We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love love love this hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Amazing hotel. Totally redone. Our room was gorgeous and the proximity to landmarks is amazing. Staff is super friendly and the breakfast buffet is great!!! No complaints at all and we will for sure stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Bhagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    205
    59
    19
    6
See reviews for
76
239
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The rooms were very small but well-furnished with high quality bedding and very clean. Breakfast was buffet style, pretty nice with a reasonable selection. Location was good, just outside the city wall, some rooms had a nice view of the wall. Minor problem with the showerhead, which sprayed the entire bathroom with water. Note that the restaurant was closed for renovations while we were there, there are a few other options nearby (inside the city wall - kind of touristy, and some a short drive away). Limited amount of free parking was available, only a few spaces. I'm not sure the parking rules on the nearby streets. Be careful with directions, google maps directed us several blocks away onto some back-street nearby, instead of to the correct hotel location. As I recall the wifi didn't work that well. Still, I recommend this hotel overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cml94618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked a 'Superior Room' for our 1 night stopover and were certainly not disappointed with the spacious, bright, (opening window) and spotless room in this hotel right beside an arched entrance through the wall into Obidos. A very friendly welcome plus unexpected free car parking outside the hotel entrance made our arrival easy and trouble free (parking may be an issue in peak periods).
Breakfast, which was included was basic but acceptable, and wifi was provided with no problems.
Obidos as an walled historic tourist village had numerous souvenir shops, but also many restaurants and our evening meal in the village was excellent.
We would certainly stay here again if in this vicinity.

Room Tip: We booked a 'superior room' which we did not consider expensive and to be excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUS-consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We are a French couple from Montreal Canada, we did a trip of one month in Portugal this last October 2013 and we stayed in 17 hotels. We stayed at this hotel 1 night October 20th 2013. Price: 60 Euros. This place is a nice old house well restored. Pros: big nice room, great bathroom with counter and hairdryer, free parking, free Internet Wi-Fi in the room, very good location on the wall to visit the old city, cable TV with many channels in different languages, good breakfast. Cons: none. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I checked into this hotel unexpectedly when the self-catering property we had booked in Obidos turned out not to have been cleaned in preparation for our arrival. The Josefa staff are immediately friendly and helpful - there is free Wi-Fi in Reception. The rooms are spotless and extremely comfortable. It was inexpensive and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venetia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel was not worth the price, even with the location close to the old city. The hotel is old, no wi-fi in the rooms, TV set small in the room and no other channels in TV besides the nationals from Portugal . Others had interferences. Breakfast was poor. Decorations terrible. Room small. The toilet in the room showed age with paint removal. Was quite uncomfortable. The refrigerator was noisy and we had to disconnected at night. There are other choices even if they cost a little more to consider for next time.

Room Tip: In the back we could have more quiet. We had a noisy refrigerator that we had to diconnect to be abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 13 in Obidos
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 13 in Obidos
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
#9 of 13 in Obidos
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo
5.4 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josefa D'Obidos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josefa D'Obidos Hotel

Property: Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Address: Rua Dom Joao de Ornelas, Obidos 2510-074, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Josefa D'Obidos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the charming medieval town of Óbidos, this graceful and recently-renovated 4 star hotel allows guests immediate experiences of Portugal's historic charm. The carefully selected furnishings and warm interiors of Josefa D Obidos - Hotel create an atmosphere that captures the area's historic character. The elegant, well-designed rooms are large, clean, air-conditioned and facilitated to allow you to enjoy your privacy. The hotel's restaurant was refurbished and serves delicious traditional Portuguese cuisines. Alternatively, short ride into town offers several restaurants to choose from. Josefa D Obidos - Hotel is also perfectly located for enjoying easy explorations of Óbidos. You can visit the nearby National Monument Town of Óbidos or relax at the beautiful Óbidos Lagoon. A 45 minute ride from Josefa D Obidos - Hotel also takes you into Lisbon. You can take a short ride to the port or capture the many historic attractions while wondering around the encircled town of Óbidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Josefa D'Obidos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Josefa d Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing