos was built by the Mr. Garrelon, an engineer from the Eiffel team, who established himself there to lead the railway construction. It’s located in an environmentally protected area, which allows the guest to enjoy a quiet environment and magnificent views of the castle of Óbidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Casa D'Obidos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa d Obidos
Casa d Hotel Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing