We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Portuguese dishes at a very fair price”
Review of Vila Infanta

Vila Infanta
Ranked #9 of 71 Restaurants in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Is is about 1 km outside the city wall of Obidos. We went there in June 2012 and had a fabulous meal and the owner was a very entertaining host with pretty good English. I want to get a review posted so others can share outr experience
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Portuguese dishes at a very fair price”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are visiting the beautiful fortified town of Obidos make your way to the authentic Vila INfanta for some excellent Portuguese food. The owner speaks perfect English and patiently explains all the items on the menu. We went twice in a week and the fish we ate was good but the best dish was probably ribs with grelos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    82
    18
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“one of my favorite restaurants in the world”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we stayed at Praia del Rey (near Obidos) in June 2012. Found our way to this restaurant one night, and it was my favorite restaurant in our entire time in Portugal. restaurant is a very quaint family restaurant - the patriarch was the host, his wife cooked and his children worked in the dining room (he introduced us to them). and they made us feel like we were sitting in their home, instead of in their restaurant.

we had a party of 9, and every meal was excellent. Their cod was very good. I had the fried pork and clams, which was phenomenal. Most of us had creme brulee ice cream for dessert

after dinner, the host posed with us for a photo, and poured us some drinks on the house. all in all, made us feel very much at home and our evening was among our most enjoyable on our entire trip.

if I ever return to Portugal, I will find my way to this restaurant again, above all others we enjoyed during our 10 days there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank the5allens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
395 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Try the swordfish”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a good seafood restaurant just outside the walled city of Obidos, near the church two kilometres outside the lower town wall and just off the N8. If you are coming from Obidos do not take the turnoff to the A8 but continue on the N8 and this large church is on your left, with three restaurants and a pub immediately afterward on the left. The prices are lower than in the tourist area and the food is better quality. The service was good and we noticed some of the customers seemed to be locals which is always a good sign. The owner was fluent in English and from what we could hear, equally fluent in French. They do offer choices other than seafood but try the swordfish because it was really good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmeem42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant - friendly, great food, amazing value”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We ate here twice during May and June 2014.

Both occasions the service was amazing - the dishes were explained very well and the owners and staff really care about giving diners an amazing time.

Food tasty, full of flavour, plentiful and well cooked.

Lovely selection of wine including local.

Very kind and chatty with us all and welcoming to the 2 children in our party age 5 and 11.

A really relaxing time and highly recommended:)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SallyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value home cooking”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely local restaurant. The owner was very friendly and explained all the items on the menu. The food was a high standard and very reasonably priced.


Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunnyclimes2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vila Infanta also viewed

 
Obidos, Leiria District
Obidos, Leiria District
 

Been to Vila Infanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing