We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Obidos
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked a 'Superior Room' for our 1 night stopover and were certainly not disappointed with the spacious, bright, (opening window) and spotless room in this hotel right beside an arched entrance through the wall into Obidos. A very friendly welcome plus unexpected free car parking outside the hotel entrance made our arrival easy and trouble free (parking may be an issue in peak periods).
Breakfast, which was included was basic but acceptable, and wifi was provided with no problems.
Obidos as an walled historic tourist village had numerous souvenir shops, but also many restaurants and our evening meal in the village was excellent.
We would certainly stay here again if in this vicinity.

Room Tip: We booked a 'superior room' which we did not consider expensive and to be excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AUS-consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We are a French couple from Montreal Canada, we did a trip of one month in Portugal this last October 2013 and we stayed in 17 hotels. We stayed at this hotel 1 night October 20th 2013. Price: 60 Euros. This place is a nice old house well restored. Pros: big nice room, great bathroom with counter and hairdryer, free parking, free Internet Wi-Fi in the room, very good location on the wall to visit the old city, cable TV with many channels in different languages, good breakfast. Cons: none. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I checked into this hotel unexpectedly when the self-catering property we had booked in Obidos turned out not to have been cleaned in preparation for our arrival. The Josefa staff are immediately friendly and helpful - there is free Wi-Fi in Reception. The rooms are spotless and extremely comfortable. It was inexpensive and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venetia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel was not worth the price, even with the location close to the old city. The hotel is old, no wi-fi in the rooms, TV set small in the room and no other channels in TV besides the nationals from Portugal . Others had interferences. Breakfast was poor. Decorations terrible. Room small. The toilet in the room showed age with paint removal. Was quite uncomfortable. The refrigerator was noisy and we had to disconnected at night. There are other choices even if they cost a little more to consider for next time.

Room Tip: In the back we could have more quiet. We had a noisy refrigerator that we had to diconnect to be abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

In a very nice location, this hotel is clearly been under modernization. The rooms are modern with art deco style. The breakfast is quite simple, with no surprise. The room was quiet and comfortable. The hairdryer was not good and the wifi did not work in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMorgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

After experiencing a real old world hotel for several nights, the Josefa felt like true modern comfort. It is clean, comfortable and well furnished. The breakfast is excellent. The location is ideal for drivers as parking is not a problem - or was not for us in May. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good. The "new wing" is a bit kitchy, the halls being decorated with something akin to disco balls. The traditional rooms in the older wing are more spacious, with equally updated bathrooms, but a warmer, more homey feel. We had no complaints, other than the intense odor of cigarette smoke in the bar, which we felt compelled to avoid. Internet worked in the lobby and sometimes in the rooms.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Very good location, close to the old town main gate, very nice and helpful staff, excellent restaurant, comfortable rooms (but a bit small). Good breakfast . Parking in front, but few places to park. Just nothing to complain.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo00101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 16 in Obidos
510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 16 in Obidos
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exe Vila D'Obidos
Exe Vila D'Obidos
#12 of 16 in Obidos
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo
5.4 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josefa D'Obidos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josefa D'Obidos Hotel

Address: Rua Dom Joao de Ornelas, Obidos 2510-074, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
Price Range: £56 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Josefa D'Obidos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the charming medieval town of Óbidos, this graceful and recently-renovated 4 star hotel allows guests immediate experiences of Portugal's historic charm. The carefully selected furnishings and warm interiors of Josefa D Obidos - Hotel create an atmosphere that captures the area's historic character. The elegant, well-designed rooms are large, clean, air-conditioned and facilitated to allow you to enjoy your privacy. The hotel's restaurant was refurbished and serves delicious traditional Portuguese cuisines. Alternatively, short ride into town offers several restaurants to choose from. Josefa D Obidos - Hotel is also perfectly located for enjoying easy explorations of Óbidos. You can visit the nearby National Monument Town of Óbidos or relax at the beautiful Óbidos Lagoon. A 45 minute ride from Josefa D Obidos - Hotel also takes you into Lisbon. You can take a short ride to the port or capture the many historic attractions while wondering around the encircled town of Óbidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Josefa D'Obidos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Josefa d Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing