We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities but could be much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Lisbon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good facilities but could be much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed one night and, at a first glance, the hotel seemed very nice: all new and good decoration. They gave me room 102 witch is very close to front desk (room 101 and 102 are just behind the counter). So I woke up many times during the night because of the noise of people getting in and out of the hotel and at 8 am at a sunday morning because cleaning staff were vacuuming the room in front of our bedrrom... The hotel wasn't full so I found this perfectly avoidable.
The breakfast is very nice, I just loved the croissants, and there plenty of choices including a very good selection of fruits.
The hotel is not in the center of Obidos, so you should have a car for going in and out.
The inside swimming pool is average, but the outside is very good (it you catch good weather).
The place in general is quite and peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at 1st floor or far away from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    79
    71
    28
    22
See reviews for
51
134
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel looks nice upon arrival, all new and modern, decent looking pool area with terrace, spacious bar area with cool furniture, great views of the castle.

Unfortunately, that's all overshadowed by the fact that their restaurant is NOT OPEN FOR LUNCH OR DINNER!!!!

The nearest town, Obidos, is about 3km away so unless you're keen on a long walk just to eat, you should avoid this hotel!

For a 4* hotel (allegedly), this is completely unacceptable and means that I can only give the place 1 star.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RWKT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Obidos hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very recent and modern hotel. Located just outside Obidos, in a very quiet area but to get to the village its best to take the car since its quite a distance to go on foot.

We appreciated the art colection (hence the name "art" in the hotel full name) which is present all around the building. The hotel has both outdoor and indoor pools though we did not tried this facilities nor the SPA or the restaurant.

The decor is modern, with plenty of white. It is not original but we liked it and the art collection really stands out. The bar was cosy and reading material was available. Complimentary drinks are on offer at the reception - the traditional "ginjinha".

Our room was small but nicely decorated (although similar to lots of other modern portugueses hotels). The aircon was ok, a choice of pillows was at our disposal (nice touch), mini-bar and safe also available. The bathroom got very steamy rapidly, so the air extraction could be much improved. The bed was confy and we had an excelent sleep.

The staff at the reception was helpfull and, when present with a complaint, surprised us with the (excelent) way in which it was surpassed.

On the low side, the breakfast is not worthy of a 4**** hotel. Not a lot of variety.

Reading the above, our level of criticism is moderate but we got a felling that, for the price, something was missing to give us the full 4**** experience, which we have tasted on several other nacional hotels. But being so recent, there is still time to improve the customer experience and present better value for money.

Room Tip: quite unusually, the standard beds are "matrimony" so if you nedd separate beds you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulomouratogomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Not sure where to begin. Let's start with the most disturbing and important factor: hygiene! At first glance the place seems clean. This is only because it's NEW. It is however not at all clean.

Our first room: we checked in and left our luggage. First impression was just that the bathroom as not very clean. We had to drive into town since the restaurant is not open - as inconvenient as that is it's actually a blessing once you experience the bad quality and sparse breakfast and the fact that there are flies everywhere. Lots and lots of flies. The girl at the reception was kind enough to recommend a place for dinner and we had a great meal there!

Coming back to our room - we went to get into bed and upon opening the sheets we saw the bed was filthy. There was hair in the sheets and stains that looked like blood. There we'd also holes on the mattress cover and more hair on the mattress pad. This to add to the flies and the dirty bathroom - we told the reception and the girl was wonderful about giving us another room. We got an upgrade also.

So we went upstairs to our upgraded room - at this point it's close to midnight. Had a nice view of the castle and there were less flies! The bed seemed clean but we couldn't help to notice we were itchy. It being late we went to bed anyway. I couldn't sleep because of how itchy my skin was. Woke up in the morning and realized with the light on, that I had a red rash all over my body. I was curious so I lifted the sheets - only to find more hair and a very dirty mattress cover. Disgusting. I suppose it's bed bugs that have me the rash? Not sure I want to consider alternatives.

We had booked two nights but one night was more than enough. I asked at the reception and was told that I won't get reimbursed for my second night. This is despicable considering the circumstances. They should really be embarrassed at their bad hygiene. I'd hate to see what the sauna or pool look like - no thanks.

Other specs: the flies are annoying in your room and not something you want to eat with at breakfast. They advertise a mini bar but really it's just an empty mini fridge in the closet. No water - nothing. They claim to be a 4 star but this a 1 star level. The fact that the furniture is new is deceptive. There's a bar and lounge but it wAs closed. Restaurant also not functioning. Our second room had a balcony but it was connected to the others so it was not private and there was no furniture on it so you couldn't use it anyway. My shower was cold. There was no hair dryer. Husbands shower was warm. Takes. Long time to heat up? The upstairs room had a robe and standard hotel spa one-use slippers. The slippers were not wrapped in plastic and also not clean - I assume they're reusing them? Doesn't surprise me when I see the filthy beds.

They obviously spent a lot of money on this place. A shame that they're not interested in managing it properly.

One last note - you need a rental car to get there. Since it's new the GPS won't find it. Make sure to print out a proper map or have a cell so you can call for directions. It's a good 2km from obidos center so you also need the car to get around

Regardless of the cheap rate this place is still over priced and not a 4* at all. A total nightmare.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mad2live482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

but if you stay in the cheapest rooms you won't feel ripped off. Well located (or not) outside the castle walls, this new hotel have a lot of good things to offer, like good views of the castle and the sanctuary. The staff is welcoming and you have a nice lounge just beside the pool. Our room was good for the price asked in high season and they should continue with bargain prices in the future or really change the following bads of this place: flies (lots fo them, the hotel have a horse farm just in front); weak breakfast for a 4 star; strange spa with sauna just in front of the reception; no elevator for the 3 storey building (cheapest rooms). Will return with good promotion fare.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambettola, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a little problem booking with booking that the staff has been able to successfully solve and quickly. reception staff very courteous and helpful. even though small children were frowned upon. the rooms were clean, modern, comfortable. bathroom excellent. terrace with panoramic views over the village. international buffet breakfast plentiful and varied. excellent services swimming pool, sauna and turkish bath. hotel close to the village in the car about 5 minuti.ti allows you to enjoy the beauty of Obidos without being in the chaos of tourism. an excellent opportunity to relax. try it!

Room Tip: the second flloor is good.rooms 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#3 of 13 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 13 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
5.0 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#5 of 13 in Obidos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
0.2 mi away
QUINTA DA TORRE
QUINTA DA TORRE
#11 of 13 in Obidos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila d'Obidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila d'Obidos

Property: Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Address: Qta. Santo Antao | Estrada Nossa Senhora da Luz, Obidos 2510-192, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila d'Obidos 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vila d'Obidos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing