We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house, pool and gardens - A Home from...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Orion

Pool and villa from front gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and villa from front gate
South view of villa and garden Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Pool and villa from front gate
South view of villa and garden
Living Room
Castle and walls of Obidos
Entrance Gates
The pool with cover open
Covered barbeque area
Shaded rear patio area
Games Room
View of Casa Orion & A-da-Gorda from Windmill Hill
Master Bedroom
En suite to Master Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Kitchen
Ferral Beach, north of Peniche
Baleal Beach on Boxing Day
Obidos in flower
The beach at the entrance to Obidos Lagoon
The beach at Nazare
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Obidos, Leiria District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SallyCC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, pool and gardens - A Home from Home”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 9 nights in May/June this year.

Jan and Michael greeted us on arrival even though it was 10pm!! During our stay they were most helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

There were 6 adults and 2 children in our party and the house, gardens, games room were plenty big enough for us all.

House very well equipped. Lovely gardens with different seating areas to catch the sun at different times of the day.

Amazing heated pool with retractable cover. Had trouble getting the kids out!!

Would highly recommend to all.

Other local attractions worth visiting:

Obidos itself, we loved Vila Infanta restaurant there.
Nazare and Sao Martinho
Bom Successo and Foz beaches
Buddha Eden
Caves at Mira de Aire

Used Daniel's taxi service a few times and can recommend.

All in all a memorable, relaxing and enjoyable family holiday.

Thank you Jan and Michael.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flightmoe
Castro Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay in Portugal”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were so lucky to find Casa Orion near Obidos for our trip to Portugal. We wanted a location outside the City of Lisbon but within driving distance of local landmarks. Less than an hour's drive from the airport in Lisbon, Casa Orion is also walking distance to the small local village and a bit longer walk to scenic Obidos.
Our hosts, Jan and Michael, met us with all the information we needed for a lovely stay in Portugal. Their beautiful home is perfect for an extended family gathering, a group of friends or several couples looking for a great home base. It's equipped with all the necessities, plenty of space, a welcoming kitchen and a beautiful pool. And if you need more...there are the incredible views of vineyards, the lovely morning and afternoon walks to town for coffee or a beer and the friendly villagers who greet you on the way!
Our hosts had recommendations for restaurants and cafes in the area, with menus from most....and best of all...the location to the local market for those like us who want to do some cooking at home in the wonderful kitchen or the BBQ area next to the pool.
If you are looking for great wines...check around the local area...and see if Jan and Michael can hook you up for a local tasting. They enjoy good wines and have some tasty recommendations!
We took a short, scenic day trip to Nazare and were rewarded with beautiful ocean views and seafood meals we simply cannot say enough about. Our last day was spent in Sintra (don’t miss it) followed by the easy drive back to Lisbon. If you are looking at Lisbon and surrounding areas to visit we readily recommend Casa Orion---we know we’re planning on returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the countryside location, amenities, helpful owners, authentic experience in Portugal
Liked least: Too short of a stay!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleH...
Hayward, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels like home”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Orion is fantastic! It is so comfortable and accommodating, it feels like you're right at home. With the pool, game room, outdoor kitchen, and wifi, the dilemma is to relax and enjoy the beautiful property, or actually go out and see Portugal. Our trip was a perfect combination of R&R and sightseeing. Thank you Casa Orion...Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect villa”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about this villa was perfect for us, we had driven around Europe for 7 days before we got to this villa, on our arrival we were met by the owners and shown around the villa, Jan and Michael were very welcoming and gave us some tips of things to do, we enjoyed an afternoon by the old stadium pitch a 10 minute walk from the villa, and the Obidos town is well worth walking to. The villa it self was bigger than expected and we felt at home with lots of features in the villa such as books, CDs, games room, PC and Internet connection. Plenty of cooking on the BBQ and plenty of outside space to relax in even away from the pool area so could mess around by the pool or relax on the lawn at the back of the villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the villa
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCW1225
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Perfect Balance”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

"WONDERFUL!! For us this was the perfect balance. The villa offered everything for a relaxing vacation: private pool, reading on the lawn by the fountain, bbq-ing on the patio, games room (which my husband especially liked) and a VERY comfortable home. It's situated such that you look out over a vineyard and orchard toward the white homes and red-tiled roofs of the town, but you are set apart enough so it feels very private and luxurious. Plus it is a short drive to visit lots of amazing sites: Buddha Eden Garden (amazing! ask for the free bottle of wine!), Sintra, Monserrate, Lisbon, Cabo da Roca, Mafra, Nazaré, São Martinho do Porto (unbelievable beach!), Alcobaça & Batalha Monasteries, and of course Obidos itself which we visited twice (we were there almost two weeks and felt we didn't get to see as much as we wanted). We ate at home often but also sampled local restaurants, recommended by our hosts. They were all excellent, but my personal favorite was Chuva Restaurante at Quinta do Gradil which served classic Portuguese food with a gourmet touch, paired with wines which the chef chose for us. We make wine ourselves in California and we liked finding "Quintas" (vineyards) to try local wines. So we got the rest we needed plus the touring and local history and flavors which made the trip uniquely Portuguese. We heartily recommend this villa and will definitely return."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a comfortable place to do nothing in between touring.
Liked least: We were there in winter and it was too cold to use the beautiful pool.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L
Rothley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We found the accommodation to be first class. The enclosed pool with retractable roof was amazing! The games room with table football, table tennis, Wii darts, board games and books was a real bonus!

The local walled town of Obidos is simply stunning! Plenty of bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. I would highly recommend a walk around the walls of the city. Make sure you take a camera with a decent size memory card!

The local beeches and lagoon are fantastic, The lagoon is worth a few visits during your stay as the changing tides make it a different experience on each visit.

We all enjoyed our stay and would recommend Casa Orion to our friends and family. We will be coming back again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The local wind, beer & food.
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie889
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The villa and the location - perfect!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on Saturday night and were greeted at the Villa and shown around. Although we had seen pictures of the Villa, the size exceeded our expectations. A welcome pack consisting of all the essentials but most importantly some lovely portuguese red wine and some proper coffee were most welcome! We walked down the road to Cafe O Apaireiro, after some giggles over our lack of Portugues and the language barrier overcome we had a wonderful meal even though it was late at night. We found all the locals very friendly and gracious. Waking up in the morning after a great sleep in the most comfortable bed, being able to sit outside in the wonderful gardens with amazing scenary was fabulous. The Villa had everything that we could posible need. The pool was large, spotless and warm, with a seperate shower room with toilet. The bbq and seating area was wonderful and we bbq'd numerous times, the local supermarket sold excellent fresh meat, fruit, veg and wine. The games room was fantastic, TV, Wii, table tennis, darts, boards games and books. Lots of information on local attractions, places to visits, local taxis, restaurants etc and the satnav with places of interest already added was a great touch. Obidos itself was stunning - you need to see it for yourself. It was a lovely walk from the Villa into Obidos, and after making the accquaintance of a local taxi driver we got a cheap taxi ride home. (Again with very limited Portuguese we used to ring and say 'A-da Gorda Chuff Chuff (being not far away from the train station) and he knew exactly who we were and where to drop us off!!) All the restaurants we went to were great, food, wine and hospitaility exceptional.

We had a fantasitc time, the Villa, the location were perfect and we didnt want to leave - so much so we have now re booked and are going back again later this month.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa itself and the location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing