We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa da Obidos”
Review of Casa D'Obidos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa D'Obidos
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Casa da Obidos”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Antique B&B is in "country" about 2km from walled city-relaxing, with view of walled city. Very good breakfast. Enjoyed the town. Rented auto at train Oriente train station in Lisbon. (BUSTLING.).............

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    88
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
48
143
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our apartment suffered from damp - badly so. The towels and even the toilet paper were damp, and the room was smelly and musty (and this was June). Location is not great either, as you can't walk into the village as it's too far down an unlit road. I decided to leave early, and expected an argument with the manager. But to her credit, she said she was very unhappy if guests have a bad time, and said she would not charge me at all, which I have to say I was astonished about. The hotel gets very good reviews for the rooms in the main building, so maybe I was just very unlucky. But in my opinion she should not be letting out an apartment room which so obviously has a serious damp problem

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This inn was a great way to relax while visiting Obidos. We only spent one night on a 31 day trip as we had been to Obidos in the past. The location and accommodations were great. The only complaint was that the lady who checked us in seemed to be in a hurry and ended up not telling us about a lot of property we could take advantage of. She seemed a bit put out of her way and not happy in her job. We expressed our opinion to the manager the next morning who just returned from holiday. She apologized and appreciated our feedback. Hospitality is a hard industry and training is a must. That say, it would not change my recommendation as it is nice to be outside of the walled city but close to see and walk to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jmhrmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in Casa d'Obidos during our honeymoon last April and enjoyed it very much. It is a nice quiet place with a great view onto the old fortified city of Obidos (walking distance). Mariana, the manager of the hotel, is one of the most welcoming persons we have ever met. On the evening of our arrival she cooked dinner for us as the restaurant where we wanted to go to was fully booked. She also gave very good advice about interesting places to visit in the neighborhood and Lisbon. We would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is fab,we only stayed the one night but we were really pleased, we had been let down with a villa booking in the area and we went to a restaurant where they arranged for us to stay here.
The manager Marianne came and collected

Room Tip: We think that this would be a good place to stay if you are traveling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I can highly recommend a stay at this lovely manor house. We booked 4 double rooms. 2 of the rooms had twin beds but that was soon remedied. One room was changed and the other had beds pushed together. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast one one of the best continental breakfasts I had seen, with such an array of fruit, meats, cheeses and pastries. Everything was replenished as soon as it was emptied.
Marianne went above and beyond for helping us in aspects of our trip, from recommending and booking restaurants, booking wine tour and taxis to for airport transfers and local,trips. We cannot thank her enough for all her trouble.
Take a torch for trip back from lovely local restaurants as it is a dark short cut into back of casa.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 were lovely rooms. But all rooms were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyclimes2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

In my experience, character properties can be a bit hit and miss. This was a bit of both.
On arrival, our welcome was friendly but businesslike. We were not offered refreshments, neither were any available in the room. The room and bathroom were both very spacious, the shower was excellent. A hair dryer is provided on request. We found the whole place quite dark.
The location is good, easy to find and park and there are 3 restaurants and an interesting church within walking distance. It's a short drive to Obidos.
Breakfast was very good.
Certainly worth considering, but we had hoped for better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#3 of 13 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
5.4 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#5 of 13 in Obidos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa do Relogio
Casa do Relogio
#7 of 13 in Obidos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
#9 of 13 in Obidos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa D'Obidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa D'Obidos

Property: Casa D'Obidos
Address: Quinta de San Jose 2510-135, Obidos 2510-135, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa D'Obidos 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 19th century, Casa d’ Óbidos was built by the Mr. Garrelon, an engineer from the Eiffel team, who established himself there to lead the railway construction. It’s located in an environmentally protected area, which allows the guest to enjoy a quiet environment and magnificent views of the castle of Óbidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa D'Obidos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa d Obidos
Casa d Hotel Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing